• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Wanton Mee from Hill Street food court?

Yes sinkie version and Malaysian version for that matter are the bastardized versions.
Real wanton noodles (from hk and maybe GZ) is very different.
I dunno where to begin but For one there's hardly a dry version and never will you see char Siew. And for the dry version if served there is never added ketchup, Chilli, dark sauce or oyster sauce etc.....just a dash of light soy sauce.
So better dun call sg fake wanton mee as wanton mee....I have more respect for the sarawakians who call their own version kolo mee instead of wanton mee

Actually Cantonese food can be blend..because the freshness of the ingredients speak for itself...so if the food not fresh etc..have to mask it with more seasonings...wanton noodles etc..the real taste is the broth...use natural ingredients like prawns n pork bones etc with very little n good quality msg as seasonings.. like fish ball noodles in Singkieland use ikan bilis. Anyway Singkieland taste very geared towards chili n salty etc..very strong taste

yellowarse

Yes sinkie version and Malaysian version for that matter are the bastardized versions.
Real wanton noodles (from hk and maybe GZ) is very different.

Absolutely agree. The wonton mee served here and in M'sia are a far cry from that in HK and not even deserving of the name:

1. Noodles. The HK version uses shrimp roe noodles (虾子面), not available here. The texture is crunchier than ours – more 爽口

2. Char siew. The HK version doesn't normally come with char siew but it can be ordered on the side. Our char siew is thin, desiccated and shrivelled, whereas HK char siew (肥叉) is succulent and juicy. No comparison there.

3. Sauce. Good quality oyster sauce with top quality soy (头抽) in the HK version. No ketchup or chilli like in the bastardized versions here.

4. Wonton. HK wontons are large, juicy and filled with prawns. The ones served here are emaciated, just a blob of minced pork wrapped in stale skin. 云吞 – 'swallowing a cloud' – should be a heavenly experience.

5. Soup. In HK wonton mee is with soup by default. (If you want dry noodles, you specify 云吞捞面.) The soup is full-bodied, embellished by a few slivers of 九黄, unlike the dishwater served here.

If you're in HK, try the wonton noodles in Wing Wah. Really good. But then again, there are many stalls that serve equally good wonton mee, such are the standards there.

found a chwee jia pau (crystal dumpling) stall in bedok but not so good. ingredients not like the original. in sf dim sum joints they call it chew chow fun cock. cannot pronounce it in front of angmo charbor. they would think this guy chi sin. same thing when ordering 3 kinds of chicken (sum yong gai).

no lah!..."chew chou fan kok"....much more correctly pronounced...yours is more the western..."Chew Chow, FUN COCK"...which roughly translated as , Teochew FUN COCK...

The old Tiong Bahru one is still one of the best...once in the past, I place an order by phone ( yes, old man does phone in service) only back then, no "food panda", "foodaroo"..or "UBER EAT" etc... I ordered all old man supply for the day for an office party...I have to go there to collect & he closed for the day...his stuff was that good, that you go there he is closed, not that he is not working or.... HE SOLD OUT HIS FOOD..like I had said, that is only a memory we invoke...shouldn't waste time...checking up his son's stall ...

水晶包

Yes one of the best is the Tiong Bahru. They had moved to Alexandra Village for many many years. Unit number #01-10 telephone 62745561

HC8eqad.jpg

AydaJ3d.jpg

I'm trying to locate the wanton Mee store that used to be located at the Hill Street food court. The stall was located just next to the agar/sour plum drink stall & the famous char kwey stall.

I know that the char kwey Teow moved to Bedok. I've tried to Google the wanton stall & Hill Street and the info I get info about a stall in Hong Lim Food Court. I've visited the stall in Hong Lim but don't see the same people who used to run the stall at Hill Street.

The Hill Street stall was run by a couple who must be now in their 50's or older. The Wife had a burn scar on her cheek that was very obvious.

johnny333 I guess you are looking for traditional Singapore style wanton noodle also therefore may I suggest to you 2 stalls both close to each other but opening time diferent:

1. Guangzhou Mian Shi located at Tanglin Halt Market opens at 5pm closes 3am they have been around for a long time (below photos taken by me)

Love the QQness of the noodles and the sauces

L03LRin.jpg

G04up1P.jpg

2. Tian Xiang Wanton Noodle located in Tangling Halt Food Centre

FOvQGYZ.jpg

They moved here like 2 years ago from don't know where however I heard they are a very popular stall even before they moved here. I've eaten 2-3 times and I find its fantastic again the QQness of the noodles cooked just nice, sauces are very good too. I like their shui-jiao dumplings very much. This number may help 8181 0481 if you need to know opening time.

(I could locate photos I took so these are photos I fished from the net)

kC3uvLV.jpg

5F22JO5.jpg

1. Noodles. The HK version uses shrimp roe noodles (虾子面), not available here. The texture is crunchier than ours – more 爽口

Sauce. Good quality oyster sauce with top quality soy (头抽) in the HK version. No ketchup or chilli like in the bastardized versions here.

Soup. In HK wonton mee is with soup by default. (If you want dry noodles, you specify 云吞捞面.) The soup is full-bodied, embellished by a few slivers of 九黄, unlike the dishwater served here.

虾子面 can be brought from Yu Hwa supermart. i make myself 捞面 at home. just some premium oyster sauce with a dash of cooked oil.

my son was so disappointed at HK Mak wonton mee when the dry version only have oyster sauce which i already warn him. there somthing special about HK kwailan, taste so much better than SGP version.

Why are people wasting time on ketchup based sinkie wanton noodle? The best dumpling noodle in town is Mak's at Centerpoint. Authentic hongkie taste.

The hk version noodle is crunchier but some can't stand the alkaline smell. in the clear broth you can taste the dried scallops and the hint of dried orange peel. And the wanton they have is as big as the shuigao here.

Fuck i'm so hungry now :(

I guess the name is the same and by concept due to the fact that HK and sinkie styles use the same wanton skin I guess thats the only connection. So for me its not so which one is original and who copy who I'd just say they are completely different even the fillings in the wanton are different - so if one day I like the HK version I'd go for it and another day I prefer the Singapore version with balacan chili sauce I'd go for it too.

Whenever I go to HK I'll visit Mak wanton shop at Argyle Street in Mongkok (Mak is the surname of the family and they have many branches in HK)

This is Argyle Street I took these photos in June I think - you see the sign 麥文記麵家
22WZ7mZ.jpg

Soup was clear and fragrant
z3NHmPw.jpg

Wanton noodle comes in a small bowl but don't be fooled its quite a lot and the wanton is filled with lots of fresh prawns
zxadl1m.jpg

Because it was dinner for us we ordered veges and dry noodles as well
Lft25mh.jpg

Braised beef noodle
zvN656k.jpg

Dry prawn noodle with prawn roe
1cbW8Sf.jpg

If you think Mak's is overhype there are many more lesser known stalls or shop. One day while window shopping in Tsimshatsui I chanced upon this very small and narrow shop

TZRy0dv.jpg

Yes its this narrow
oThJwp3.jpg

7nzcIsj.jpg

Found their noodle and soup and the wanton also is better than Mak, this is dry version with additional prawn roe, shiok!
JZ2gMhh.jpg

Ok I've got to get back to my work now :p

I think the SG version though bastardised has its unique favour particularly the tomato taste plus the all pork wanton and green chillies. I recall having tasted it for the first time at the Old National Library.

I am also curious about Koh Loh Mee which to some is the same but I remember Koh Loh Mee had a different texture.

Absolutely agree. The wonton mee served here and in M'sia are a far cry from that in HK and not even deserving of the name:

2. Char siew. The HK version doesn't normally come with char siew but it can be ordered on the side. Our char siew is thin, desiccated and shrivelled, whereas HK char siew (肥叉) is succulent and juicy. No comparison there.

3. Sauce. Good quality oyster sauce with top quality soy (头抽) in the HK version. No ketchup or chilli like in the bastardized versions here.

4. Wonton. HK wontons are large, juicy and filled with prawns. The ones served here are emaciated, just a blob of minced pork wrapped in stale skin. 云吞 – 'swallowing a cloud' – should be a heavenly experience.

5. Soup. In HK wonton mee is with soup by default. (If you want dry noodles, you specify 云吞捞面.) The soup is full-bodied, embellished by a few slivers of 九黄, unlike the dishwater served here.

If you're in HK, try the wonton noodles in Wing Wah. Really good. But then again, there are many stalls that serve equally good wonton mee, such are the standards there.

yellowarse

I think the SG version though bastardised has its unique favour particularly the tomato taste plus the all pork wanton and green chillies. I recall having tasted it for the first time at the Old National Library.

I am also curious about Koh Loh Mee which to some is the same but I remember Koh Loh Mee had a different texture.

Ah, Old National Library ... that brings back memories. My dad would park at the library, bring us to MPH across the road to browse and buy books, then back to the small hawker centre on the library grounds where we'd have our ... won ton mee! We always ordered kon loh mee (dry) and he'd have lots of green chilly to go with it.

Agree that our local version has its unique flavour; at any rate the taste is a lot stronger than the HK version. Goes with the geography and culture in this part of the world. My partiality to the HK version came later after a trip to HK, where I realized that in Canto cooking less is more – and blander sauces allow you to savour the various fresh ingredients in the preparation.

Interesting you brought up kon loh mee. Back in the '60s & '70s some stalls here (and in KL) actually used shrimp paste noodles for their koh loh mee, similar to the ones in HK. That explains the difference then - slightly drier, crispier. But I don't see them anymore nowadays.

Thanks for the clarification. I guess its Koh Loh Mee that I am into.

Agree on the blander taste and the opportunity to eat more in HK. Love their roast variations and the Yum Cha Halls.

Ah, Old National Library ... that brings back memories. My dad would park at the library, bring us to MPH across the road to browse and buy books, then back to the small hawker centre on the library grounds where we'd have our ... won ton mee! We always ordered kon loh mee (dry) and he'd have lots of green chilly to go with it.

Agree that our local version has its unique flavour; at any rate the taste is a lot stronger than the HK version. Goes with the geography and culture in this part of the world. My partiality to the HK version came later after a trip to HK, where I realized that in Canto cooking less is more – and blander sauces allow you to savour the various fresh ingredients in the preparation.

Interesting you brought up kon loh mee. Back in the '60s & '70s some stalls here (and in KL) actually used shrimp paste noodles for their koh loh mee, similar to the ones in HK. That explains the difference then - slightly drier, crispier. But I don't see them anymore nowadays.

Thanks for the clarification. I guess its Koh Loh Mee that I am into.

Agree on the blander taste and the opportunity to eat more in HK. Love their roast variations and the Yum Cha Halls.

wtf is koh loh mee? it's kon lo mee (dry sauce noodle) of which dry sauce wonton mee is one in the family. your cina very horrible.

水晶包

Yes one of the best is the Tiong Bahru. They had moved to Alexandra Village for many many years. Unit number #01-10 telephone 62745561

HC8eqad.jpg

AydaJ3d.jpg

this one tok kong. every time i'm there they are sold out. go too early not open. too late close. must camp there in a tent.

Honestly I've never been to Mak's in HK. I usually just walk into a noodle house and that's good enough for me. There was a noodle stall at a Hom Hum foodcourt where I eat there every night until the uncles thought I had a twin brother.

Cannot fight

I guess the name is the same and by concept due to the fact that HK and sinkie styles use the same wanton skin I guess thats the only connection. So for me its not so which one is original and who copy who I'd just say they are completely different even the fillings in the wanton are different - so if one day I like the HK version I'd go for it and another day I prefer the Singapore version with balacan chili sauce I'd go for it too.

Whenever I go to HK I'll visit Mak wanton shop at Argyle Street in Mongkok (Mak is the surname of the family and they have many branches in HK)

This is Argyle Street I took these photos in June I think - you see the sign 麥文記麵家

Wanton noodle comes in a small bowl but don't be fooled its quite a lot and the wanton is filled with lots of fresh prawns
zxadl1m.jpg

This was where my colleague took me when I was in HK. It was tasty but didn't fill me up :o

wtf is koh loh mee? it's kon lo mee (dry sauce noodle) of which dry sauce wonton mee is one in the family. your cina very horrible.

Kolo mee is from Sarawak. It's the bastardisation of the sound of kon lo "干捞".
One of the best I ate is at Bedok Central Blk 218 Kopitiam.

yellowarse

Kolo mee is from Sarawak. It's the bastardisation of the sound of kon lo "干捞".
One of the best I ate is at Bedok Central Blk 218 Kopitiam.

In HK and Guangzhou, it's simply called lo min '捞面'. The '干' is tautological.