PAP Just Secured The NS-Men Reservists' Votes! Revamp of NS Awards!

nabmnsmen10715.jpg

SINGAPORE - A national award that honours employers who support National Service has been revamped, in a nod to small businesses, community organisations and individuals who have gone the extra mile to support the efforts of Singapore's citizen soldiers.

Besides paying tribute to company bosses, the new-look Total Defence Awards could also be given to a school principal who ensures male teachers attend their in-camp training, or a spouse who urges her husband to do more and take on heavier responsibilities in his NS unit.

For the first time, the Total Defence Awards, which were first introduced in 1986, will be handed out by the Defence and Home Affairs ministries in one combined ceremony. Previously, separate award ceremonies were held.

The revamp of the awards are a result of proposals by the Committee to Strengthen National Service and the Advisory Council for Community Relations in Defence (Accord) to get more buy-in for defence and NS.

This year, 10 individuals were honoured for their support for the rite of passage, which was introduced in 1967. They are among 122 small-and-medium-sized firms, large companies and organisations who received the NS Advocate Award on Friday night, for their support for national service and helping the Singapore Armed Forces and Home Team maintain a high level of operational readiness.

Second Defence Minister Lui Tuck Yew, who handed out the awards at a gala dinner held at the Marina Mandarin hotel, said it is critical to get the strong backing of the entire population for NS.

"Also, the concept of Total Defence counts on us being united as one people, resilient and willing to take difficult, but necessary, measures to overcome adversity and threats," he said.

Mr Rupert Gwee, who heads the MHA NS Affairs Directorate and Human Resource Transformation Office, described the revamp as a "paradigm shift" in the way companies and individuals show their support for NS so more will do so and it becomes "second nature".

"And if you are not supporting, people will ask what's wrong with you," said Mr Gwee.

On why there is a need to also recognise individuals, Mindef's National Service Affairs director Tung Yui Fai said that while most organisations already back NS, it is the "immediate person who is dealing with our NSmen (that) plays a very important role in shaping the (kind of) support he gets".

Mr Gwee, "people will tell me, you make a right choice by not supporting", only NOW, they start looking after the whatever remaining SINGAPOREANS there is....after decades of screwing the people of their time wasted during reservists, their jobs, burden their families & unloading loads of foreigners into the land, with dubious qualifications & 'third world country' skills....

that is nothing wrong in not supporting....many of the youngsters I speak to these days, do not feel that, they have roots here, many would go, where the world beckons...whether they would come back, when the find that, the 'grass is never greener" over there is another matter...the general feeling is SINGAPORE IS NOT MY HOME!...only those who porlumpars, will agree that, it is worth supporting....:mad:

I would really like that award on my shelf. I am glad that all these years, I have been supportive of my underlings, flunkies and serfs who need to go for annual reservist duties.

So good meh! ( as in singlish), my former boss, face blacker than black, when I submit SAF100 ( was it 100?), never mind, the 'conscription letter'....for reservists, just 2 months after I came back from one...then one later for weapons training...& so forth. Never mind, the ones going to R.O.C. etc., at one juncture...BOSS told me, I might as well sign on....:roll eyes:

Then the MIW screwed me, by filling my workplace with the first load of FT's...the Malaysians, then the Hong Kongers, then the Indonesian, then came the Pinoys & the ah nehs...&......

MAJULLAH SINGAPURA....."I never left you, all through my wild days...don't cry for me S@#%#%!"..sic!

So good meh! ( as in singlish), my former boss, face blacker than black, when I submit SAF100 ( was it 100?), never mind, the 'conscription letter'....for reservists, just 2 months after I came back from one...then one later for weapons training...& so forth. Never mind, the ones going to R.O.C. etc., at one juncture...BOSS told me, I might as well sign on....:roll eyes:

Then the MIW screwed me, by filling my workplace with the first load of FT's...the Malaysians, then the Hong Kongers, then the Indonesian, then came the Pinoys & the ah nehs...&......

MAJULLAH SINGAPURA....."I never left you, all through my wild days...don't cry for me S@#%#%!"..sic!

When you go for reservist or maternity leave, someone else has to cover your duties. It is natural to employ foreigners, especially if they are single, since they don't have to miss work for long periods of time due to reservist or giving birth. As much as I like having more awards, I can't pay my bills or rent using those awards.

Another stupid statement from you, last time we hated to hire bloody foreigners everytime need to go fcuking home leave, marriage leave, brother died, sister died, whole village died must go back, pui! Our productivity fcuked by these idiots at least sinkie have properly planned reservist duties and if our work urgent we can help sinkie defer his reservist, so I don't know what the fcuk you are complaining about.

The foreigners I hire plan their vacation or home visits for whatever reasons within the boundaries of their annual leave. If they want a month-long sabbatical to visit home, then find a new job.

So means they are the same and no better than sinkie with reservist, you idiot! And don't lie about planning, how you plan death in the family and village, liar, you obviously never hired foreigners before.

Sinkies, on top of missing work due to annual leave, also miss work due to reservist. Foreigners only miss work due to annual leave, not counting taking MCs. With regards to death in the family or village, I don't really care. They get the same amount of leave as a sinkie over here. If they cannot deal with it, then leave.

Another silly idea from the 'Committee to Strengthen NS'. :rolleyes:

Who are the people on this committee?

http://www.mindef.gov.sg/strengthenNS/steering-committee.html

Steering Committee

The CSNS comprises a Steering Committee supported by two Working Groups (WGs).

The Steering Committee, chaired by Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen, has 20 members from diverse backgrounds and experiences, including Members of Parliament, NSmen, women and employers.

ngenghen.jpg

Dr Ng Eng Hen [Chairman]

Minister for Defence

chanchunsing.jpg

Mr Chan Chun Sing

Minister for Social and Family Development
Second Minister for Defence

masagoszulkifli.jpg

Mr Masagos Zulkifli bin Masagos Mohamad

Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Foreign Affairs

amykhor.jpg

Dr Amy Khor

Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Health and Ministry of Manpower
Chairman, REACH

mohamadmalikibinsosman.jpg

Dr Mohamad Maliki bin Osman

Minister of State, Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Defence

limweekiak.jpg

Dr Lim Wee Kiak

Member of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Defence and Foreign Affairs and the former Chairman from 2011-2014.

Mr Chan Yeng Kit

Permanent Secretary (Defence), Ministry of Defence

Lieutenant-General Ng Chee Meng

Chief of Defence Force, Singapore Armed Forces

Brigadier-General Perry Lim

Chief of Army, Singapore Armed Forces

Major-General (NS) Ravinder Singh

Former Chief of Army, Singapore Armed Forces

Mr Suresh Divyanathan

Partner, Oon & Bazul LLP

Mr Andy Lee

Founder, Sengkangbabies Blog

Dr Bervyn Lee

Director, Office of Student Life, Singapore Management University

Dr Luisa Lee

President and Chief Executive Officer, The Farrer Park Company Ptd Ltd

Mr Danny Lien

Founder and Managing Director, Amos International (S) Pte Ltd

Mr Allan Lim

Chief Executive Officer, Alpha Biofuels Pte Ltd

Mr Lim Jim Koon

Editor-in-Chief, Chinese Newspapers Division, Singapore Press Holdings Ltd

Mr Ridzuan Bin Ismail

Chief Engineer, Catchment and Waterways Department, PUB

Mr Shaun Seow

Chief Executive Officer and Board Director, Mediacorp Pte Ltd

Mr Gerald Singham

Partner, Rodyk & Davidson LLP

Mr Wong Wei Peng

Founder, Canact Pte Ltd

Glad that the committee has no opposition figures in it. We want people who can connect with the ground and get work done and not just make anti-government speeches all day long.

Sinkies, on top of missing work due to annual leave, also miss work due to reservist. Foreigners only miss work due to annual leave, not counting taking MCs. With regards to death in the family or village, I don't really care. They get the same amount of leave as a sinkie over here. If they cannot deal with it, then leave.

Dun talk so much c*ck most of my male employees finish their cycle in their early thirties, and no more reservist commitments, fcuking foreigners still have bloody relative dying excuses and hence sudden MIA at the most crucial periods no matter what the age, that's why I prefer Singaporean anyday, THINK ABOUT IT!!

Yes, they only Offs Sundays,
well spent at lucky plaza, peninsula plaza, city plaza, little india....

Because of the MRT problems, I was thinking of voting for the opposition.

After hearing this great news, I have changed my mind and the PAP has regained my support.

says you! why are they defending F Trashes who stole their places in universities n jobs??????????
in times of war the first pax they shoot is their OC & CO - make no mistake abt it

Because of the MRT problems, I was thinking of voting for the opposition.

After hearing this great news, I have changed my mind and the PAP has regained my support.

Kiwi of burmese decent can only vote for Aung San Sweet Chee..........

Just ONE phrase and all NS votes goes to oppo...

NS FOR SINKIE ...JOBS FOR FTs! LoLoLoL