• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Getting PR to western countries like OZ/NZ/US/Canada planning to migrate in future?

so let's assume you decide to apply for PR to those countries but you don't intend to move there in the near future maybe say in 5 to 10 years in the future but you apply today.

Will your chances be very much lower if you tell the immigration ppl about your plans as in they might feel you are not really interested in moving over there but just using the country as a fall back plan vs someone who has a job working for some co over there/ owns a business over there/ owns some property over there but isn't a pr yet.

Re: Getting PR to western countries like OZ/NZ/US/Canada planning to migrate in futur

All 4 have time barred conditions. There is usually a requirement to make a brief first entry ( passport endorsement) as a sign of acceptance and this has time condition from the date of issue. Then a period of 4 years or so depending on country to make the final move. Extensions are never granted. Families in this situation usually send their spouse and kids first and then leverage their time spent there to seek extension for the parent left behind. These are usually poor planners and not one to take risk i.e.. do not want to give up on Singapore job.

Others fulfil the requirements and return with new citizenship or return residency visa.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Re: Getting PR to western countries like OZ/NZ/US/Canada planning to migrate in futur

My sisters are trying to apply for Canadian PR. You'd be lucky to even get the PR in the first place. These days the application process is no longer transparent. You submit the application and hope for the best. Got to do IELTS first. I read that if you have a ready job waiting for you, then it is all systems go. No job.....nobody knows what happens. So my sisters are going to try.

As for sponsorship for parents, as of Jan 2 2017 the liberal govt changed the system to a lottery. No more first come first served. You submit an interest to apply on a website. In Feb they will close, filter out duplicate entries and then perform a lottery. Winners will be notified to submit their applications.

Apparently in previous years they had people submitting duplicate applications. So first come first served with 5000 cut off meant they got less than 5000 actual different applications. See how people game the system? Particularly the Chinese with their $$$$.

My sisters are trying to apply for Canadian PR. You'd be lucky to even get the PR in the first place. These days the application process is no longer transparent. You submit the application and hope for the best. Got to do IELTS first. I read that if you have a ready job waiting for you, then it is all systems go. No job.....nobody knows what happens. So my sisters are going to try.

As for sponsorship for parents, as of Jan 2 2017 the liberal govt changed the system to a lottery. No more first come first served. You submit an interest to apply on a website. In Feb they will close, filter out duplicate entries and then perform a lottery. Winners will be notified to submit their applications.

Apparently in previous years they had people submitting duplicate applications. So first come first served with 5000 cut off meant they got less than 5000 actual different applications. See how people game the system? Particularly the Chinese with their $$$$.

Does that only apply to canada or to the other countries?

I suppose you could try to apply for a job in any of those countries but that obviously means that you already have a place to stay over there/have a long term visa staying there and are able to work in those countries.

IELTS is easy enough that won't be a problem.

What do you mean via lottery system? As in they will randomly pick say a number of applicants to apply? What's the number?

I mean if they pick 10 out of 5000 that's a very small percentage and if it's via lottery the chances of getting good applicants are significantly lowered.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Lottery system is for those applications for parents to come over to join the children.

Canadian Immigration already has financial requirements for families wanting to bring parents over.

How the lottery system works is in Jan they open a "submission of interest" to sponsor parents. At the end of Jan this closes. Then from the pool of interest they randomly select 5000 and invite them to formally submit their applications.

For elderly parents, what is "good" or "no good" an applicant?

superbug or no superbug to help mutate canadians into superheros?

Mind sharing your story on how you moved to the US?

You were already living in the US when you were known as cutebayhunk. *cough* *cough*

Mind sharing your story on how you moved to the US?

You were already living in the US when you were known as cutebayhunk. *cough* *cough*

already posted about it a long time ago in a thread about why the song "if you're going to san francisco..." beckoned me over 40 years ago, in fact 50 years this year.

At least share some key factors were you already employed or studied in the US before applying for your green card.

nayr69sg

Staff member

actually no need to share lah

share for what? Nobody reads this thread anymore. Singaporeans all happy to stay in Singapore. All those who can leave have already left. Those who want to leave now, the situation is different from when the time we left. It is already more than 10 years ago when I applied. So what applied for me, doesn't apply to those who are trying to leave now.

And we don't get new migrants coming in to share. Why? Probably because it is nearly impossible to migrate the way Singaporeans want to migrate (ie no risk, steady assured future).

Stay on in Singapore and fight the fight you guys want. That's what will make you guys happy.

so let's assume you decide to apply for PR to those countries but you don't intend to move there in the near future maybe say in 5 to 10 years in the future but you apply today.

Will your chances be very much lower if you tell the immigration ppl about your plans as in they might feel you are not really interested in moving over there but just using the country as a fall back plan vs someone who has a job working for some co over there/ owns a business over there/ owns some property over there but isn't a pr yet.

For Canadian visa, if you don't use it within 12 months of issuance, it expires. If you use it (aka 'landed'), then you have another 3 years to stay out of the country as you are required to have 730 days of physical presence in the last 5 years prior to renewal of PR.

At least share some key factors were you already employed or studied in the US before applying for your green card.

for u.s., it's best to enter the cuntry first on a student visa and get into a hot academic program such as ee and or cse. with ee or cse employers which typically sponsor foreign-born grads for h1b will recruit you with offers of sign-on bonuses and stock options. of course your gpa must be above average and your university must be accredited and among the elite. better still if you have a master in ee or cse. most startups and small companies will not sponsor you for h1b. usually the top 500 corporations. in bay area they are oracle, intel, broadcom, cisco, cavium, nvidia, hp (but not anymore when they split), fb, google, apple. at my time, bs in engineering with a very high gpa would do for company hr to subcontract labor cert and h1b application process to immigration attorney. today, the immigration attorney will tell you you need at least a masters in engineering. if you're in biotech or pharm, at least a phd. labor cert process will require company to post job ad for at least 2 weeks. if no one applies, it proceeds to the h1b process. if folks apply, the company is required to vet applications, conduct interviews, and reject applicants if they don't meet requirements. requirements are modified specially by attorney to weed out qualified american applicants. the h1b process goes through without a hitch if you cum from a cuntry with little to no quota issues (e.g. sg). india and china have already reached their quotas, no surprise there. but india i.t. contractors have exploited the system to dominate the limited h1b total numbers per year available by sending workers to cuntries of low quota profile and rehiring them in u.s. after they get their pr's or citizenships in those host cuntries (sg being one of them). you'll be competing with your hated "shitskins" for diminishing h1b visas for sure. anyway, after getting your h1b, you need to last at least 6 years with the employer to start the process of green card within those 6 years. at the end of 6 years you better get your green card, otherwise you need to depart the u.s. for 1 year and start the process all over again. for my german phd friend, at the end of 6 years he left for 1 year, returned, re-entered the process, gave up waiting, and just married an american taiwanese woman to get his green card. there, short cut is to marry an american chick. for you, perhaps an american jamaican chick with chin as her last name. another not too short cut is to invest usd1m and get an eb visa. the milpitas kopitiam owner is doing exactly that, but it will take years to maintain the business and wait for green card. the bagel shop owner in castro valley also goes through that process and is now retired with a green card.

by the way, ad posting for labor cert has a minimum of 30 days, although interview process if there are applicants can add 2 more weeks to the process. maximum is 180 days. labor cert process is now administered online by department of labor. uscis where you file for either h1b or eb visa is now administered by the department of homeland security. ice (immigration enforcement arm) is also under dhs. embassies and consulates are under the department of state.

correction: there's no cuntry quota on h1-b, but there's a quota on h1-b per year (65k). it is claimed that sg and chile may have 6500-6800 reserved, although this is a soft number and not well known. india out-sourcing i.t. consultancy firms dominate the yearly quota numbers.

Asian job seekers face disadvantage even when they have higher degrees, study finds
A new Canadian study found job applicants with Asian names and a master’s degree got fewer interview requests than counterparts with Anglo-Canadian names and only a bachelor’s degree.

Job candidates with Asian names and Canadian qualifications are less likely to be called for interviews than their counterparts with Anglo-Canadian names even when they have a better education, a new study has found.

Using data from a recent large-scale Canadian employment study that examined interview callback rates for resumés with Asian and Anglo names, researchers found Asian-named applicants consistently received fewer calls regardless of the size of the companies involved.

Although a master’s degree can improve Asian candidates’ chances of being called, it does not close the gap and their prospects don’t even measure up to those of Anglo applicants with undergraduate qualifications.

Compared to applicants with Anglo names, Asian-named applicants with all-Canadian qualifications had 20.1 per cent fewer calls from organizations with 500 or more employees, and 39.4 per cent and 37.1 per cent fewer calls, respectively, from medium-sized and small employers.

“The disadvantage of an Asian name is less in the large organizations, although it has not disappeared,” said the joint study by the University of Toronto and Ryerson University, titled “Do Large Employers Treat Racial Minorities More Fairly?” It will be released Wednesday at a forum at U of T’s Munk School of Global Affairs.

The challenge, the report said, is that more than 70 per cent of private sector employees in Canada work for companies with fewer than 100 employees.

Paul Nguyen, 36, who was born in Canada to Vietnamese parents, said he was not surprised by the findings, as he has seen first-hand how a visible minority colleague with a doctoral degree was passed over for promotion in favour of a Caucasian with a bachelor’s degree.

In fact, Nguyen’s parents decided to change his name to Paul when he was in Grade 8 because his original name, Phuong, was frequently misspelled or mispronounced.

“It just makes it easier for me to navigate in the system,” he said.

The new study follows earlier research led by University of Toronto economics professor Phil Oreopoulos, who found that for every 100 calls received by applicants with Anglo names, applicants with Asian names got only 72. However, his study did not break down company size and occupational skill level.

The applicants in the study had fictitious names that were English (Greg Johnson and Emily Brown), Chinese (Lei Li and Xuiying Zhang), Indian (Samir Sharma and Tara Singh) and Pakistani (Ali Saeed and Hina Chaudhry).

Researchers in the current study further dissected Oreopoulos’s data, which was collected from a field audit that involved sending 12,910 invented resumés to employers for 3,225 real job postings.

Using a standard occupational status scale, researchers classified the job postings into high-skill positions such as accountant, civil engineer or sales and marketing manager; average-skill jobs such as financial adviser and claims adjuster; and lower-skill jobs that included bookkeeper, accounts payable clerk, restaurant manager or cashier.

While the study found the extent of discrimination against Asian-named applicants with all Canadian qualifications was roughly the same for both high-skill and lower-skill jobs (32.9 per cent less likely to get a call versus 30.7 per cent), skill level mattered much more when the Asian-named candidates have some foreign qualifications.

Whereas the Asian-named applicants overall had about a 53.3-per-cent lower chance of getting a call for an interview if they had some foreign qualifications, this rate rose to 58.5 per cent for applicants to high-skill jobs, and fell to 45.7 per cent if the openings were for lower-skill jobs.

“The less favourable response to Asian-named and foreign-qualified applicants at higher skill levels may arise because in those jobs, more is at stake in the credential assessment, so avoiding the issue by not calling is seen as the safer option,” said the study.

Researchers went one step further by looking at how Asian-named applicants with higher levels of qualifications fared compared to Anglo-named candidates with lower qualifications.

For Anglo applicants citing a master’s degree in resumés, the study found, the chance of an interview improved from 69.9 per cent to 81 per cent, or 11.1 percentage points — about the same percentage point increase as for their Asian counterparts (from 45.9 per cent to 56.5 per cent).

Although the positive effect of the extra education was notable, it was not enough to offset the overall disadvantage of having an Asian name. The callback rate for Anglo applicants without the additional degree was still 13.4 percentage points higher than for their Asian counterparts with the additional degree (69.9 per cent versus 56.5 per cent).

Jeffrey Reitz, a co-author of the current study and sociology professor at the Munk School of Global Affairs, said the findings call for the adoption of what’s known as an “anonymized resumé review” process — coding candidates without identifying their names — by Canadian employers.

“Some people are concerned this is something we are doing to accommodate minorities, giving an advantage to minority people by deferring to them,” said Reitz. “But no matter what political correctness is doing, it is not offsetting the problems.”

Blind recruitment can have a huge impact on eliminating some of the employers’ biases, as in the case of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra when it began auditioning musicians behind a screen in 1980, according to a CBC report. The orchestra today is almost half female and more diverse than in the 1970s, when it was dominated by white men.

Rupa Banerjee, another co-author of the paper and a professor at Ryerson University’s Ted Rogers School of Management, said she is not aware of any Canadian employers using blind recruitment practices.

Legislation such as employment equity measures will not eliminate name discrimination, which can only be addressed through education and training of hiring managers, she said.

“A name matters because it draws on implicit response and activates stereotypes on what a job candidate would be when you only have less than seven seconds to look at a resumé. People judge by the name they see,” said Banerjee.

“Anonymized resumé reviews can’t eliminate discrimination completely. That’s just the initial hurdle. When you go into an interview, you can’t hide who you are and remove your ethnic markers.”

https://www.thestar.com/news/immigr...ian-job-candidates-beat-out-anglos-study.html

bigozt

Forget OZ, NZ and CAN with privileged, lazy-4pm-hit-pubs and perfect English Whitey man mindsets.

USAmazonian Republican overlords only hire serfs who can work cheap, good, long and hard.

indig10

Singaporeans are a wretched lot who have lost the ability to think clearly. If they really wanted to move, they would have done their research thoroughly and just acted on it by applying and beginning preparations to move.

They are a joke compared to people from all over the world who just do instead of talk.

If they really wanted something that badly, they would have gone all out.

A coddled lot who don't deserve sympathy.

bobby

The very first thing when you are thinking of migrating is a complete change of expected lifestyle and mindset.

No point migrating to a new host country and yet expecting things to be the same when you get there.

Either blend in, assimilate and adopt the lifestyle change or stay home.

bigozt

Why western country?

Just hop over to Malaysia and you can have it all!! (if you don't have kids)
1SGD = 3RM makes everything cheep cheep. Buy a bungalow if you want.
All the lovely hawker foods, prepared with more skill and taste like Sg's masters of old. Why is Malaysia Boleh food court at Jurong Point and RWS so popular?
Penang is an excellent medical tourist hub.
Walk around in a Man U polo, dress pants and sandals, no need for 4 seasons wardrobe.
Don't have to speak IELTS standard English - you already know more Inggeris than the average M'sian.
Be entertained by bumbling M'sian politicians and their antics - forget Trump or Pauline Hanson.
Buy pirate DVD/DVD Roms.
Drive a souped up Mitsubishi Lancer with kilat boombox, like the ones seen in 'Fast and the Furious'.
Laugh at the western expats or tourists fumbling around town while you move in and out like a pro.
Eat what you want without western moral judgements - shark fins, bird nest, turtle soup, snake meat, etc.
Hangout at corner coffee shop and polish off bottles of world-class beers Tiger, Heineken and Carlsberg in the lovely heat instead of Budweiser, Canadian Dry or that piss they call 'Fosters', Australian for beer.
And the best part is, you are not in SG, not in PAPland.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Sounds good. So are you in Malaysia?

For me it is a no go. I cannot go skiing.