There is no plural in Debt. Hence, there is no such word as Debts. I don't know how you can start a thread on Debt without knowing how to spell.
what is sinkies' real debt that plague them?
There is no plural in Debt. Hence, there is no such word as Debts. I don't know how you can start a thread on Debt without knowing how to spell.
TDSR not applicable for singaporean buying malaysian properties. All you have to do is to loan with malaysia banks, eg. OCBC Malaysia will ignore your loans with OCBC Singapore. A working Sg couple can loan max. 90% in malaysian residential properties for about 5-6%pa loan, if both sign on the line. Many seminars teach you how to hold 5, 7, 10 or 30 properties in the world with loans. But really, in the end, you are just making yourself so busy for the bankers.
If you understand the financing-mechanics of our massive property-loan sector, margin-calls/forced-sellings will be triggered like a domino for each 10-15% drop, for those who loan 70-80% for investment property because these clients can never cover the slightest increment in interest rates. Yes, the less-geared individuals can easily survive such short-term 30% meltdown.
However, if the downturn is prolonged, those who loan more than 50% will face a slow death, eg. market drops appx 5-10%pa going forward.
The financial sector can prepare for any scenario so long it doesn't catch them by surprise, but not the clients. Evil bankers can draw up master plans to swallow prime assets of the mid-leveraged. Prolonged period of asset price weakness and surging interest rates offer the best opportunity for banks to squeeze every juice out of weak clients.
Thanks Borom and many others who contributed to this thread which I feel is very important, as being debt free did changed my life. I fully paid up my humble 3-room HDB pigeonhole using CPF and cash within 8 years of purchase during the late 90s.
Initially, I opted for the maximum 30 years load period. But after calculating the interests, I was determined to shorten it to 10 years but did it in 8 years! Nothing magical or fantastic. I used all my CPF to paid them off and the rest paid with cash.
And why I did it? Remembered receiving the HDB statements during the first few years of purchase. And looking at the statements make me very upset and demoralised. KNN, every month deduct and deduct. still owe so much, almost like never move like that.
BUT, Now, this pigeonhole is a profit centre and also my private room money. If continue to rent out for another 4 years, all my capital cover back plus interest plus upgrading cost.
paiseh, no offense. Those are sales talk by housing loan sales man. The tide turns against you when SIBOR surges. Historically, you enjoy the best prices in property when SIBOR exceeds 3%. So do you wanna buy-cheap or buy-expensive with cheap loans that are meant to trap you? If you wanna buy-cheap, then we should save our bullets.
Excellent example. Please let me simplify it, with the risk of oversimplifying:
HDB loan = 2.6%
Reimbursement back to OA account when you sell HDB = 2.5%
Effectively, your cost of financing is 5.1% for HDB
Excellent example. Please let me simplify it, with the risk of oversimplifying:
Now let's go one-step further:
Many PMET got spare cash and choose to use them to invest in shares/equities (nothing wrong).
Assuming you got enough cash, if you use the cash for the HDB loan-payment and use your OA $$$ for shares and unit trusts instead,
effectively, you will reduce your HDB loan quantum (save on 2.6%) and you don't have to reimburse your OA account 2.5% when you offload your shares/unit trusts.
Note: this is just an simplified example
HDB costs you 5.1% in terms of overall-financing Very outstanding example. deserve +1
Good thread for everyone. We used to get a lot of these types of discussions in the early years of SBF, thats more than 10 years ago.
The bank doesn't want your money ...they can get funds at super low rate.
TS has a point. The core of Keynesian economics is to encourage the govt to run debts and deficits during economic slowdown in order to boost the recovery process, and then let the debt be washed away during the upswing. Problem is during the upswing not all debt gets washed out; in fact sometimes the debt remains or even builds up to a greater level due to human greed and lust for leverage.
That is why the world is caught in a debt spiral now. We had 50 years of debt supercycle in which every economic cycle (defined as one downturn followed by one upturn) saw the overall debt level increase. Now the debt supercycle is coming to an end (as all unsustainable trends eventually will), and the next 20 years may be miserable years. I pity our young who have just graduated from school. They are entering the world economy at about the worst possible juncture.
And all because of Keynesian economics. Or rather to be fair, the implementation of Keynesian economic theory by modern central bankers who are fucking beholden to the banking cartel. I'm sure Lord keynes himself did not envisage his theory to be used in this fashion. Unfortunately unlike LKY he won't rise from his grave if something goes wrong.
OK, got your point. Agree and disagree. Agree that HDB pigeonhole was much cheaper during the late 90s as compare to recent years. Disagree on the repayment was easier as I was also earning much lesser during that time. If I remember correctly, was earning slightly more than 1K when I ROD and slight less than 2K when I purchase the pigeonhole.In the late 90s, I would venture to say that you did not pay more than $120K for a 3 room flat. Its easy to pay off a mortgage that size early. Not possible today when u see flat prices regularly exceeding $400K and than end up over $500k after the renos. In addition to the average sinkie salary being depressed by the influx of cheap FT labour, its almost impossible to pay a flat off early under your scenario. So, its no point telling people to live debt free, because practically speaking,t hey can't.
Thread correct lah but somehow got deviated from origin topic along the way.I think this is a very misleading and dangerous thread. People should be careful when they read it.
OK, got your point. Agree and disagree. Agree that HDB pigeonhole was much cheaper during the late 90s as compare to recent years. Disagree on the repayment was easier as I was also earning much lesser during that time. If I remember correctly, was earning slightly more than 1K when I ROD and slight less than 2K when I purchase the pigeonhole.
My point is those who purchased HDB pigeonholes should set a target to repay off their outstanding mortgages. I personally feel the loan period should never exceed 15 years. Preferably able to pay off the pigeonhole before 40 years of age. It's also because at this age, there are other major expense like kids education and possibly health related expenses.
OK, got your point. Agree and disagree. Agree that HDB pigeonhole was much cheaper during the late 90s as compare to recent years. Disagree on the repayment was easier as I was also earning much lesser during that time. If I remember correctly, was earning slightly more than 1K when I ROD and slight less than 2K when I purchase the pigeonhole.
My point is those who purchased HDB pigeonholes should set a target to repay off their outstanding mortgages. I personally feel the loan period should never exceed 15 years. Preferably able to pay off the pigeonhole before 40 years of age. It's also because at this age, there are other major expense like kids education and possibly health related expenses.
Have mentioned this book before but like to recommend this book for those in "Money not Enough" category. This book "The Richest Man in Babylon" by George Samuel Clason. Very simple to read without all the financial and economics jargon. To summarize, the main point is 10% of the income is to save and invest.
You are right. which bank would allow a customer to arbitrage their own rate and let the customer earn 2% for doing nothing. LOL. They can go to SIBOR and borrow millions at less than 0.5%. banks are swimming in deposits right now and offering very low rates for deposits. I would venture to say this TS is some kind of simpleton. Using his example, if he wants borrow at 2% from the bank to buy a bank issued bond with a coupon rate of 4%, than likely the bond is selling at a premium. So, say a $1000 4% rate bond might sell for $1100. You have to look at the yield minus cost of borrowing and not the coupon rate. He will probably end up paying so much for the bond, that the yield could well be less than the 2% he has to pay for his funds.
The bank doesn't want your money ...they can get funds at super low rate.
This is an idiotic thread, the TS knows shit about financing.
I think this is a very misleading and dangerous thread. People should be careful when they read it.
Sorry forgot to add something important, cover back in cold hard cash, not CPF statements.
You should really stop patting yourself on the back for the "very outstanding example. deserve +1". hahahhahahaha
TDSR is always applicable for any sort of mortgage financing for a property purchase. Even if the bank waives a TDSR requirement (highly unlikely), you should still calculate your own TDSR. WHy? If you don't do it, you will not know whether you are over stretched or not, and especially for investment properties (since you are mentioning it), when you factor in your rental income less vacancy allowance, you can play around with the ratios to see when you might need to top up and when you can run monthly surplus. Right off the bat, when buying Malaysian properties, the foreigner requirement by the Malaysian govt. says that you have to buy a property minimum worth $1 million ringgit. Very few investment properties of RM$1 million in malaysia can debt service at all. Even if you borrow only 70% of the value and not 90% in your example (and I think you mistakenly use the word loan interchangeably between a borrower and a lender), the vacancy rate for high end properties in malaysia is high. Therefore, you might easily run a loss for the year and years after that even with a low interest rate environment. Most people I know who bought in Malaysia when the requirement was only RM$250K, and than later $500k, have not made any money at all. There are tons of investor condos on Batu Ferringhi sitting empty because they can't get tenant.
TDSR not applicable for singaporean buying malaysian properties. All you have to do is to loan with malaysia banks, eg. OCBC Malaysia will ignore your loans with OCBC Singapore. A working Sg couple can loan max. 90% in malaysian residential properties for about 5-6%pa loan, if both sign on the line. Many seminars teach you how to hold 5, 7, 10 or 30 properties in the world with loans. But really, in the end, you are just making yourself so busy for the bankers.
If you understand the financing-mechanics of our massive property-loan sector, margin-calls/forced-sellings will be triggered like a domino for each 10-15% drop, for those who loan 70-80% for investment property because these clients can never cover the slightest increment in interest rates. Yes, the less-geared individuals can easily survive such short-term 30% meltdown.
The +1 was for chonburifc's example of using cash instead CPF OA for HDB payment. Only the financially stable can do that to minimize the cost of their loans