• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Bukit Batok By-Election 2016

He has always been a poor strategist. I think he is an academic rather than a politician. If you read his books, it does makes sense but it will not capture votes even if he double the number of books that he writes. He should tune in to Png Eng Huat's rally speeches on youtube. From the word go, the frequency with the voter is matched straight away. The man on the street listening to the speech gets a real high as he touches all the pain points. And nothing he said is an exaggeration, falsehood or political hubris. Look at Chiam he became the darling of the common man because he zeroed in on the cost of a HDB flat and badgered the Ministers for MND endlessly.

If you ask HDB Uncles and Aunties their view of the death penalty for drug traffickers, you will get without hesitation full support. They know of neighbour, friends and relatives that have scummed to the magic dragon.

For someone who grew up without a silver spoon, and one armed with a PhD, pretty shocking the subject matters you highlighted aren't his pet issues. Perhaps after the demolition of the SDP in the 90s, he had to be presented on the international stage.

Thick Face Black Heart

If Chee wants to bite into the margin, he must change the theme of his address to the voters. It cannot be abstract subjects like Human rights, Freedom, democracy, abolishing the death penalty, removal of ISA or anything along these lines. Singaporeans can fly out of Singapore and head to Queensland at a drop of a hat. They can walk to market in their pyjamas. They go Geylang for their fix and for the ladies there are always Filipino dance instructors. You can buy any food and get porn online. So all these abstract things only appeal to foreign NGOs and certainly not the majority of voters in Bukit Batok.

It has to be jobs for new graduates, and the ability to retain jobs for older Singaporeans. It has be about affordable health care. It has be about CPF being a pension fund. It has be about Singaporeans able to hold their head high among foreigners who have become a major part of Singapore. It has be about calling the Govt to account for excessive salaries, ivory towers and abuse of privileges. It has to be about the poor management of town councils leading to ridiculous levels of rat infestation. It is about future for the young. It is about removing 2 versions of justice - one for the locals and one for foreigners.

Chee is too much associated with human rights, foreign NGOs, and champagne socialists. It is true that the Braddell Brothel Broadsheet had a large role in crafting this image for him, but the man in the street know there is a large kernel of truth to all these and they are not blind.

Either find some way to overhaul his image completely, or SDP must accept that they can only go so far. I support PT to run in BB, I think Chee should make way for him. If they wish to connect with voters, they must also learn to have a dialogue with voters and not just against the PAP govt. To some extent this was achieved in 2015, that was why Alex Au wrote that SDP and WP weathered the storm better than the other parties, especially those who just whacked foreigners.

If we see Danny democracy bear at Bukit Batok we will know that nothing has changed.

Chee is too much associated with human rights, foreign NGOs, and champagne socialists. It is true that the Braddell Brothel Broadsheet had a large role in crafting this image for him, but the man in the street know there is a large kernel of truth to all these and they are not blind.

Either find some way to overhaul his image completely, or SDP must accept that they can only go so far. I support PT to run in BB, I think Chee should make way for him. If they wish to connect with voters, they must also learn to have a dialogue with voters and not just against the PAP govt. To some extent this was achieved in 2015, that was why Alex Au wrote that SDP and WP weathered the storm better than the other parties, especially those who just whacked foreigners.

Macroeconomics101

If Chee S J does not gun for the international audience, how is he going to feed his family? Local electoral politics does not pay the bills or put rice on the table.

That hypothesis was put out many years ago and it continues to be held by many. I think it is mix of this and possibly the genuine need to affect a change plus ego and bad strategy. The fact that he continued to own and drive a car rather than take the bus despite being a bankrupt and that people will talk about it seem to be glossed over in his mind. In London, many professionals do not own a car as they can rely on the city transport network albeit with the challenges of engineering works and strikes worked in.

He should have focused on the prize - a seat in parliament rather than the attention of the foreigners. Both he and his wife are more than adequately qualified to pick up work. If Durai having milked the system, caught out, hugely embarrassed, convicted and jailed can find a job, I do not see why not for Chee. Look at James Gomes, he has been gainfully employed from Stockholm, Melbourne and Bangkok and returns to contest the elections. I know of "astronauts" (Hong Kong parlance) for fathers who work overseas to put food on the table for their family back in Singapore.

If Chee S J does not gun for the international audience, how is he going to feed his family? Local electoral politics does not pay the bills or put rice on the table.

That hypothesis was put out many years ago and it continues to be held by many. I think it is mix of this and possibly the genuine need to affect a change plus ego and bad strategy. The fact that he continued to own and drive a car rather than take the bus despite being a bankrupt and that people will talk about it seem to be glossed over in his mind. In London, many professionals do not own a car as they can rely on the city transport network albeit with the challenges of engineering works and strikes worked in.

He should have focused on the prize - a seat in parliament rather than the attention of the foreigners. Both he and his wife are more than adequately qualified to pick up work. If Durai having milked the system, caught out, hugely embarrassed, convicted and jailed can find a job, I do not see why not for Chee. Look at James Gomes, he has been gainfully employed from Stockholm, Melbourne and Bangkok and returns to contest the elections. I know of "astronauts" (Hong Kong parlance) for fathers who work overseas to put food on the table for their family back in Singapore.

absolutely agree, and i am with you on this.

blueRad

Will PAP field this candidate in the BB By-election?

535131_2201097660030951_7321443307527076864_n.jpg

This is quite hilarious. It is so obvious that he is trying too hard. I heard from some residents that he was blocking their way when he was canvassing at a traffic light.

Owning a 15 year old presea would hardly incite envy from non car owning peasants.
Finding employment overseas would play right into pappy's game....he got to remain here and be the thorn in their flesh.

it may not be beyond him to achieve both (and then some) if he gets into parleement.

Msian SPR semaj2357 prostitute family is famous in Thailand. Cheap fucks available 25x7x365! Ask semaj2357 mother wife daughters to go see their sugar daddy

If Chee wants to bite into the margin, he must change the theme of his address to the voters. It cannot be abstract subjects like Human rights, Freedom, democracy, abolishing the death penalty, removal of ISA or anything along these lines. Singaporeans can fly out of Singapore and head to Queensland at a drop of a hat. They can walk to market in their pyjamas. They go Geylang for their fix and for the ladies there are always Filipino dance instructors. You can buy any food and get porn online. So all these abstract things only appeal to foreign NGOs and certainly not the majority of voters in Bukit Batok.

It has to be jobs for new graduates, and the ability to retain jobs for older Singaporeans. It has be about affordable health care. It has be about CPF being a pension fund. It has be about Singaporeans able to hold their head high among foreigners who have become a major part of Singapore. It has be about calling the Govt to account for excessive salaries, ivory towers and abuse of privileges. It has to be about the poor management of town councils leading to ridiculous levels of rat infestation. It is about future for the young. It is about removing 2 versions of justice - one for the locals and one for foreigners.

If you want to be relevant to what actually happens, pls actually go and update yourself from youtube on Dr Chee's speech on the last GE.. He has been touching on all the issues that you say he didn't touch it.

by the way, do you know how to access to youtube.. Youtube videos is actually quite a modern technology, do you need to update yourself on that too?

This is quite hilarious. It is so obvious that he is trying too hard. I heard from some residents that he was blocking their way when he was canvassing at a traffic light.

They should have 'gently' bumped him off the traffic light, so that he can be made a 'hit'....ha ha ha ha

Singaporeans are beyond hope, possibly brain dead and zombie-like under PAP decades of white-washed from cradle to grave. The last GE proved everything beyond doubt how our 70% moronic sinkies have regressed to a state of absurd stupidity, sick to the core and rottened beyond words. This by-election is going to be a painful truth of what I said about sinkies. I have no trust that Bukit Batok residents will wake up in this BE, and they will vote for anything that is ghostly white other than the opposition party.

I can bet on it!

To you and me it might be the case. But not to the heartlanders. The state owned media and the Govt did not play it up because they wanted him carry along this path. A car to the heartlander is an aspiration. Many of us when we were growing up took the bus to school and so did our parents. And we do have an integrated transport network better than most countries. It became an unnecessary political liability. Looks at hotshot Corporate lawyer who became a WP MP Chen Show Mao, he began taking the bus. Both he and his family would not perish nor would it stifle their education and lifestyle without a car.

To be honest, the age of the car in term of the political liability is minimal if any. Lee Hsien Loon when he was full Cabinet Minister was driving an aged Honda while his Security Branch escorts were driving new Volvos. Old man knew how to milk the heartlanders. Chee still has no idea.

Owning a 15 year old presea would hardly incite envy from non car owning peasants.
Finding employment overseas would play right into pappy's game....he got to remain here and be the thorn in their flesh.

This caught me by surprise. This was a setback and a u-turn to his change. Clearly tells you that he does not know how to connect with the people.

When he did his Walk the Talk, he has already prove that he has changed not one iota.

Singaporeans are beyond hope, possibly brain dead and zombie-like under PAP decades of white-washed from cradle to grave. The last GE proved everything beyond doubt how our 70% moronic sinkies have regressed to a state of absurd stupidity, sick to the core and rottened beyond words. This by-election is going to be a painful truth of what I said about sinkies. I have no trust that Bukit Batok residents will wake up in this BE, and they will vote for anything that is ghostly white other than the opposition party.

I can bet on it!

agreed,the last election is irrevocable proof beyond all reasonable doubt that all opposition and sinkies should just give up already,for daft chee or any opposition leader or activist to carry on is not only beyond stupidity its pure insanity.take that shitskin fat bastard for example,jeyeratnam or whats his name,the tone of absolute defeat and disgust etched into his words,"sinkies deserve the government they vote for"
all u sinkies should take note and brand it forever into ur mind,should any stray rascalble recalcitrant spark of hope attempt to ignite itself,squash it out immediately.

2006 and 2011 election was such a build up of hope and anticipation no matter how displaced it is,the anger and frustration,all the pain and suffering only to have everything throw in ur face,all the insult and humiliation of lee kuan yew having the last laugh from his coffin.sinkies dont deserve any mercy or sympathy,even a fate such as the holocaust is too good for sinkies......

i have wasted nearly 10 years of my life praying and wishing for a miracle.......its time to move on and pack my bags and go to las vegas and play poker.

[video=youtube;CkCWVNaX6-k]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkCWVNaX6-k[/video]