Truth: Companies prefer employing foreigners over Sinkies

GoldenPeriod

Local PMEs don't have it easy

PUBLISHED ON MAY 31, 2014 1:22
ST

I REFER to the report ("MPs want more protection, support for local PMEs"; Tuesday)

When I was the general manager of a local IT company and, subsequently, a financial controller for a Dutch multinational corporation, I preferred hiring foreign mid-level staff for the following reasons:

The company did not need to pay CPF contributions for them;
Their salary expectations were lower than Singaporeans'; and
Their skill sets and experiences were on a par with those of Singaporeans.

The total cost differential between local and foreign professionals, managers and executives (PMEs) was 20 to 40 per cent.

An Asian foreign employee with a degree and work experience can easily afford a city apartment and family sedan in his home country if he makes $200,000 during his stint here.

In Singapore, $200,000 would allow a Singaporean with the same qualifications to buy only a three-room HDB flat in outlying regions like Woodlands or Jurong. A family car would set him back by $120,000.

An Asian foreigner's cost of living back home is so much lower than ours. Hence, he is more willing to work for $3,000 to $5,000 a month. But a Singaporean graduate earning $4,000 a month will be trying to keep up with inflation.

It does not make sense that a foreign PME working here has a bright future, while his Singaporean counterparts are struggling with their living expenses, unless they are in strong sectors like banking and health care, where pay is high.

A levy is imposed when one hires a maid, but there is no such tax for hiring foreign PMEs. No wonder foreign PMEs were replacing local ones at an increasing rate until tighter restrictions were imposed last year.

At the moment, the local PME retrenchment rate is still high as employers are hiring foreigners for the cost savings.

Over the medium to long term, this will weaken Singapore's economy as local PMEs will become structurally unemployed as they lose their skills and employability.

Lim Kay Soon

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/local-pmes-dont-have-it-easy-20140531

Slap 100% levy on foreign labour immediately + enact legislation that company has to prove that it can find no Singaporean to do the job before hiring a foreigner.

So how come the playing field is biased against the local? Wat abt NS n reservist? Shouldn't there be a levy on hiring of all foreigners n PRs?

Local PMEs don't have it easy....Slap 100% levy on foreign labour immediately + enact legislation that company has to prove that it can find no Singaporean to do the job before hiring a foreigner.

This kind of report reflects badly on the pappies for being unaware of the job opportunities for the local PMETs in SG. Why companies are allowed to employ their own countrymen and locals are forced to give way to FTsh?

Do what the US and other Govts in Europe are doing. Employ locals first unless employers can show locals are not employable. Introduce levy to be on par with CPF contribution. As long as pappies are supporting companies to hire FTsh, all local PMETs, no matter how hardworking they are or smart, they will eventually be replaced by FTsh.

All those 60% who voted for pappies in GE 2011.....now you song boh to get kicked out of your jobs?

who cares????lets boogie all night long!!!!!

skip to 3:30!!!!!!
[video=youtube;kyyHkSbSyDg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyyHkSbSyDg[/video]

Slap 100% levy on foreign labour immediately + enact legislation that company has to prove that it can find no Singaporean to do the job before hiring a foreigner.

So how come the playing field is biased against the local? Wat abt NS n reservist? Shouldn't there be a levy on hiring of all foreigners n PRs?

Tolong lah, both of you. Have you read my previous posts?

When the AEC takes effect next year, there will be free movement of services and labor among Asean countries.

Levies cannot be imposed on Sinkie bosses who employ Asean citizens and PRs.

Please read my other post on the high unemployment rate in the Philippines. Unemployed university grads in the Philippines is high. If a quarter of them (estimated to be about 100,000) come to Sinkapore each year to seek jobs, in about 6 to 7 years' time, the majority of local PMETs will be replaced by Pinoy, Malaysian, Indonesian and Thai ones.

Happy now?

Yeah, I'm very happy because one of the chief proponents of AEC is the son of our Dear Leader. It is my wish to see his AEC policies reach their logical fulfillment.

When I was the general manager of a local IT company and, subsequently, a financial controller for a Dutch multinational corporation, I preferred hiring foreign mid-level staff for the following reasons:

Two issues I'd like to highlight :

1. I assume this guy is a sinkie. However, as general manager of a local company, he still hired foreigners instead of his own countrymen in order to boost his profits so what does that say about how sinkies take care of each other.

2. Would the Dutch multinational corporation continue to operate in Singapore if they were forced to hire sinkies which cost 40% more? If the answer is no then that would mean that they'd close the whole operation and move offshore which would result in more unemployed sinkies.

Two issues I'd like to highlight :

1. I assume this guy is a sinkie. However, as general manager of a local company, he still hired foreigners instead of his own countrymen in order to boost his profits so what does that say about how sinkies take care of each other.

2. Would the Dutch multinational corporation continue to operate in Singapore if they were forced to hire sinkies which cost 40% more? If the answer is no then that would mean that they'd close the whole operation and move offshore which would result in more unemployed sinkies.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with Sam here. It makes no sense that this guy is condemning his own preference/ actions. What the fuck is he trying to say? As a FC, this guy cannot get his position right and should be fired. I hope Netizen dig this guy out and shame him. It should not be difficult.

This is VERY VERY true.
I even asked HR , can you hire me and exclude me from cpf system. HR say cannot it is illegal to do that.
I said "I heung kan liao"

[video=youtube;9aWt9ho7__Y]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9aWt9ho7__Y[/video]

Could be happily retired.

Having met more than one such characters in life, I can safely say they never willingly gave up the hotseat. Power and influence that come from the appointment can be intoxicating.

Oh great. He is jobless now but why am I not surprise.

Very great indeed!

I hope that by 2020, five years into the implementation of AEC, 60% of local PMETs will be replaced by Asean PMETs.

By 2025, ten years into AEC, 90% of local PMETs will be replaced.

Hooray to LHL's move to create AEC.

shame shame
shame to those bums earning at salaries and play sgians out
YES for FDW got levey
Why NO levy for FTS who steal job? Suck velvy iwill level the paly flayfiedld n make it earier to voercome th bias ccreated by PAP t traitors

LHL1_zpsedb67239.jpg

If the truth is so bad, why are 60% still voting for me? YOU ARE LYING! *chey*

ST
I REFER to the report ("MPs want more protection, support for local PMEs"; Tuesday)
Lim Kay Soon
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/local-pmes-dont-have-it-easy-20140531
PAP really don't care about Sinkie PMETs getting a job, all they want is foreign companies to come here, make money, inflate GDP and pay the PAP income taxes on their profits. Guess to the PAP, Sinkie's are only good for being NSmen. The more jobless NSmen there are around, the better it is for the SAF: can save money by paying them peanut allowance of ~$600p.m. since got no salary to claim... (pro rated=$20/day, good and cheap to employ).
Fix fix fix:
The fixing never ends...

ST
...Lim Kay Soon
The quoted report:
MPs want more protection, support for local PMEs
May 27, 2014. ; Janice Heng; The Straits Times
20140527-FooMeeHar-ZB%20copy.jpg

SINGAPORE - More protection and support should be given to professionals, managers and executives (PME), urged several MPs.
In the face of foreign competition, this "sandwiched class" needs more attention from the authorities, they said yesterday on the first day of debate on the President's Address.
Ms Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC) made one of the strongest calls, saying firms should give qualified Singaporeans priority over foreigners for PME jobs. "It is time that we move our manpower policies for PMEs from a defensive, anti-discrimination position to one where we actively promote and champion the hiring and development of Singaporeans."
She noted that from August, firms will have to advertise on a jobs bank for 14 days before applying to hire foreign PMEs.
Yet the eventual decision is still up to them, she said. "The Manpower Minister further emphasised that (this) is not about 'Hire Singaporeans First' - but many are asking, 'Why not?'"
She wanted employers to have to prove that if a foreigner is hired, it is only because there are no suitable locals. Firms that hire foreigners should also be obliged to have a formal system for training and developing Singaporeans, and to ensure skills from foreign hires are transferred to locals.
"I believe that the current negative sentiment against foreign talent will ease when Singaporeans no longer feel that their livelihoods are threatened," she said.
If the issue of jobs for Singaporeans is not managed well, such resulting sentiments "can send the wrong signals to employers and foreign investors", noted Mr Zaqy Mohamad (Chua Chu Kang GRC).
Labour MP Patrick Tay (Nee Soon GRC) proposed several ways to help PMEs.
The Singapore Workforce Skills Qualifications framework of training courses should have a greater focus on PMEs, not just rank-and-file or mid-level staff.
Government funding should be more accessible to individual PMEs, and not just for firms.
Companies should be given incentives to let employees pursue a "second skill" during work hours.
And industries which regularly lay off employees - such as finance - could provide better support for the retrenched, he said. This could take the form of subsidies and payments, to act as a form of "unemployment insurance" to tide them over. "If the PME is laid off with no fault of his or her own, employers have a moral responsibility to see through the career transition for them."
For Non-Constituency MP Lina Chiam, the issue was that firms are being treated too well in comparison with workers. She called for "policies that favour Singaporeans, not an absolute growth model" for the economy.
This article was first published on May 27, 2014.
http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/mps-want-more-protection-support-local-pmes

PAP really don't care about Sinkie PMETs getting a job, all they want is foreign companies to come here, make money, inflate GDP and pay the PAP income taxes on their profits. Guess to the PAP, Sinkie's are only good for being NSmen. The more jobless NSmen there are around, the better it is for the SAF: can save money by paying them peanut allowance of ~$600p.m. since got no salary to claim... (pro rated=$20/day, good and cheap to employ).
Fix fix fix:
The fixing never ends...

It is the PAP who discriminate against Singaporeans.

In words of LKY to continue to dig the spur into the flesh of Singaporeans
For Stockholm Syndrome to work, Sinkies must be hammered and brutalised to soften and dimoralised them

KILL THE FUCKING PAPs
OR THEY WILL KILL SINGAPOREANS

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

The quoted report:
MPs want more protection, support for local PMEs
May 27, 2014. ; Janice Heng; The Straits Times
20140527-FooMeeHar-ZB%20copy.jpg

SINGAPORE - More protection and support should be given to professionals, managers and executives (PME), urged several MPs.
In the face of foreign competition, this "sandwiched class" needs more attention from the authorities, they said yesterday on the first day of debate on the President's Address.
Ms Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC) made one of the strongest calls, saying firms should give qualified Singaporeans priority over foreigners for PME jobs. "It is time that we move our manpower policies for PMEs from a defensive, anti-discrimination position to one where we actively promote and champion the hiring and development of Singaporeans."
[/url]

Still trying to Foo Mee Har?