• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Job Bank fails on First Day - Govt Incompetence or Deception

Note same job posted in Job bank appears on the same day in the company website and opened to all. All they have to do is wait for 2 weeks.

https://www.jobsbank.gov.sg/ICMSPortal/portlets/JobBankHandler/SearchDetail.do?id=JOB-2014-0011815
Job Details
Warehouse Storeman (Jurong Island, S$1400-2000)
MACHSPEED HUMAN RESOURCES PTE. LTD.
Posting Date: 15-Jul-2014
Closing Date: 14-Aug-2014
JOB-2014-0011815

Description:

Job Scope:
- Handle picking and packing of goods
- Manage stock level
- Handle cycle count
- Ensure storage area are clean and well-maintained

Job Requirements:
- At least 1 years of warehouse experience
- Able to work on Jurong Island on 12-hour shiftwork for 4 or 5 days a week (8am to 8pm or 8pm to 8am) (Company will give shift allowance of S$10 per day or S$25 per night)
- Preferably possess forklift license
- Singaporeans only
- Basic Salary is S$1300-1500 + Shift Allowance + Island Attendance Allowance + OT (Monthly Salary is S$1800 or more) pls drop an email to [email protected] with your Microsoft word resume, our consultant will call you asap if you are suitable for the position, thank you

Apply Job

Same Job advertised in HR company website on the same day with online upload of resume

http://machspeed.com.sg/availablejobs/
Last Updated Date for the roles below :- 15th July 2014 (Tuesday)

Dear Potential Candidates,

We have the following positions that are currently open, please send in your Microsoft word resume (please send attachments less than 1 MB over) through email to us at [email protected] as we usually headhunt and/or do data-mining.

Warehouse Storeman (Jurong Island, S$1400-2000)

Job Scope:
- Handle picking and packing of goods
- Manage stock level
- Handle cycle count
- Ensure storage area are clean and well-maintained

Job Requirements:
- At least 1 years of warehouse experience
- Able to work on Jurong Island on 12-hour shiftwork for 4 or 5 days a week (8am to 8pm or 8pm to 8am) (Company will give shift allowance of S$10 per day or S$25 per night)
- Preferably possess forklift license
- Singaporeans only
- Basic Salary is S$1300-1500 + Shift Allowance + Island Attendance Allowance + OT (Monthly Salary is S$1800 or more)

there's nothing errant about collating all job postings in a one-stop shop gov website. repetition is good in this case. the alternative would be various job postings all over the shop on different hr company websites, and the simpleton sinkie will have a hard time doing his or her online job hunt.

Isn't there already at least 2 threads started earlier on the same topic? :rolleyes:

Thats not the point. Now foreigners have the same single point as citizens and PRs, in Job, click on the company's name, go to the company website and apply online and upload their resume.

So it serves foreigners elsewhere. They have no need to search. As everyone knows that they will accept lower and work longer hours as they need to cover the cost of coming over and cannot afford to be choosy.

there's nothing errant about collating all job postings in a one-stop shop gov website. repetition is good in this case. the alternative would be various job postings all over the shop on different hr company websites, and the simpleton sinkie will have a hard time doing his or her online job hunt.

Note same job posted in Job bank appears on the same day in the company website and opened to all. All they have to do is wait for 2 weeks.

Same Job advertised in HR company website on the same day with online upload of resume

Just advertise for two weeks, then throw away all the resumes and claim that no suitable Singaporean candidate applied.

Who in his right mind will believe the load of MOM bullshit?

In the end you still will see articulate 40 and 50 year old uncles becoming taxi drivers and having to look for cheap holidays in Batam and Penang to let off steam. Now even those as young as 30 fear retrenchment.

ROTFL ............................. "J-Pros" - nickname given by his former "opposition civil activist" acquaintances.

Pity the photo and full name cannot be revealed in this forum since he made a deal................................. :D

Thats not the point. Now foreigners have the same single point as citizens and PRs, in Job, click on the company's name, go to the company website and apply online and upload their resume.

So it serves foreigners elsewhere. They have no need to search. As everyone knows that they will accept lower and work longer hours as they need to cover the cost of coming over and cannot afford to be choosy.

good for them. foreigners are welcum in sg. you snooze you lose should be the policy. i'm ok with that. :D

Just advertise for two weeks, then throw away all the resumes and claim that no suitable Singaporean candidate applied.

in those 2 weeks, sinkies are waking up late, spending hours at the kopitiam, "bioing" chio bu's, going online to talk shit about the pap, spending hours waiting in line for 4d, betting on soccer matches, wasting time and money at the casinos, polishing their cars, admiring rolex watches on their wrists, and wondering which chicken to sweet talk in geylang. no wonder jobs go to ft's fast and furious or when 2 weeks are up. :p

My friend, the sole breadwinner of his family, sent 500 resumes before he landed a job at a financial institution. After one year when the contract expired he was dumped like the ex-boyfriend of Sinkie gal who had just been offered an Ang Mo cock driving a Lamborghini. Another 500 resumes, and finally landed a public sector job. In between jobs, considered doing literally everything under the sun including becoming nurse, maid, cleaner, storeman, deliveryman, even bookie. Only stopped short of dropping his pants and earning some pink dollars.

And this kind of story keeps repeating endlessly. One by one, each of them going into property line or becoming driver or bookie or pimp. I just hope that at GE, something clicks in their minds.

Agree. Its a daily occurrence. Those who have a technical qualifications such as engineers, accountants etc began to take jobs in neighbouring countries and sometimes in remote locations. At least there is an income and money to send back. Those who have a general and admin vocational background have little choice and suffer in silence. Some rent out their flats to make ends meet.

Can you imagine the anguish suffered by their school going kids who must be wondering how come foreigners are enjoying life while her parents are jobless.

I curse the PAP for their utter disregard to the concept of citizenship.

And this kind of story keeps repeating endlessly. One by one, each of them going into property line or becoming driver or bookie or pimp. I just hope that at GE, something clicks in their minds.

2 weeks is a lot of time. and that's additional to the actual requisition window. all my reqs in the u.s. are closed within 2 weeks, applicants or no applicants, candidates or no candidates. any company cannot simply expect reqs to remain open until cows come home. your friend's résumé and standing may improve if he does a deed poll and changes his name from "tiberius tan" to a more ang mo name like "antoine cassius". many recruiters set aside ang mo names in one promising pile and ching chong chinaman names in the less desirable pile. that's the tooth and harsh reality in today's globalized manhunt. :o

I curse the PAP for their utter disregard to the concept of citizenship.

I admire the PAP for accepting the fact that in this connected era where every corner of the world is a mere plane ride away, the concept of citizenship is pretty much obsolete.

The fact that I am now in possession of THREE passports of 3 different countries pretty much proves the point.

My regret was not getting a green card back in the early 80s when I had a chance.

Mankind has always been on the move to greener pastures. There is no need for anyone to confine themselves to artificial boundaries created by politics.

There are 2 kinds of Singaporeans that came out of the PAP system.

One used the PAP and its endeavours to springboard to many good things in life and made the world their oyster. The second kind diligently hold on to their dicks and wait for the next newsflash from the Straits Times to tell them what next.

Can you imagine, Old Man's favourite mouthpiece, President Scholar, former Perm Sec and distinguished diplomat Kishore Mahubani actually wrote an article on Sunday declaring the end of a good life in Singapore and urging Singaporeans to buy a $50K home in a neighbouring SEA country to see their life thru.

And the for the first time in a long while, I have to agree with him.

I admire the PAP for accepting the fact that in this connected era where every corner of the world is a mere plane ride away, the concept of citizenship is pretty much obsolete.

The fact that I am now in possession of THREE passports of 3 different countries pretty much proves the point.

My regret was not getting a green card back in the early 80s when I had a chance.

Mankind has always been on the move to greener pastures. There is no need for anyone to confine themselves to artificial boundaries created by politics.

Can you imagine, Old Man's favourite mouthpiece, President Scholar, former Perm Sec and distinguished diplomat Kishore Mahubani actually wrote an article on Sunday declaring the end of a good life in Singapore and urging Singaporeans to buy a $50K home in a neighbouring SEA country to see their life thru.

I've always viewed countries as no different from companies. It is impossible to remain top dog forever.

In this day and age, I'd classify a good 20 year run as a roaring success. Singapore has had half a century of punching way above its weight but all good things have to come to an end. It is the natural order of things.

If you consider citizenship to be like a share holding, it is pretty obvious that Singapore is in the "sell" basket. It has nothing to do with the PAP. It's simply the fact that times have changed and tried and tested formulas that worked in the past will not work forever.

Like Apple, the best days of Singapore are over. One visionary is already dead. The other is a zombie. Appointed successors can never weave the same magic.

A concept and a line of reasoning I am a firm believer in. Thus my interest in guiding those who are keen to emigrate and to acquire passports and find new experiences in as many lands as possible.

Singapore fueled it in many ways - cosmopolitan, ready gateway to the world, Good english at that time and the smart ones capitalised.

There is a couple that should get their letter any time soon about application to move to NZ. I hope it is good news.

I've always viewed countries as no different from companies. It is impossible to remain top dog forever.

In this day and age, I'd classify a good 20 year run as a roaring success. Singapore has had half a century of punching way above its weight but all good things have to come to an end. It is the natural order of things.

If you consider citizenship to be like a share holding, it is pretty obvious that Singapore is in the "sell" basket. It has nothing to do with the PAP. It's simply the fact that times have changed and tried and tested formulas that worked in the past will not work forever.

Like Apple, the best days of Singapore are over. One visionary is already dead. The other is a zombie. Appointed successors can never weave the same magic.

Do you honestly think that if something "clicks" on polling day and a cross is put next to SDP, WP, NSP or whatever has come out of the woodwork, the new dawn will see an abundance of high paying jobs falling from the sky?

Take a long hard look at Singapore, its size, its location, its inhabitants and its resources and tell exactly where and how these jobs are going to be created.

Who in his right mind will believe the load of MOM bullshit?

In the end you still will see articulate 40 and 50 year old uncles becoming taxi drivers and having to look for cheap holidays in Batam and Penang to let off steam. Now even those as young as 30 fear retrenchment.

Make that expensive bullshit. This government has become one of form over substance. This scheme has more holes than Swiss cheese.

The Singapore PMET problem goes well beyond that of the FT problem.

As revealed in Wikileaks, the PAP would very much like to cap the number of university graduates to about 20% of each cohort. The rest should be funneled to the polytechnics or ITE to take up the associate professional/vocational jobs in the Singapore economy.

To implement this, they let in about 20% of the cohort to our taxpayer funded public universities and FORCE the rest to go to the Poly/ITE.

This plan is unfortunately thwarted by the ample supply of schools offering private degrees at high prices. Denied a place in the public universities, most opt to pay the high price so that they too can be a graduate. The result is that instead of 20% of the cohort getting degrees, we have close to 80% of the cohort getting degrees and thinking of themselves as a PMET.

After investing heavily to get a degree, many soon run into the reality that in spite of the degree and sending in many job applications, they fail to get their desired PMET job.

The situation is made worse by the FT policy. One of they key policy objectives is to allow in low cost foreigners to take the associate professional/vocational jobs which the Singapore Poly/ITE students do not want. Many of these foreigners took these positions with degrees. In their misguided planning, these foreigners were supposed to be content to stay with these low paying jobs. They never expected these foreigners to also aspire to be a PMET and compete with Singaporeans for PMET jobs.

With this structural change, it becomes obvious why the token tightening by MOM is not translating to better employment opportunities for Singapore PMETs who now encompass 80% of each cohort.

This is a policy failure that is almost 30 years old. Despite their famed million dollar "helicopter vision", they only just became aware of it. When it became evident that there was no solution, all the Ministers ran away. Coupled with the demographic change which will soon see the passing of the pre-65, the change in 2021 is inevitable.

My friend, the sole breadwinner of his family, sent 500 resumes before he landed a job at a financial institution. After one year when the contract expired he was dumped like the ex-boyfriend of Sinkie gal who had just been offered an Ang Mo cock driving a Lamborghini. Another 500 resumes, and finally landed a public sector job. In between jobs, considered doing literally everything under the sun including becoming nurse, maid, cleaner, storeman, deliveryman, even bookie. Only stopped short of dropping his pants and earning some pink dollars.