• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat NTUC Trolley Crisis - solution, more cheap labour

My sense is that they so scared of trying things in case they are labeled failures and therefore come out with simple, low cost but short term remedies. I still cannot believe the CEO is a scholar, Harvard MBA and he comes out with this rubbish and actually gave an interview. All he has to do is google. He is a 3 term MP and I wonder how he is even going to help his residents.

This was years ago...we had a new employee....whose qualifications will make you "wah"!...training overseas & local, "wah!"...awards, "wah"!....first day at work.....lost USD500 million in trading.....key in some digit error & unfortunately, "jupiter was in the house of mars"...ha ha ha.....Europe market closed for holidays....USA market closed for the holiday....could not rectify the error....'GOT THE BOOT"...

QUALIFICATIONS wah!......work ZERO....it is not harvard or?.....

as usual lo

all these MPs only know how to be busy eating mangoes

and chasing after papayas

if you dun belive u can ask Ah Luck

Ah Luck is now "sleeping" with the banglas....have reformed... ha ha ha...dare not look at "mangoes"...or he will get the 'ye loy sang chuen".....the PALM....but quietly "tau chiak"....we don't know?....that is why they soon don't allow usage of the internet by the civil "serpents"...NO MORE LEAKS....they use "kotex" to protect.... ha ha ha

A smart harvard guy would probably put up corrugated paths that trap wheels of certain dimensions on exit points. Even jurong point travellators already have that to prevent trolleys rolling down. How many possible trolley exit paths out of jurong point can there be, and fully laden some more?

Dont even need to go hi tech...

I'll bump this up when some scholar steals my idea

No need so troublesome ... when you rent shopping trolley at NTUC, just give your IC as deposit.
End of the day, NTUC know exactly who did not return their trolley & thereafter handover these Identity Cards to Police on the next day.
Police will summon these people, charge them under Theft.

If Police not interested to be involved in additional headache & paperwork , can always outsource to ah-beng Debt-Recover Companies ... Just need your permission to impose their administration fee.

Seriously, a scholar coming up with this stupid solution. Years back, I saw an episode on CSI which describe the locking wheel mechanism on shopping carts.

These idiots cannot even handle runway supermarket trolleys yet they want to build Biopolis, Fusionopolis, Jurong Innovation District etc.

Now that we all know Colombo Plan tak boleh, NTUC should search for a President's Scholar to handle this problem area. If still can't resolve, may need to get a team of scholars to brainstorm.

Read in one of the reports they are getting 15 school kids to distribute flyers on returning the trolleys. NTUC is a commercial enterprise that has a annual turnover of a billion dollars. Why are they asking school kids to do something that should be done by their workers or contract staff. Its an abuse.

39872928_-_16_09_2016_-_mgtrolley.jpg

39872931_-_16_09_2016_-_mgtrolley.jpg

Here come the 'trolley police'
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/here-come-the-trolley-police

Very often, I see non-locals crossing the road with supermarket trolleys.

It just shows that being a Harvard graduate n Colombo plan scholar etc means u are smarter or better than the next person

No need so troublesome ... when you rent shopping trolley at NTUC, just give your IC as deposit.
End of the day, NTUC know exactly who did not return their trolley & thereafter handover these Identity Cards to Police on the next day.
Police will summon these people, charge them under Theft.

If Police not interested to be involved in additional headache & paperwork , can always outsource to ah-beng Debt-Recover Companies ... Just need your permission to impose their administration fee.

nric or $20 deposit is the best solution.
of cos they will lose some customers.
but if all supermarket (ntuc,giant cold storage and sheng siong ) enforce the same regulation, no customer is lose.

Fairprice CEO is right in employing more cheap labor. Instead of collecting cardboxes for a living which can be quite physically demanding for people beyond a certain age, they can be employed by Fairprice and given such jobs which are quite senang.

Per Cart only cost them $30 or even lesser bucks from China. Why would they hire someone to take care of these cart ? At most, they will use student to help spread the message, which is of course free ..

PAP and NTUC are from the same tree and they bear same traits. . Though they may be co operative and not for profit, but they the only ones given privilege to have the big bite of the cherry 1st. After that, you guys will take your turn.

Never needed a trolley shopping at JB. Surely young people are getting weak these days. :cool:

Fairprice CEO is right in employing more cheap labor. Instead of collecting cardboxes for a living which can be quite physically demanding for people beyond a certain age, they can be employed by Fairprice and given such jobs which are quite senang.
Plus they should be paid weekly instead of monthly.

Read in one of the reports they are getting 15 school kids to distribute flyers on returning the trolleys. NTUC is a commercial enterprise that has a annual turnover of a billion dollars. Why are they asking school kids to do something that should be done by their workers or contract staff. Its an abuse.
Because their parents who are employed by ntuc may get the sack if they children do not help.

After Harvard no need to use Brains anymore, just sit back, act smart and busy. PAP's style of management

after whatever , Pee and Pee members do not need to use brain.

using brain is a sign of trying to outsmart those at the very top

to keep the lucrative job and excellent pay package all of them chose not to use their brain.

If the PAP MP scholar who runs NTUC does not want to invest in proven technology that prevents trolleys leaving the immediate vicinity, they should put up a clear sign that entry into their store is conditional on customers who use trolleys not to go beyond the defined perimeter. They should also print out the message on receipts. These are easily configurable and cost hardly a bleep. It will save the trolleys guards wasting their time explaining to customers repeatedly especially those who will argue for the sake of arguing.

Any idea why they do not want to go down the theft of property route? Signs clearly stating that removal outside the approved boundaries will be deemed as theft and the police will be involved.

A week's clampdown around the heavily infested FT areas will send the message out (but only if there is an arrest, charges filed and prosecution of these banditos). We (used to?) fine for mere littering and actively enforced it. So why not this?

I have to admire the temerity of these trolley bandits though - I saw a Mustafa trolley at bus stop outside Rochor MRT a few weeks ago. If you are familar with the pavements and sidestreets on Little India, that is quite a feat!

Ironically there is a local chap on FB that started documenting these abandoned trolleys a year ago. His photos do make you wonder about the journey some of these trolleys undergo.

we need an FT kindness movement. betcha the high percentage of trolley theft was due to FTs.