• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mr Low Thia Khiang on Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew's resignation

Re: LTK: Public deserves to know real reason for LTY's resignation

What a snide remark shrouded in pretense ... like a wolf in sheep's clothing.

If you want to show genuine concern for LTY, just be sincere about it and wish him well.

Please don't use him as a political bait to create unwanted rumors and speculation. This is so insincere. This is low class politics.

LHL has already published the letters concerning LTY's resignation. If you are really concerned for LTY, go visit him!

Talk so much ! Can you be a Transport Minister or not ?

Listen to what he said:
“We do recognise that the problem of transport is not something that can be easily solved like building more HDB flats,” he said. “I think it’s a long-term problem because it’s heavily used every day.”

What the fxxx is a LONG-TERM PROBLEM ? In the LONG TERM, we are all dead.

Bottom line , so are you going to bring up Transport issues at your rally or not since you recognize this as a long term problem?

This is nothing compare to the condolence letter from pinky to KJ. 难道只许州官放火不许百姓点灯? 你个傻逼。

LTK clearly making jibes at LTY n PAP.
If he is so good as self-proclaimed(co-driver); voice it out to do the
driver job and make a stand that if voted in; he wants to do that job.

Did he dare ?

LTK clearly making jibes at LTY n PAP.
If he is so good as self-proclaimed(co-driver); voice it out to do the
driver job and make a stand that if voted in; he wants to do that job.

Did he dare ?

How about Lee Hsien Loong becomes the Transport Minister himself? After all, it's not the first time he has taken a second portfolio. ;)

He also did not lower himself to launch unwarranted tirades at WP.

Let Me Tell You Why!:
August 13, 2015 at 2:41 pm
(Quote)
Unhappy that he was not consulted or at least informed of the disbandment of Kallang Moulmein GRC in advance! Remember the Media interviewed him then and he was clearly upset!
Unhappy that he was not identified to lead Jalan Besar GRC or Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC while Yacult was able to proudly announced that he will be leading Jalan Besar GRC Team!
They rather see him quit than remove CEO, SMRT!
No Ministers or MPs came to his defence when he came under heavy ‘bombardment’ during the breakdown of the NSEW MRT lines. He shouldered all the blame!
Lui was cursed day and night by Singaporeans in social media for failing to lead the Transport Ministry (COE, bus schedules, trains breakdowns, fares hikes, etc). Many unkind words and names were ‘bestowed’ on him and him alone.
Finally, in early 2015 (before the NSEW line went down), he considered quitting to live a quieter and peaceful life. He highlighted his intent but no one took him seriously!
The final straw was when the NSEW MRT line went down and the ‘bombardment’ came non stop. SMRT was unable to identify the fault at first hand and that made the situation worse!
Lui’s exit is less painful than Raymond Lim. Lui choose to exit on his own instead of waiting to be axed.
Frankly, Lui’s exit will not make a difference to the Transport Ministry. Someone must be bold enough to step in and shake up the Ministry and and wake up the sleeping LTA and inefficient SMRT.
Lui has lead by example that many Ministers can follow. He has delivered a strong signal; if you are not performing, don’t sit around and earn the ‘filthy’ pay, make room for others who can do a better job!

Aiyah, what's new? Wayang party every pre-election period becomes very vocal, then after election sits in parliament and diam diam while collecting pay. The co-driver role only takes place during this interim period, after that also becomes sleeping driver. Oh, and don't forget their slogan last election, vote WP for a first world parliament! Hahahaha

Want a real vocal party? Vote for pappies most feared party, the SDP!

ya, diam diam indeed. the promised "check and balances" also not in place. the worst is for pritam singh to be caught not having integrity. that's the scum of WP. why would anyone want to have this kind of people serving them? Pritam singh will cause WP to be the point of attack left, right and centre. if we all criticise the paps, let's be clean ourselves. but we understand. humiliation like that and collecting $15k a month and publicity is better than taking a job of $2k a month with his kind of degree and lack of talent. will SDP get into parliament? yes, but just don't let chee soon juan speak. his voice is irritating.

Aiyah, what's new? Wayang party every pre-election period becomes very vocal, then after election sits in parliament and diam diam while collecting pay. The co-driver role only takes place during this interim period, after that also becomes sleeping driver. Oh, and don't forget their slogan last election, vote WP for a first world parliament! Hahahaha

Want a real vocal party? Vote for pappies most feared party, the SDP!

ya, diam diam indeed. the promised "check and balances" also not in place. the worst is for pritam singh to be caught not having integrity. that's the scum of WP. why would anyone want to have this kind of people serving them? Pritam singh will cause WP to be the point of attack left, right and centre. if we all criticise the paps, let's be clean ourselves. but we understand. humiliation like that and collecting $15k a month and publicity is better than taking a job of $2k a month with his kind of degree and lack of talent. will SDP get into parliament? yes, but just don't let chee soon juan speak. his voice is irritating.

Tryharder lah, just vote anyone but those in dirty white. Blue also okie, no 3 corner then can already, 3 corner also okie, just vote those in blue. Anything but dirty white.

How about Lee Hsien Loong becomes the Transport Minister himself? After all, it's not the first time he has taken a second portfolio. ;)

How about the first big step for him is appoint a oppo mp be a minister?

A PAP-lite response.

An opposition response would be ...the departure of another minister of transport shows that the PAP doesn't have a solution to the MRT problem. The PAP says it has the most capable people in Sinkapore and thus deserve million-dollar salaries. Yet, time over time, we see that the PAP government is no better, if not worse, than governments in the West. A WP government will reduce minister pay by 50 percent.

The MRT problem is more than just hardware ...it points to the government's obsession to increasing the population by bringing in more foreigners. This policy has hurt sinkees in so many ways ...our infrastructure was not build for a 5 million population, our economy cannot support such a huge population either. That's why we are seeing many sinkees in the prime years being displaced by foreigners. A WP government will reduce the population to 3.5 and put sinkees first in the job market.

Siao! The best thing for WP to do is to keep quiet and leave the self destruction to PAP. Talk so much for what. Give them chance to repent they don't take it seriously. You guys keep saying the pappies have done what, have change what and so on and so on. Let's see how well they have done for the past few years at the ballot box. And I should be surprise if the pappise were to lose a few more seats, am I correct to say that?

A PAP-lite response.

An opposition response would be ...the departure of another minister of transport shows that the PAP doesn't have a solution to the MRT problem. The PAP says it has the most capable people in Sinkapore and thus deserve million-dollar salaries. Yet, time over time, we see that the PAP government is no better, if not worse, than governments in the West. A WP government will reduce minister pay by 50 percent.

The MRT problem is more than just hardware ...it points to the government's obsession to increasing the population by bringing in more foreigners. This policy has hurt sinkees in so many ways ...our infrastructure was not build for a 5 million population, our economy cannot support such a huge population either. That's why we are seeing many sinkees in the prime years being displaced by foreigners. A WP government will reduce the population to 3.5 and put sinkees first in the job market.

Instead of upgrading the existing lines, they sought to build additional lines in order to raise the value of the land around the MRT lines and stations.

Land value increase -> SLA sells the land to developers -> Condos, malls and new 40-storey HDB flats -> Population White Paper's targets achieved. :cool:

They're also going to build the Thomson Line, the Changi Line... it'll be a clusterfuck MRT network... a Byzantine nightmare. :rolleyes:

He still has a long way to go before he can be a minister.

Long way or short way let the people decide. George Yeo ho boh? Many people say he ho but the residents thought otherwise, off he goes. Fuck you, you are history.

Tuck yew is an incompetent clown..However there are many more incompetent minitoots besides him tat need to b shown the door like vivien n yakult..so its funny y these 2 r not sack as well
.is it cos they r minorities? N pinky need to fill quota?

The Alternative View
What's the big deal with Lui?

Okay folks! The least expected news is now no longer news.

To tell you the truth, not very many in the opposition camp, and even some in the PAP camp, had their hairs ruffled by the news of Lui leaving politics.

The dust have settled as it should - with someone so incompetent and therefore no longer consequential.

He came onto the scene with such a big bang as a former Chief of Navy.

As a "rising star", he was in the best position that anyone can ever hope for to make a difference. It would be reasonable to assume that as a minister, he would have been privy to the PAP's Master Plan for Singapore.

It is here that what he had done, and more so what he did not do, that irks the most.

As Transport Minister, he must and should have known that what is straining the public transport system is the sheer volume of people taking the trains every day, this precipitated by Lee's ultra-liberal immigration and foreign "talent" policy.

In other word, the immigration policy was a root cause of his problem.

Yet, we heard nothing from him.

Nothing from him telling his boss (which he mistook for the PM instead of us) that the solution lies in addressing these two areas:
1. the uncontrolled influx of human capital, and
2. the pace by which the remedial effort is falling short of the rate of influx.

Why didn't he put his foot down, even at those moments when the Ministers were asking him to reconsider his decision to leave politics?

Those moments had presented him with the best opportunity to put into effect what he thought is the best way to stop the rot in our public transport system.

If he had done that and Lee Hsien Loong had still insisted on pushing through the immigration policy, then we might have forgiven him and see him as we did for the late Ong Teng Cheong.

But he didn't.

A question worth asking is: What does he think of the solutions that he had put in place?

A person who believes in himself will never run away even if his solutions fail.

That Lui did shows a lack of confidence in himself and his own capability. It would be an understatement to say that we have been shortchanged, considering the millions he has collected in ministerial pay.

Think about it.

At each election, we see how the PAP is trudging out the same old mould of politicians that invariably fall into one of the following categories:

1. Military generals
2. Lawyers
3. Senior Civil Servants who have forsaken their creed of political neutrality and had more often than not served as either Lee Hsien Loong or the late LKY's Principal Private Secretary.
4. Millionaire CEOs.

Do you see how thin the talent is in their ranks?

We, Singaporeans, need to wake up and wake up quick.

We owe this to the next generation to gain control of our destiny and change the PAP's political paradigm based on a system artificial aristocracy built on wealth and connections.

Vote wisely. Vote them out.

https://www.facebook.com/358759327518739/photos/a.598097686918234.1073741825.358759327518739/948335705227762/?type=1&fref=nf&pnref=story

Liu did nothing when his buddy, Desmond, got his pay double to $2 million in 2 years for accomplishing nothing. For that reason alone, he should have been fired and made to pay back his salary for the last 5 years.