• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living hand to mouth situation

lifeafter41

Just met up with a old classmate and says he want to borrow 5k. Asked him what happened and was told he had an unexpected situation to pay off medical bills for his mom.

I know for a fact that he is not doing very well financially, however, either am I. Told him could take out 3k instead of 5k.

This is the first time after so many years that we have known one another that he has asked for a loan. Told me he is living hand to mouth, no savings as monthly paycheck just enough for his family. Good thing is his 4 room flat is already paid off. So no more loan, car, going to be scrapped next June 2015. Most likely will not be buying a car soon.

Anyway, hope don't kena jobless in the next 12 months.
After passing him the money, come to think of it, I should have told him, me too also living paycheck to paycheck, though not as jialat as him.

Just met up with a old classmate and says he want to borrow 5k. Asked him what happened and was told he had an unexpected situation to pay off medical bills for his mom.

I know for a fact that he is not doing very well financially, however, either am I. Told him could take out 3k instead of 5k.

This is the first time after so many years that we have known one another that he has asked for a loan. Told me he is living hand to mouth, no savings as monthly paycheck just enough for his family. Good thing is his 4 room flat is already paid off. So no more loan, car, going to be scrapped next June 2015. Most likely will not be buying a car soon.

After passing him the money, come to think of it, I should have told him, me too also living paycheck to paycheck, though not as jialat as him.

You were kind to lend him 3K. Hope that
1. he repays you.
2. he is not using for gambling or other vices.

kryonlight

How could paying his mom's medical bills be an unexpected situation? It can be anticipated, and he should have saved up and bought insurance for the rainy day.

No, I don't believe his story. I suspect he lost betting in the World Cup, and needs to pay off the loansharks.

1. he repays you.

If you cannot part with any money to help a fellow being...don't, you lend that money, chances of getting it back is like SINgapore beating Brazil at world cup...be honest, it is the borrower sins, not your, when you part with that money...so don't bother if he is going to gamble, drink or even find woman with that...

If you can't...just say no! if you can....it will be a long time, or never see that money again!...

too late....the moneys gone to the casino....think about it,this is the 21st century,singapore has liberated and expanded the financial market to ways unimaginable......

now not only u have the option of cpf loan,hdb mortgage loan,bank loans,credit card loans,pay day loans,cash advancement loan,pawnshop loans,loanshark loans and even ask ur mp for help loan....yet ur friend has to resort to the old ask ur old classmate for a loan trick......this if anything is a major red flag that he has exhausted all his avenues of credit and is now deeply in debt to the casino.

If you cannot part with any money to help a fellow being...don't, you lend that money, chances of getting it back is like SINgapore beating Brazil at world cup...be honest, it is the borrower sins, not your, when you part with that money...so don't bother if he is going to gamble, drink or even find woman with that...

If you can't...just say no! if you can....it will be a long time, or never see that money again!...

Yes, I agree with your points, but kindness in life should never be under-rated either. :smile:

Leong Sam told us that sinkapore has lots of welfare programmes to help sinkees.

That person is not wrong...but have you tried applying for those welfare programmes?....just for starter, "you have to bend over" very often, when you have the PxP whatever coming to your area within 10km....you are required to show your PRESENCE...even you have only one leg....that is just for starter...you must be "member"...are you? do you have PASSiON??

Just want you to know that $$$$$ is always settled on Monday nites for betting accounts. Wrt hospital bills, tell your friend no need to pay. Let them chase. The 3K can be better utilised. Nice of you to loan him the cash. God will bless you.

SAMMMYBOY

There was this poster.

it reads:
I lend you money,
you no pay,
i get angry.

i dont lend you,
you get angry,

better you get angry,
than i get angry.

anyway, you had lend him in good faith.
GOD WILL BLESS YOU.
Hope he returns you when his situation improves.

lifeafter41

Absolutely! Lots of pawnshops and licensed ah longs to give you ready credit whenever you need it. PAP is the Best!

Unless a person has something valuable to pawn, no diff if there is 10 more 二叔公。
Maybe he will sell away his car, though I doubt it as he has to ferry the kids to school and bring the mom for medical appt.

lifeafter41

1. he repays you.

I always think that once prepared to lend, it might not come back.
Give him the benefit of doubt. I do know the family personally too.

This is the first time after so many years that we have known one another that he has asked for a loan. Told me he is living hand to mouth, no savings as monthly paycheck just enough for his family. Good thing is his 4 room flat is already paid off.

good thing his cpf savings are locked up in his 4 room flat and minimum sum. otherwise the hopeless loser will squander them all. thanks to the pap for safekeeping his money and preventing a further financial disaster. :rolleyes:

lies, lies, lies! under lhl mee siam mai hum leedership, where got such things in stinking land one.

good thing his cpf savings are locked up in his 4 room flat and minimum sum. otherwise the hopeless loser will squander them all. thanks to the pap for safekeeping his money and preventing a further financial disaster. :rolleyes:

What is he going to live on? Eat up his pigeon hole?

I always think that once prepared to lend, it might not come back.
Give him the benefit of doubt. I do know the family personally too.

Good for you. Seriously, we have become too materialistic and calculative because of our "exceptional" leadership. Your attitude and actions are a refreshing change. :p