SG51 PRC FT student much HONEST n Graceful than SG Ah Beng Kias by$30K

Tony Tan

$changer helper pang sai away $30k
PRC returned $

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singap...-loss-turns-relief-when-student-returns-money

SINGAPORE

Money changer's $30,000 loss turns to relief when student returns money
The New Paper | Foo Jie Ying | Monday, Jan 11, 2016

Tony Wang (left) and Mr Mohamed Rafeeq (right).

Photo: Shin Min Daily News

In just two hours, money changer Mohamed Rafeeq went from panic and despair - to relief and gratitude.

And for this turnabout, Mr Rafeeq has polytechnic student Tony Wang, 22, to thank.

Mr Rafeeq's employee had lost $30,000 in cash and the 50-year-old was worried he would never see the money again.

He later found out that Mr Wang had picked up the envelope containing bundles of $1,000 notes and handed it to the police.

"I am left speechless by how honest he is," the owner of Clifford Gems & Money Exchange at Raffles City told The New Paper.

This happened two weeks ago.

That Dec 29 afternoon, Mr Rafeeq's 73-year-old employee had absent-mindedly left the envelope of cash in a public toilet for the handicapped.

"He told me he went back to the toilet within 15 minutes, but the envelope of money was no longer there.

"It's big money. How can I not panic?"

"I chided him for leaving the envelope around like that. Our training rules state that money must be kept safely, and we must be very careful," said Mr Rafeeq, who is also the secretary of the Money Changers Association in Singapore.

The pair rushed to lodge a police report at the Queenstown Neighbourhood Police Centre (NPC).

Within two hours of lodging the report, Mr Rafeeq received a call from Toa Payoh NPC.

A wave of relief swept over him.

"The police told me someone found the money. They were very helpful. The inspector at Toa Payoh even comforted me and told me not to worry," Mr Rafeeq said.

Through the police, the money changer managed to get in touch with Mr Wang, a Chinese national who came to Singapore in 2005 to study.

TOILET

The final year marine and offshore engineering student at Ngee Ann Polytechnic had chanced upon the envelope when he entered the toilet shortly after Mr Rafeeq's employee left.

"When I saw the wad of $1,000 notes, I freaked out," said Mr Wang. "I have never seen so much money. My heart beat very fast while I carried the money with me. It's a huge responsibility."

At Mr Rafeeq's request, Mr Wang visited the money changer at his Raffles City shop a day after the incident. There, Mr Rafeeq gave Mr Wang $500 as a token of appreciation.

Mr Wang, who lives with his parents in his uncle's four-room flat in Toa Payoh, was shocked by the gesture.

"To be honest, $500 is a lot of money to me. Even though he's really appreciative, I felt he didn't have to give me so much money. I don't need that money.

"I just wanted the money to find its way back to its owner safe and sound."

Mr Wang was initially reluctant to accept the $500.

Said Mr Rafeeq: "I had to force him to take the money. I told him the money is something from my heart and I asked him to spend it on his education needs.

"He came back within 10 minutes and tried to return the money to me again.

"He is a really kind and sincere boy. I really appreciate what he has done."

Till today, the $500 is still sitting in Mr Wang's drawer, untouched.

"I don't have anything I need to spend on, so I just kept his token of goodwill," he said.

[email protected]

What a nice story between a Muslim and a PRC FT. If it had been a different pair, especially involving a sinkie, the good Muslim man would not have been returned the money.

Yes. Greedy sinkie chinks (shinks?) would never do that. We have to thank the new chinks for instilling a culture of honesty in our dear homeland.

20130713.221110_kovanv7.jpg

If this nice SPF SSG Iskanda handled this lost and found case the $30K will be gone!

Just change the person who found the money to be a shit skin or a m&d and the money would have been gone.

Also consequently observe the differences when a chinese especially a prc does a kind deed vs a m&d doing one. Ppl would be praising the m&d to the skies and the prc would just be reluctantly given a nod.

20130713.221110_kovanv7.jpg

If this nice SPF SSG Iskanda handled this lost and found case the $30K will be gone!

If he ate the $30K may be saved 2 peasants' lives from Hillside Drive. It was all just a matter of $$$. We could had another 14 years of good honest services from this cop, turned out wrong JUST because of $$$,

You need to be specific; not all sinkees. Just the PAP kind. If it involved a PAP supporter like you, the money would be gone.

What was honest Mr. Wang doing in the toilet for the handicap? is he one?...must be, or else, he would not have returned the $30,000...honestly, would you?

Bodoh cheena... Allah gave him money and he gave it back to the owner.

It is extremely rare to find a honest Cheena, this one must be handicapped in the brain or why was he using the toilet for the HANDICAP..oh!..he don't read English or signs?... I would taken the money & thank Allah for my good fortune...at least, I am honest about it...TAKEN THE MONEY..especially it is from the 'money wranglers"...hmmm!

Not that rare. My eldest uncle moved to China after the war and lived there till he died. He said that up till the '70s there was literally no theft or burglary in China. No one locks their doors, and in summer the main door is left open. That's one of the beauties of living in a communist state.

The demise of honesty in China was not due to communism, but capitalism replacing communism after kaifang​, resulting in a moral vacuum and the dictate 'greed is good' supplanted the socialist values inculcated in the people heretofore.

The ah neh could have given more than $500 for getting his $30,000 back. Now the PRC is gonna learn the cold hard truth that being honest does not pay off!

U think 500 is from him meh? From his 73 years old employee lo. Chao ah neh boss will never come out money from his own pocket. Haha:D

Prc student in sg wor. U nvr know his family finance background leh? 500 is jus a tip which he gives every night. 500 jus reward, no feel.:D

This shows that PRC chinks are more honest than sinkie chinks.

Money changers are 99.9% ah nehs....if they are honest, I worry!.....that dumb PRC now learning a lesson...that is why he didn't accept the $500 at first, he was expecting a 10% reward & that will be....$3,000....$500 is an insult to his intelligence, if there is any!.....now he knows....must have kicked himself...kept the money....with CNY 136,949 he could have, would have, should have, painted Chongqing "RED"...

Not that rare. My eldest uncle moved to China after the war and lived there till he died. He said that up till the '70s there was literally no theft or burglary in China. No one locks their doors, and in summer the main door is left open. That's one of the beauties of living in a communist state.

The demise of honesty in China was not due to communism, but capitalism replacing communism after kaifang​, resulting in a moral vacuum and the dictate 'greed is good' supplanted the socialist values inculcated in the people heretofore.

doors are unlock because there nothing to steal lah in those days. What your uncle said differ a lot what my maternal grandfather found out when he when back to visit hometown twice in the 70s. Because my grandfather was married with a older female while he was kid. my grandfather came to Nanyang in the earlier 1930s in his teens with his uncle to seek his fortune here and left his older wife back in hometown. he didn't go back since then until my old man sponsored his ticket to hongkong and he get into china via hongkong. Because of perception of overseas Chinese being rich, the fellow villagers ransacked the home and pressured her and adopted son to "share" with everyone after he return to Singapore. it only the second trip back a couple years later did he found out what happen as letters sent to him didn't contain a word about what really happen.

may have nothing to do with communism, everyone is generally honest as long as everyone is in the same situation. The red eye monster will appear when there not enough of stuff to go around.

Money changers are 99.9% ah nehs....if they are honest, I worry!.....that dumb PRC now learning a lesson...that is why he didn't accept the $500 at first, he was expecting a 10% reward & that will be....$3,000....$500 is an insult to his intelligence, if there is any!.....now he knows....must have kicked himself...kept the money....with CNY 136,949 he could have, would have, should have, painted Chongqing "RED"...

An honest shit skin? Pls you have a better chance of seeing a pink flying elephant.