• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Roy Ngerng should not retract his article and say sorry to the PM!!

actually the poorest people tend to be fat.....since they usually have poor diets of cheap junk food.....

The genuine poor are never fat. They look like this.

poverty12.jpg

The "poor" Americans obviously have plenty of money. That's why they can make 5 trips to McDonald's daily. If they were really poor, they'd be growing their own veggies and cooking at home.

poverty12.jpg

The "poor" Americans obviously have plenty of money. That's why they can make 5 trips to McDonald's daily. If they were really poor, they'd be growing their own veggies and cooking at home.

so why dont the africans do that?they cant even move up to a subsistence farming economy which china was 50 years ago.thats not poor thats just fucked up.

imagine a world when people aspire to fly to mars by 2028,and store 10 petabytes of data in a facility,and ur people cannot even manage the basic simplest form of civilisation.

Couldn't help myself

Ref CPF vs Malaysia's EPF.

Auckland has a Singapore community and a Malaysian community. 95% of all Singaporeans are leading lives of leisure here.

The SGD currency appreciation and the substantial CPF savings mean that Singaporeans can buy homes here and have money left in the bank to fund their retirement.

The Malaysians, on the other hand, all arrive and have to immediately start looking for work. Their savings definitely aren't sufficient to purchase homes and very few have enough savings to live on.

There is more to retirement funds than just ROI. There are banana currencies out there today that pay 30% interest on term deposits but you wouldn't want to put a cent into those currencies.

While there are a ton of issues regarding CPF which cause grief, the fact remains that on the global stage, Singaporeans are very lucky lot provided they know how to capitalise on the opportunities that the PAP has created for them.

When I say I owe a lot to LKY, I really mean it despite the fact that I had family members who lost their livelihoods because of him. As a person, he's an abhorrent character. As an architect of the Singapore system that I benefitted immensely from, he's my hero and savior.

poverty12.jpg

Boss based on what you say the buay kan poor pinoy also seen regularly at fastfood. So they need to b strung by piano wires too.

Auckland has a Singapore community and a Malaysian community. 95% of all Singaporeans are leading lives of leisure here.

The SGD currency appreciation and the substantial CPF savings mean that Singaporeans can buy homes here and have money left in the bank to fund their retirement.

Good for the few who can leave. For the rest of us who are stuck on this island, CPF will not get us far. Can we exchange citizenship?

The Malaysians, on the other hand, all arrive and have to immediately start looking for work. Their savings definitely aren't sufficient to purchase homes and very few have enough savings to live on.
They have not taken out their EPF lah.

When I say I owe a lot to LKY, I really mean it despite the fact that I had family members who lost their livelihoods because of him. As a person, he's an abhorrent character. As an architect of the Singapore system that I benefitted immensely from, he's my hero and savior.

Will you run for the PAP in 2016?

Good for the few who can leave. For the rest of us who are stuck on this island, CPF will not get us far. Can we exchange citizenship?

The only nationality who are stuck where they were born in this day and age are the North Koreans.

We all have basic freedoms and that includes travel to another country. 95% of Singaporeans could leave if they chose too. If they don't, they stay on out of their own free will.

Someone else also raised a similar argument a few weeks ago.

The vast majority do not leave the country. In real monetary terms, the Malaysians EPF gave better returns to their residents than CPF for those in Singapore.

Currency appreciation is meaningless for the locals who do not leave the country. We are the world most expensive city. It costs much more to own a car or house of a the similar type or buy butter compared to the Malaysians and currency appreciation does not even comes close to cover the immense rise in cost of living compared to Malaysia. A newly married Singapore couple face a daunting task starting life compared to a Malaysian couple. For political survival the PAP govt has to subsidise their first HDB flat.

It does however drive home the point why Singaporeans are better off leaving the country.

There is more to retirement funds than just ROI. There are banana currencies out there today that pay 30% interest on term deposits but you wouldn't want to put a cent into those currencies.

While there are a ton of issues regarding CPF which cause grief, the fact remains that on the global stage, Singaporeans are very lucky lot provided they know how to capitalise on the opportunities that the PAP has created for them.

Someone else also raised a similar argument a few weeks ago.

The vast majority do not leave the country. In real monetary terms, the Malaysians EPF gave better returns to their residents than CPF for those in Singapore.

The question then has to be asked as to why the vast majority don't want to leave. Could it be that things aren't really that bad despite the grumbling?

The white South Africans are leaving their country in droves because things have gone downhill. If Singapore was as bad as it is made out to be, surely Singaporeans would be doing the same.

I would not worry too much. Roy Ngerng case no matter what the outcome will cause the PAP another 10% of the votes and possibly another 5 seats. It people like Roy that will add to the toll.

If there was no Roy, issues about the CPF would not have such a high profile.

Quite right. Regardless of the Facts CPF returns are a sore issue with everyone. Blowing it up like this will Keep the issue live.
Roy can defend himself , ask LHL to appear in court , and question him. What has he got to lose at this point. He must have known they will come after him. Even if he is wrong and loses big , he becomes a martyr. He is not a politician , citizens will not see this as rumble between politicians but as an exhibition of might and power.

The question then has to be asked as to why the vast majority don't want to leave. Could it be that things aren't really that bad despite the grumbling?

The white South Africans are leaving their country in droves because things have gone downhill. If Singapore was as bad as it is made out to be, surely Singaporeans would be doing the same.

Why run away from your own country ?

You think it is so easy to leave, is it? The vast majority cannot afford to leave. If New Zealand were to offer to accept anyone from sinkapore who applies, you can bet that the vast majority wll leave for New Zealand.

Remember most of the white south africans are the rich ones ...that's why they can afford to leave.

We all have basic freedoms and that includes travel to another country. 95% of Singaporeans could leave if they chose too. If they don't, they stay on out of their own free will.

Which country wants to take us? 95 percent? You think that many sinkees can afford to leave the country? I bet you NZ$10 million that you are wrong.

Those that have the means and are keen either do not qualify for the better countries or they have dependents that they have to stay back and look after. Some are just plain scared to give it a go. Then you have the majority who feel that they should remain and fight this govt and the PAP starts losing seats. The fact is the PAP model is fast deteriorating and they themselves have no clue what to fix. So far it has been piecemeal changes.

Sadly its a poor reflection of this Govt that emigration has become a push factor. Its like moving away from a neighbourhood that has fallen to crime, and the riff raffs are moving in. Time to pack up and leave.

In any country, the ones who leave can afford the means and the risks.

Most countries are changing governments every election. They prefer to do it this way than leave. It's better to get incompetent politicians than incompetent and greedy politicians.

You think it is so easy to leave, is it? The vast majority cannot afford to leave. If New Zealand were to offer to accept anyone from sinkapore who applies, you can bet that the vast majority wll leave for New Zealand.

Remember most of the white south africans are the rich ones ...that's why they can afford to leave.

I used to think that too... that immigrants were wealthy, highly qualified or both. However, when I arrived in NZ, I found Malaysian Bengs who could not speak English, Pinoys who worked as waiters, mainland Chinese who earned a living as painters and South Africans who mowed lawns to pay off their loans.

I asked them how they got here. The answers were cagey and revealed various dubious schemes. However, they said that things were bad back home and it was well worth the effort to get out of the country.

The point I am making is that isn't it possible that Singaporeans are actually quite comfortable in comparison thereby making the risk of emigration unpalatable.

I used to think that too... that immigrants were wealthy, highly qualified or both. However, when I arrived in NZ, I found Malaysian Bengs who could not speak English, Pinoys who worked as waiters, mainland Chinese who earned a living as painters and South Africans who mowed lawns to pay off their loans.

I have to remind you that you had used the words "vast majority". The last time I checked, Malaysia, China and South Africa were not emptied of half their population.

Why run away from your own country ?

Because the concept of National Boundaries is out of date in 21st century. Being loyal to one country and staying there for life restricts ones options considerably.

In the old days people joined a company and worked there for life too. Today such a person would be considered to be an idiot.