• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Holy Shit! PAP want to work you until you are 67 years old.

Sinkies really sway. The PAP fully intends to work you till you drop. They keep bragging about how great CPF is, and how people can monetarize their flats and all that shit. By coming out with this, they are recognizing that old people in their 60s cannot afford to retire and have to continue to work. How many more "successful" policies like this can we stomach from the great gay one? Enough lah, just let people enjoy their last remaining years, can or not?

Government to help in re-employment of Singaporeans aged 65 and up

Singapore’s government promises to help its citizens who would still like to continue working after they pass their retirement age, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Speaking at his May Day Rally at the newly-opened Devan Nair Institute for Employment and Employability in Jurong East on Thursday, PM Lee said changes will be made to Singapore’s Employment Act. This will help older citizens find work.

He also revealed that another continuous education and training (CET) institute is slated for opening later this year in Paya Lebar. These two CET facilities are funded by the government to the tune of $300 million.

Without sharing too much detail, he said the government will amend the Retirement and Re-Employment Act to help these elderly workers, but doing so will take some time because of the need to consult with unions and employers on the best ways to do this.

Currently, employers are legally bound to offer their staff re-employment opportunities when they are due for retirement between the age of 62 and 65, provided that they have satisfactory work performance and are healthy. Then-Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin also said in February that his ministry was planning to raise Singaporeans’ re-employment age to 67.

Operated by the NTUC subsidiary e2i (Employment and Employability Institute), the Devan Nair Institute is a seven-storey complex that, according to a release from e2i, can train up to 50,000 workers each year in a wide range of sectoral and generic skills.

These — which include sectors ranging from early childhood and education to landscaping and digital animation, as well as employability skills, service excellence and productivity — are aimed at preparing workers to take on better-paying jobs. The centre will also provide training, career and employer services.

Connected to the world

In his rally speech, PM Lee said that despite dealing with teething issues, Singapore’s economy needs to remain open to foreign investment and talent so that it can continue to grow for the betterment of the lives of citizens.

Mentioning that the government is taking steps to stem the inflow of foreign workers — and with the Fair Consideration Framework — he stressed that “we must not send the wrong signal that Singapore no longer welcomes investments, or is turning away talent”.

He also stressed the need for Singaporeans to continue to remain competitive as a workforce, amid growing competition from our neighbouring countries.

“We cannot tell them to go away and leave us alone, but we can provide you the resources and the means to stay one step ahead of them,” he said. “If you apply yourself and make the effort, you will succeed."

two years down the road, will be work till 69, forever upping the stop work age.

fark PAPpigs and the famiLEE.

People are living longer and healthier lives so it is only logical that the retirement age rise in tandem with life expectancy.

Australia is planning to raise the retirement age to 70.

However, as I have mentioned numerous times, nobody has to wait for the official retirement age. You can retire anytime you want. All you have to do is achieve financial independence as quickly as possible. If you can do it before 30, you'll be able to enjoy decades of not having to work for a living.

People are living longer and healthier lives so it is only logical that the retirement age rise in tandem with life expectancy.

However, as I have mentioned numerous times, nobody has to wait for the official retirement age. You can retire anytime you want. All you have to do is achieve financial independence as quickly as possible. If you can do it before 30, you'll be able to enjoy decades of not having to work for a living.

U so fucking smart, tell me, did u retire before 30? No, right? Not easy right? Talk shit only.

only sinkie slave need to worry about putting food on the table to continue to work pass till hand IC.

Who on earth would want to employ senile old farts??

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Research has shown that people lead healthier lives by continuing to work into old age. Being idle at the coffeeshop chatting foreign beer ladies is surely not what we want for our elderly

U so fucking smart, tell me, did u retire before 30? No, right? Not easy right? Talk shit only.

I was a decade late because I started my working life off with an "employee" mindset. I came to my senses when I was in my early 30s and managed to retire before 40.

Research has shown that people lead healthier lives by continuing to work into old age. Being idle at the coffeeshop chatting foreign beer ladies is surely not what we want for our elderly

Retirement doesn't mean sitting in a coffee shop the whole day. Retirement means you don't have to work for a living and you are free to pursue goals and activities that you enjoy doing instead of having perform a job in order to justify your salary.

I was a decade late because I started my working life off with an "employee" mindset. I came to my senses when I was in my early 30s and managed to retire before 40.

U are obviously not retired. u are here full time being paid by some PAP fucktard related enterprise to chase down all critical comments of the PAP and refute them with the same tired lines. If you were truly retired, u would be golfing or fishing somewhere instead of on here. stop lying.

show me this research. I do not know any 67 year old that wants to work at McDOnalds or clean tables at a hawker centre in order to "lead healthier lives". There are many ways to lead healthier lives without working too. In fact, the absence of hours spend at work can be used to improve your life.

U are obviously not retired. u are here full time being paid by some PAP fucktard related enterprise to chase down all critical comments of the PAP and refute them with the same tired lines. If you were truly retired, u would be golfing or fishing somewhere instead of on here. stop lying.

As I have already explained, retirement does not mean spending all ones time on idle pursuits. It means not having to depend upon a job in order to pay the bills.

I spend time here because of my love and respect for LKY and not because I need an income. If the forum were to close tomorrow, I have enough to last till the end of my days.

You should reflect on what the Hon Mr Lee has done for you to make your life so much better. Once you've seen the light, you too will start defending the PAP.

He talk why you listen? Nothing is good for you in his speech. Ignore. Only I come to this stinking thread then I get to know his may day speech.

not 67 lah
what he meant was u work until u die lah

u mean work until 67
then ask money from gahment ah?

no what
after 67
u still have to work to survive
who is going to feed u after 67?

of course u work until u die lah

show me this research. I do not know any 67 year old that wants to work at McDOnalds or clean tables at a hawker centre in order to "lead healthier lives". There are many ways to lead healthier lives without working too. In fact, the absence of hours spend at work can be used to improve your life.

Only those doing nothing yet command high salary wont mind. Even if up to 75 yrs of age. Whatever the retirement age, just returnour CPF money to us at 55. And stop crafting new policies to keep our money longer.

?
How to achieve financial independence by 30? Because of NS, by the time you graduate from University you are already 24-25 in Singapore.

Many gahmans already view the old age as burdens which they are . y cant think y just get rid of them like in soylant green n logans run? When hit a certain age...let them have the last party n pass on with dignity...instead of them.ending up in old folks homes n living day by day n slowly fading away..being a burden to society n themselves?

I think you guy curse his father too much, so he want you guy to suffer 1 year more than his father 90, The End.

it's no different from the u.s. where the moving target for social security benefits withdrawal keeps moving. now, they are telling us to wait until 67 to withdraw to enjoy maximum benefits. a few years ago, it was 65. :rolleyes: