• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi driver with good attitude makes $5k a month

http://www.zaobao.com/xhd/pages/xhd090511.html

新移民开德士 脑筋转弯不怕路难

xhd090511.jpg

受全球金融危机影响,德士师傅的生计经营面对更大挑战。经济好时,勤奋的德士师傅若从清晨开工,一直工作到深夜,每天开车超过12小时,一个月可赚高达3000元至5000元,但现在已没有这么“好赚”了。

收入是减少了,但是开德士对他来说,仍是时间自由,随时可能接触到新鲜事物的理想工作。访问时,他与记者分享一些和名人乘客合照的照片,这都是德士工作的快乐回忆。

Nice twist at the end, ensuring no Taxi driver coming forth to counter the 3-5K claim.
The writer also attribute the lowered take from drivers to the economic downturn, effectively masking the real plight of taxi drivers is actually cause by the raised rentals, ERP, and the cat and mouse game between Taxi and commuters during peak hours.

but really bro , i dont care how much that tonychat can make , its none of my business . im more concern about my own life , as my business in japan have been dropping . im now trying to venture into new business here . just wish me luck :) thankyou .

Good. We don't often talk about money because it is not too much of an interesting discussion, but frankly I dislike people who talk down on others. $5K may be $50 to you and me and some other pretty established people here, but for a cabbie and what his position could offer it can be considered a handsome income.

If that tonychat drives a taxi, even for quite some time we all know how much he can make a month. Even a temp admin with a humble hourly wage can make more than him.

Anyhow, I wish you the best in your business undertaking. Do your best in Japan! Ganbaro! :)

By the way, is 5k a lot of money?

Oh yes it is, for a cabbie, you spastic fuck. If you drive a taxi we know you can't even make half of that per month.

Even a temp admin with an hourly wage will make more than you. You stupid bastard fuck.

Limo Taxis are different category, I have sat in one before, the driver told me he earns up to $7k pm, they have special network and lobangs that is why their takings are different. BTW it is damn hard to get to drive Limo Taxi, the queues are very long and once you get one, it is like striking lottery.

Ah, somewhat like those Mercedes taxi drivers. They say there is business, and they cater to a different kind of passengers, like Caucasians, foreign business people etc who need proper appearances. Makes sense, as a Mercs does has a more professional look than your normal taxi, and the joke is that people (including me in the past) used to shun them because with such a look it would entail much higher fares when the difference is just 20 cents.

Limo Taxis are different category, I have sat in one before, the driver told me he earns up to $7k pm, they have special network and lobangs that is why their takings are different. BTW it is damn hard to get to drive Limo Taxi, the queues are very long and once you get one, it is like striking lottery.

But it is a good way to publicize and then show to the world that all sinkie taxi drivers earns that. That is how sinkie media does things.

Ah, somewhat like those Mercedes taxi drivers. They say there is business, and they cater to a different kind of passengers, like Caucasians, foreign business people etc who need proper appearances. Makes sense, as a Mercs does has a more professional look than your normal taxi, and the joke is that people (including me in the past) used to shun them because with such a look it would entail much higher fares when the difference is just 20 cents.

Yes, wayanging is a sinkie skill. I suggest you go and tell your PAP master to brush up the look of all the cleaners in sinkieland. And then put in the newspaper that a cleaner can earn $10k a month.

Wow!!! what a news. even cleaner can earn 10k, the country must be very tok Kong.

Oh yes let me add. When the cleaner post for photo, they can use a golden broom for that, WOW.. even the broom is made of gold. EVen better, stand beside a golden dustbin.

CB Kia tonychat,

your cocksucking attitude towards thais are the best:oIo::oIo:

Taxi drive can earn up to 5K if they have good lobang, my uncle had been driving taxi for 10 over years... you need to have regular booking.....
If you know anyone who drive part time.. PLEASE ASK THEM TO BUY PERSONAL ACCDIENT INSURANCE... from what i know, this ass hole company did not cover thier part time drive with accident insurance... if you sway sway kana a serious one... you need to think of a way to pay the bill........... dont be like my case... thanks.

Ahh.. i see the truth here. YOu see. it is important to have a real look in things rather than paying for a newspaper and read about wayang and half truths.

CB Kia tonychat,

you are also cheating people by prostituting your half-woman (aka ladyboys) as real woman:oIo::oIo::oIo:

Have you taken cabs recently? A trip from AMK or Jurong or Bedok to city or vice versa is about $25. A short trip within the city is about $5.

A $25 trip is about 20 minutes. Add 20 minutes hunting time the trip is about 40 minutes.

A $5 trip is about 10 minutes. Add 10 minutes unting time the trip is about 20 minutes.

And a taxi driver who works a full day will choose the peak hours 7-10 am, 11-2 pm, and 5 pm to 2.30 am. Let's say he works 15 hours a day.

That will be about 15 long trips and 15 short trips, averaging about $450 a day, giving a profit of $250 a day after car rental of $200 which works out to $7,500 a month. shave off about 1/3 for time wastages, wasted trips, $5k regularly is quite plausible.

Not impossible at all.

Typical taxi driver on the other hand works half shift from 7 am to 5 pm. Rental is more than halved and income is probably halved as well.

Like i said clearly earlier, 1-2 months (of earning S$5K) on a good days is possible but on a regular month-to-month basis, I highly doubt it. Why? becoz your detailed plan on "how-to-make-$5K per month-driving-taxis" spiked on a perfect environment where there's a constant flow of taxi passengers & all must travel from AMK to Jurong. If a driver is too ill to drive, he dont get paid.
Sitting on one's butt for 15 hours on a daily basis to make S$5K per month may appeal to some. When youre young, health will permit. Imagine what butt-related chronic illness some older cab drivers have to endure.

cheers

becoz your detailed plan on "how-to-make-$5K per month-driving-taxis" spiked on a perfect environment where there's a constant flow of taxi passengers & all must travel from AMK to Jurong. If a driver is too ill to drive, he dont get paid.

The calculations alread build in 20 miutes waiting time between long trips. It has also built in another 1/3 for wastage. I think any driver willing to dedicate 15 hours will make the $5k or more.

Did you notice that majority of taxi drivers live in the bigger flats? I know of a couple (friend's parents) who own cheap landed property. I almost bet their declared income is $1,500.00 but it sure doesn't add up.

Agreed on the illness part though. On each ill day, income is minus $200. But that's the same for a doctor or lawyer or architect or accountant.

The calculations alread build in 20 miutes waiting time between long trips. It has also built in another 1/3 for wastage. I think any driver willing to dedicate 15 hours will make the $5k or more.

Did you notice that majority of taxi drivers live in the bigger flats? I know of a couple (friend's parents) who own cheap landed property. I almost bet their declared income is $1,500.00 but it sure doesn't add up.

Agreed on the illness part though. On each ill day, income is minus $200. But that's the same for a doctor or lawyer or architect or accountant.

Nope. i didnt notice that cab drivers live in bigger flats. Was there a big comfort or Tibs taxi flag outside their door? Their window perhaps? Taxi drivers are the biggest 4D & Turf club punters in town. No wonder IRAS couldnt put a thumb on their means of getting a landed prop with a S$1.5K income.

Doctors/lawyers/accountants are in a different league altogether. They get recurring income even if they dont work or play golf.

You think every lawyer is like Davinder Singh or every accountant like Charly Mah or every architect like Albert Hong? Many professionals earn money only when they actually do work.

Nope. i didnt notice that cab drivers live in bigger flats. Was there a big comfort or Tibs taxi flag outside their door? Their window perhaps? Taxi drivers are the biggest 4D & Turf club punters in town. No wonder IRAS couldnt put a thumb on their means of getting a landed prop with a S$1.5K income.

Tell tale sign - cab parked at your car park. But those I know are friends' parents.

I didn't say life was easy or that $5k is a big deal given the amount of work involved. I was just saying it is possible. And the PRC/India Indian will make much more becuase they will drive 18 hours a day while the Singapore driver will claim unfair competition working 8 hours and wondering why they earn so much less.

Like i said clearly earlier, 1-2 months (of earning S$5K) on a good days is possible but on a regular month-to-month basis, I highly doubt it. Why? becoz your detailed plan on "how-to-make-$5K per month-driving-taxis" spiked on a perfect environment where there's a constant flow of taxi passengers & all must travel from AMK to Jurong. If a driver is too ill to drive, he dont get paid.
Sitting on one's butt for 15 hours on a daily basis to make S$5K per month may appeal to some. When youre young, health will permit. Imagine what butt-related chronic illness some older cab drivers have to endure.

cheers

That is the sinkie concept of doing business. And that is how they calculated, so much for being educated in sinkieland, come out to think like that.

..I didn't say life was easy or that $5k is a big deal given the amount of work involved. I was just saying it is possible. And the PRC/India Indian will make much more becuase they will drive 18 hours a day while the Singapore driver will claim unfair competition working 8 hours and wondering why they earn so much less.
Isn't cabby turf is "protected" with eligibility, due to social issues? Recall that even mrt was not connected (at the start) to changi airport. When you consider that in most cities, this is the norm.

Business-wise, there's even laid up taxis

That is the sinkie concept of doing business. And that is how they calculated, so much for being educated in sinkieland, come out to think like that.

Tony
Have to agree with you. Sinkies tend forge a silly biz concept, to think themselves as robots & have that "money mentality" without having any provisions for things like accidents, traffic congestions, the human factor, health related problems & so & so.
Ive yet to encounter any business that is The Perfect Business Model. Driving taxis? Hardly.

actually cannot anyhow claim tio 4D, as tio 4D must come with proof, ie, 4D ticket. Sing Pools will want punters to write their ID number behind as proof. Difficult to run if claim tio 4D. Horse Racing can muddle the water a bit as no need ID can claim money. Of course can say buy from bookies but that will open another can of worms.

Drive cab can earn good money as long driver willing to work hard plus have a bit of innovative. ie, like printing of name cards, give out to passenger so that can capture booking without giving a cent to taxi company. Of course ppl here will claim lose booking fee, but on the long run, the driver can have a regular customer base. Also can be pte ah mat, pick children to/fro school, good money as afternoon are slow time for taxi.

my condo got a couple of those normal NTUC cabs with the resident carpark RFID tag wor.

Tony
Have to agree with you. Sinkies tend forge a silly biz concept, to think themselves as robots & have that "money mentality" without having any provisions for things like accidents, traffic congestions, the human factor, health related problems & so & so.
Ive yet to encounter any business that is The Perfect Business Model. Driving taxis? Hardly.

They need to be in biz in order to know biz. Driving taxi is just a job or a job that let you learn to do biz.