May 22nd, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

The pathetic plight of the PMETs did not happen
overnight and is affecting a large pool of our PMETs. Many of them are highly
qualified and experienced in their areas of expertise. Now we can hear daily
diatribes and garbage about how these PMETs are not fit or did not have the
skill sets to be reemployed in their fields of expertise and their jobs have to
be taken over by foreigners. So the only remedy is to retrain them. I will touch
on these two fallacies here, the lack of skill sets of PMETs and the
retraining.

There is this myth that the foreigners brought in to replace our experience
PMETs have the experience and skill sets to do the job that the PMETs have been
doing as the incumbent. As the incumbent he is suddenly not fit for the job? How
come? And the successor, where is this turkey from and what skill sets and
experience that he possess to be able to do the job that the incumbent no longer
is able to do? Think? Even if the successor comes with a string of PhDs, it does
not mean he is more able to do the job when the extra qualifications and
experience are irrelevant and redundant. There is no need to hire a nuclear
scientist to be a technician.

Why are the PMETs being replaced by foreigners so easily and cannot find
another similar jobs in the industry when there are hundreds of thousands of
jobs being taken over by foreigners? Think. What the fuck is happening?

Now the retraining part. A highly experienced professional needs more
training to be employable? What the fuck is that? What kind of training can one
provide to a highly experienced and technically qualified professional at the
peak of his career unless you are talking about a career change?

What career change, upgrading, promotion to a more senior level? Or training
a professional to downgrade, to become a salesman, a technician in a completely
new field, like a nurse or a counter sales staff or a cleaner? Why are we
wasting the training and experience of these highly qualified professionals when
we can offer hundreds of thousands of jobs to funny foreign talents with funny
qualifications, background and experience? Are we thinking? Do we know the
problem? Are we creating new problems, wasting our talent and resources to
under-employ our talents?

It is utterly foolish and idiotic that our local talents who are educated in
the best educational system, universities, acquired a lot of experienced as
senior managers are found no longer fit to do jobs at the same level and funny
foreigners are deemed to be better. And we consigned our precious human talents,
after heavy investments, to the rubbish dump at the prime of their lives, to
retrain them to do non-executive or low level jobs when there are so many good
jobs given to foreigners.

The answer is to ensure that our local talents are gainfully and
appropriately employed according to their expertise and experience. The
foreigners should not be here to displace them. They are here to complement our
shortage in skilled labour. Isn’t that the objective? Until all our PMETs are
fully employed, MOM should not grant any more EPs to foreigners at the expense
of our PMETs.

Are we crazy to retrain our PMETs to lower jobs? It is not a matter of pride
but misallocation of resources. Do they believe that human resource is our most
precious asset? Why are we wasting this precious resource and keep replacing
them with funny foreign talents? This is like a nation of people
self-administering poison to kill themselves. It is economic suicide of a
population of professional and talented people.

It is euthanasia of the PMETs.

Chua Chin Leng
aka redbean

* The writer blogs at mysingaporenews.blogspot.com.

Great article. We have qualified engineers, IT professional and accountants who have lost their jobs. And they lost it to cheaper foreigners.

I have heard, this mantra of "upgrading your skills".."Upgrading your qualification" since I started working....what is the bloody use of doing that, when they let in CHEAP labourers to take over your job & ruin your career & smash your rice bowl after you have upgraded??

On the part of retraining, and having the best education bit. Does this also mean they don't have the best education hence are easily replaced and need retraining?

fuck off, aussie?

retrained as prostiture and gigolo lah. When my friend lost his pmet job to foreigner, he went to WDA in hopes of getting trained with other skillset, he was asked to pay in cash $1k+ course fee, which cannot be paid using cpf. He already broke WDA still want to squeeze skeleton juice out of him, you say leh

I have heard, this mantra of "upgrading your skills".."Upgrading your qualification" since I started working....what is the bloody use of doing that, when they let in CHEAP labourers to take over your job & ruin your career & smash your rice bowl after you have upgraded??

Someone in the PAP even talked about the need to upgrade one's University degrees.

Funny that I haven't heard about LKY, LHL,.... upgrading themselves. Only have heard about upgrading their pay & perks:rolleyes:

PAP been promoting all this skills upgrading shit for more than 10 years now.. Lets not kid ourselves..What's the use of going for further retraining when most of the jobs would go to the Foreign Trash?

There's another aspect to the 'go study more and upgrade your skills' preaching from the pappies: it provides income opportunity to its legions of cronies operating in the 'education industry' which offers various courses.

One should never be compelled to 'upgrade your skills' out of your own pockets as a last resort when the alternative is unemployment. In fact, work experience and any company-sponsored upgrading courses are more than sufficient.