• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Money gone in unforseen circumstances

Did you have the ongoing experience of money gone in unforseen circumstances?
Sometime I tried very hard to save money but always things will happen to make the money gone. I tried to do deep thought to see how to prevent it from happening so far the only best way seem like is to stay at home. But this also cannot guarantee.

For me the things that will cause me to spend unplanned money are :

Treating people to makan unwillingly
Paying for makan money for people and never get it back
Items suddenly breakdown need replacement
Falling sick
Paying fines.
Not intending to gamble but endup losing money gambling.
Buying things wrongly and need to re buy

Aiyoh the list goes on and on very irritating.

I don't have a practice to buy lunch for people or to lend people money. At most, I only pay for cheap non-alcoholic beverages and loan the guy $10-$50 if he forgets his wallet.

Try falling sick less often. Eat healthy, exercise regularly and be positive.

Try to not get fined. Drive safely, smoke only in the yellow box or better still, stop smoking, gambling and alcoholism.

Buy less stuff. Most of the stuff you have you don't really need. And after a while, you lose track of half the stuff you have. It could be thrown away for years before you even realize it was gone.

I don't have a practice to buy lunch for people or to lend people money. At most, I only pay for cheap non-alcoholic beverages and loan the guy $10-$50 if he forgets his wallet.

Try falling sick less often. Eat healthy, exercise regularly and be positive.

Try to not get fined. Drive safely, smoke only in the yellow box or better still, stop smoking, gambling and alcoholism.

Buy less stuff. Most of the stuff you have you don't really need. And after a while, you lose track of half the stuff you have. It could be thrown away for years before you even realize it was gone.

Paying fine is something I would like to highlight. .it comes to people off guard. Many people, including myself got the yellow box and 5m from buildings trap.

I will take your advice not to buy things again. I always buy and realise is the wrong decision and need to re buy the correct one. .this is my worst unplanned money spent.

Did you have the ongoing experience of money gone in unforseen circumstances?
Sometime I tried very hard to save money but always things will happen to make the money gone. I tried to do deep thought to see how to prevent it from happening so far the only best way seem like is to stay at home. But this also cannot guarantee.

Falling sick
Paying fines.

having a planned budget and sticking to it helps

That was what I thought and planned. But I review for past 1 year it does not happen ..somehow things will happen to screw up the plan.

Then it could be bad budget planning or ill discipline

Falling sick
Paying fines.

Which category does expensive wallet for female friend come under?

chiew
after cpf my salary about 4,750+-
i spend mostly for medical, one about need about 300 average.
then saving plan about 600
parents allowance 500

then the rest of money i pay bill.

Paying fine is something I would like to highlight. .it comes to people off guard. Many people, including myself got the yellow box and 5m from buildings trap.

I will take your advice not to buy things again. I always buy and realise is the wrong decision and need to re buy the correct one. .this is my worst unplanned money spent.

One other strategy I use is to immediately transfer 15-20% of my income to a savings account once the salary comes in. I then spend the remainder on my monthly expenses. Save first, spend later. Most people spend first and save the remainder.

Which category does expensive wallet for female friend come under?

That depends. If you already know her and already planned to buy for her and budget for it, it is under planned category so no heart pain nor losses.
If you know her and she asked you to buy for her, you do not have the budget on hand, it is under the category I talking money gone in unforeseen circumstances.
If you know her and you wanted to buy for her even though she didn't ask for it, and you don't have the money or budget, it is also under the category I talking money gone in unforeseen circumstances.

chiew
after cpf my salary about 4,750+-
i spend mostly for medical, one about need about 300 average.
then saving plan about 600
parents allowance 500

then the rest of money i pay bill.
You spent so much money per mth ? 4750 - 300 - 600 - 500 = 3350
What did you spent on ?

One other strategy I use is to immediately transfer 15-20% of my income to a savings account once the salary comes in. I then spend the remainder on my monthly expenses. Save first, spend later. Most people spend first and save the remainder.

I also use this approach last time. But the outcome is after I transfer 30 to 50% to savings, soon it will be touched when unforeseen things happened.
Anyway that was the past. Currently I have not much income, I just spend the few hundreds I earn mthly taking part time jobs. But unforeseen things keep happening that I have to dip into my reserves :(

Aiyoh the list goes on and on very irritating.[/QUOTE]

You typical Sinkie, worry over petty spending what u shld be worrying and focusing is how to make money.

You typical Sinkie, worry over petty spending what u shld be worrying and focusing is how to make money.[/QUOTE]

How to make money by focusing ah ?

You typical Sinkie, worry over petty spending what u shld be worrying and focusing is how to make money.

How to make money by focusing ah ?[/QUOTE]

Hello! How old are u? All tis time tot u knew how to make $$$$, dare to buy a LV bag for the opposite sex.

... Treating people to makan unwillingly
Paying for makan money for people and never get it back ...
u stay away from dese freeloaders ... there r many such sinkies ...

... Items suddenly breakdown need replacement
Falling sick ...
dese u cant avoid ...

... Paying fines.
Buying things wrongly and need to re buy ...
dese ... oni u urself can b mor careful wif urself ...

u stay away from dese freeloaders ... there r many such sinkies ...

dese u cant avoid ...

dese ... oni u urself can b mor careful wif urself ...

yeah freeloaders is very hard to determine is it on purpose or forgot. :cool:

Buying wrong things and re buy is it a very common human mistakes ? I always kena this trap , now I think I don't want to buy anything anymore.

yeah freeloaders is very hard to determine is it on purpose or forgot. :cool: ...
muz oways ask back from dem each time ...

there r even mor cunning n calculatif sinkies ... if u go out often wif dem, say oni u 2, dat burger wil suggest 1 of u pay each time, so no nid 2 split so lecheh ... tis meal, u pay ... nax meal u 2 eat 2gether, he pays ... wen iz ur twurn 2 pay, he'll suggest a mor expensif place ... wen his twurn 2 pay cums, he wil pick a place chippa dan dat which both of u went 2 n which u paid previously ... so, in effect, u pay mor n he pay less each time ...

I also use this approach last time. But the outcome is after I transfer 30 to 50% to savings, soon it will be touched when unforeseen things happened.
Anyway that was the past. Currently I have not much income, I just spend the few hundreds I earn mthly taking part time jobs. But unforeseen things keep happening that I have to dip into my reserves :(

That kinda happened to me years ago. I was still an employee, married with young kids, and wasn't earning a lot. The car was costing me a lot of money every month, and from time to time, had unexpected expenses for the car such as fines and damages. I bit the bullet, sold the car and made the family take taxi for a few years. Wife and I quarrelled about it for a while, but it made economical sense to ditch the car for taxi.