• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

food business

dancingshoes

do you think food business is good to do? be it a stall or a shop? what you guys think? give bro some opinion...many thanks.

I believe any food outlet in Singapore is good because it is a well accepted practice to eat-out/buy-home. Many families choose not to cook at home. As long as the food is average and above, there will be customers. The operator just has to decide which market to target - High-end? Low cost? Ethnic? Fast-food? The main concern will be overcoming the rental, which can be quite astronomical!

do you think food business is good to do? be it a stall or a shop? what you guys think? give bro some opinion...many thanks.

I believe any food outlet in Singapore is good because it is a well accepted practice to eat-out/buy-home. Many families choose not to cook at home. As long as the food is average and above, there will be customers. The operator just has to decide which market to target - High-end? Low cost? Ethnic? Fast-food? The main concern will be overcoming the rental, which can be quite astronomical!

yups, rental for a stall in food republic wisma atria, 11k to 12k per month.:eek:

despite high rentals many will try and many will fail and many more will try again.........the food is only average and variety sucks big time....

Your landlord decides how much you can earn, and you will earn. It's like taxi operators. They will monitor your earnings, and if they know you're earning above their predefined range, they will raise the rental and keep your earnings in check, and their profits unchecked.

It's not wise to rent a stall from Kopitiam or Koufu because you can't build your own brand. If you sell fantastic carrot cake, you will only be known as that carrot cake stall in Tampines Mall or Northpoint Kopitiam. As long as you're unable to build your own brand name, the more successful you're the more you're tied to the landlord's brand or the location. And to repeat, your earnings will be monitored and restrained. Your landlord will have you by your balls.

Don't judge a stall by the queue. One bad day with few customers is more than enough to wipe out profits accumulated over 3 good days. What's more, food is perishable. You need to run a big freezer for 24 hours, and it's like having an aircon switched on 24 hours a day for the whole year. Guess what ? Your landlord is not paying for your electricity bills.

You will be better off running your own stall in a old shop house, and if you've managed to build your own brand over the years, when you move your brand moves with you. As long as you have a website, your customers will know where to find you. More importantly, you can start running franchise.

When you have a good brand, you have your landlord by his balls, not the other way round.

all comments make sense, thanks. food business will be better off renting a stall in the HDB hawker centre, heard it's cheap.

Dun say never input ideas to you.
You want cheap rental go get stall in school canteen or inside some ulu factory canteen.
Rent is major factor big concern but it's not the be all.....expensive rents usually correspond to good locale and traffic flow. The rental is high for a reason.
Wonder by some people die die wants to open shop in some famous HC instead of an obscure location?
You can save on rental by renting smaller space.....space maximization is often overlooked.