• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Typical middle class Malaysian family have 2 cars or more

enterprise2

Compare that with Singapore although our stats shows that more than 500,000 cars are on the roads. But I think that a typical Singapore household will have one car or less. Very rare to see households with two or more cars. Thats why condos in Malaysia typically provide for two car lots per unit and Singapore only one. Just thought it is a interesting stats to share.

PLus Malaysians get to REALLY own their home.

sinkie can only rent and think that they own it, Plus pay for the mortgage for 20 to 30 years and still can't own the home. You pay mortgage for a rented apartment?????? what logic is that?

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard doesn't understand why the car numbers need to be controlled here. What is the point of everyone having a car and the traffic comes to a standstill. Have you been to KL, Bangkok, Paris or just about anywhere in the world without car number control?

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard complaining about a good policy. NONE of the opposition will remove car control policy. Even SDP and WP are talking about modifying the system and not removing it

For this we have to look at it in the right perspective

1. Malaysia is a big country and having a car is more a necessity than a want
2. We need to separate the city dwellers from the city outskirts - many who live in big cities will prefer to take MRT than caught in jam
3. For big countries it's common to own more than 1 car per household

Can't compare like that lah. It's completely 2 different things. Like saying for the price of HDB, you can buy a big ranch in Zimbabwe and 20 cars in the USA. But what's the point? Completely different styles of living.

It doesn't stop tons of Malaysians coming down to Sinkieland to work. You don't see tons of Singaporeans clamouring to work in Mudland and earn ringgit do you?

Compare that with Singapore although our stats shows that more than 500,000 cars are on the roads. But I think that a typical Singapore household will have one car or less. Very rare to see households with two or more cars. Thats why condos in Malaysia typically provide for two car lots per unit and Singapore only one. Just thought it is a interesting stats to share.
depends on who u ask ... dat ars*hol* xpert is of ze opinion dat evry sinkie has 2 cars ...

Sinkie peasants can own 2 or more kapkias just like me... half of your life is wasted in the waiting of public transport and squeezing with ahnehs ahtiongs ahnoys...

Not bad sia ... some middle-class Sinkies don't even have a car lo ... :(

too many factors lah. if its so good in msia, why sinkies don't go there and work instead?

It all depends on how you define the term "middle class"! There's further classification of the middle class into upper middle & lower middle, but most of them are in the category of lower middle to middle, not much of the upper middle for chinese!

From my own observation, car ownership numbers as follows;-

Lower Middle Class - Normally stays in low value public housing or apartment blocks of value RM40k to RM300K, they would each own one vehicle of at least 8 years in age upon purchase and normally below RM20k each and their average income is below RM4k. You can see that these are the areas with massive traffic jams after office hours because the cars are just parked anywhere possible along the road! These are people trying to make end meets!

Middle Class - Normally stays in apartment blocks, low end condos or single storey terrace houses of value RM200k to RM500K, again they would own one vehicle each of at least one is brand new & the remaining between 5 & 15 years old, with some though very little having vehicle of higher value than their house! These are areas where you can find plenty of pimps, drug runners & all sorts of undesirables! Again cars are parked everywhere & traffic jam is the order of the day!

Upper Middle Class - Now you see mostly new cars of less than 3 years old and are in quieter environment but you don't get to see much traffic jam in the immediate vicinity & not mush of old cars! Normally in semi-detached area or new condo areas! These are households with at most three cars because mostly new & the mortgage of the house are killing them!

So in conclusion yes Typical Middle Class Malaysian Families do own more than 2 cars but the quality of the cars are just not there, it's most Proton, Perodua or low end Japanese models like Honda City or Toyota Vios with some Mazda 3 and mostly value below RM200K for the lower middle to middle class! The Upper middle class will have some individualism to the car ownership, here you can see plenty of coupes, minis, secondhand imports & plenty of merc & BMWs!

It is about having a life.

Do sinkies have a choice if they are caged in a puny island and the whole island is a city?

pls dun talk as though sinkieland is a huge USA country that people can choose to stay in city or rural areas , ok dun say USA, just say Malaysia.

you sinkies got no choice but to cramp in a puny city island.

when people talks about having a car and a home of THEIR OWN.. they talk about having a real life.. and not about going to a city to work , then come back to have a quiet life in a rural area.

pls sinkie got no fucking choice, their only choice is to raise their ass to be screwed while being cramp in a puny island.

It all depends on how you define the term "middle class"! There's further classification of the middle class into upper middle & lower middle, but most of them are in the category of lower middle to middle, not much of the upper middle for chinese!

From my own observation, car ownership numbers as follows;-

Lower Middle Class - Normally stays in low value public housing or apartment blocks of value RM40k to RM300K, they would each own one vehicle of at least 8 years in age upon purchase and normally below RM20k each and their average income is below RM4k. You can see that these are the areas with massive traffic jams after office hours because the cars are just parked anywhere possible along the road! These are people trying to make end meets!

Middle Class - Normally stays in apartment blocks, low end condos or single storey terrace houses of value RM200k to RM500K, again they would own one vehicle each of at least one is brand new & the remaining between 5 & 15 years old, with some though very little having vehicle of higher value than their house! These are areas where you can find plenty of pimps, drug runners & all sorts of undesirables! Again cars are parked everywhere & traffic jam is the order of the day!

Upper Middle Class - Now you see mostly new cars of less than 3 years old and are in quieter environment but you don't get to see much traffic jam in the immediate vicinity & not mush of old cars! Normally in semi-detached area or new condo areas! These are households with at most three cars because mostly new & the mortgage of the house are killing them!

So in conclusion yes Typical Middle Class Malaysian Families do own more than 2 cars but the quality of the cars are just not there, it's most Proton, Perodua or low end Japanese models like Honda City or Toyota Vios with some Mazda 3 and mostly value below RM200K for the lower middle to middle class! The Upper middle class will have some individualism to the car ownership, here you can see plenty of coupes, minis, secondhand imports & plenty of merc & BMWs!

Thats great analysis and data. But looking at the future when Malaysian salaries goes further upwards, they will have better infrastructure and also gets to keep their cars since they have no land constraints like us.

Some dumbfucks should know Singapore is not Malaysia managed by an inept government. When comparisons are made using either country as an example, kindly use some brains before commenting. If haters want to hit out at Singapore or Singaporeans, you are entitled to air your opinions but not your ignorance.

Survey finds KL road users’ frustration with traffic jams highest in the world – Bernama

January 08, 2014

A market research by Frost and Sullivan on 1,227 respondents in Kuala Lumpur has revealed that 41% of the respondents ranked traffic jam and congestion as their number one frustrations, higher than Asia-Pacific's average of 35% and global average of 29%.

Asia-Pacific Partner and Head of the Automotive and Transportation Practice, Kavan Mukhtyar, said the traffic jam and congestion here were due to its residents' dependence on cars as compared to global or even regional levels.

"Roughly 79% of Kuala Lumpur residents depend on private transportation such as cars while 8% depend on public transportation.

"Another 11% use a combination of public and private transportation, while the other 2% are non-motorised," he told a media briefing in Kuala Lumpur today on the outlook for the country's motor vehicle industry this year.

For comparison, he said, the average 54% of Asia-Pacific residents used private transportation, 24% public transport, 15% combined transportation and 7% non-motorised.

Meanwhile, the global average of residents using private transportation were 53%, public transport (26%), combined transportation (13%) and non-motorised (8%), he said.

Mukhtyar said Kuala Lumpur was bound to face challenges of congestion ahead as car ownerships continued to grow.

However, he said, the Malaysian government, under the Government Transportation Plan, planned to improve urban public transport by increasing the usage of public transportation to 40% by 2020.

"This could potentially ease traffic congestion in Kuala Lumpur," he said.

Meanwhile, Mukhtyar said, according to the study, 50% of Kuala Lumpur commuters were in favour of switching to economically-viable fuel-efficient vehicles, leading to the growing penetration of green cars in Malaysia.

Last year, he said, sales of hybrid cars was forecast to grow by 4.2% to 16,000 units due to duty exemptions and new model launches.

Mukhtyar said Frost and Sullivan remained optimistic on hybrid vehicle sales in the future as the global study conducted showed that most Malaysian had strong preference for greener vehicles provided there were economically viable.

"These developments are likely to drive emergence of new mobility business models such as car-sharing clubs offering green vehicles combined with multi-modal personal transportation facilitated by growing public transportation investment," he said.

– Bernama, January 8, 2014.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...stration-with-traffic-jams-highest-in-the-wor

Some dumbfucks should know Singapore is not Malaysia managed by an inept government. When comparisons are made using either country as an example, kindly use some brains before commenting. If haters want to hit out at Singapore or Singaporeans, you are entitled to air your opinions but not your ignorance.

Asia-Pacific Partner and Head of the Automotive and Transportation Practice, Kavan Mukhtyar, said the traffic jam and congestion here were due to its residents' dependence on cars as compared to global or even regional levels.

"Roughly 79% of Kuala Lumpur residents depend on private transportation such as cars while 8% depend on public transportation.

"Another 11% use a combination of public and private transportation, while the other 2% are non-motorised," he told a media briefing in Kuala Lumpur today on the outlook for the country's motor vehicle industry this year.

For comparison, he said, the average 54% of Asia-Pacific residents used private transportation, 24% public transport, 15% combined transportation and 7% non-motorised.

Meanwhile, the global average of residents using private transportation were 53%, public transport (26%), combined transportation (13%) and non-motorised (8%), he said.

Mukhtyar said Kuala Lumpur was bound to face challenges of congestion ahead as car ownerships continued to grow.

However, he said, the Malaysian government, under the Government Transportation Plan, planned to improve urban public transport by increasing the usage of public transportation to 40% by 2020.

"This could potentially ease traffic congestion in Kuala Lumpur," he said.

Meanwhile, Mukhtyar said, according to the study, 50% of Kuala Lumpur commuters were in favour of switching to economically-viable fuel-efficient vehicles, leading to the growing penetration of green cars in Malaysia.

Last year, he said, sales of hybrid cars was forecast to grow by 4.2% to 16,000 units due to duty exemptions and new model launches.

Mukhtyar said Frost and Sullivan remained optimistic on hybrid vehicle sales in the future as the global study conducted showed that most Malaysian had strong preference for greener vehicles provided there were economically viable.

"These developments are likely to drive emergence of new mobility business models such as car-sharing clubs offering green vehicles combined with multi-modal personal transportation facilitated by growing public transportation investment," he said.

– Bernama, January 8, 2014.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...stration-with-traffic-jams-highest-in-the-wor

So sinkie dumbfucks, you choose a country to stay and you look only for the traffic conditions of the country only? What a sinkie!!!

only truly dumb people will chose what countries to live in depending on its car prices.

Even the poors can afford a car. :rolleyes:
Car is like bicycle in mly.:D

Thats great analysis and data. But looking at the future when Malaysian salaries goes further upwards, they will have better infrastructure and also gets to keep their cars since they have no land constraints like us.

Thanks!

Salaries in Malaysia are going upwards, that's an undeniable truth but infrastructure wise, they will definitely have more but doesn't mean any better and they will not get to keep their old bone shaker for too long because of maintenance cost constraint! And with bad plannings, no amount of vast land is enough for mistakes!

High salaries means higher disposable income & that equates to high inflation! Everybody says that Malaysia has vast land mass but they are no longer farming their own vegetables but instead are importing from China! Things that are so cheap in Singapore is so damn expensive in Malaysia in comparison to income level! You can't have a decent meal for less than RM8 per person per meal and that is only coffeeshops! Pork for example is indeed higher than Singapore where you are looking at RM25 per kilo at least for ordinary lean cut, that works out to SGD10 per kilo and these are all local pork not flew in like Singapores' airpork! And beef even local ones cost at least RM45 per kilo for just ordinary rendang cut!

So at the end of the day, servicing & maintenance charges in Malaysia for old bone shakers also will go up as there are lesser of these vehicles around & lesser of the skilled mechanics! My 3 years old civic hybrid' warranty is up & the maintenance will be damn bloody expensive & if i decide to sell it will be much lower compared to a regular 1.8 civic by at least RM15k even though the selling price of the civic hybrid price is higher bought brand new, these savages' excuse being hybrid cars are more hi tech & less people will appreciate!

Basically there are millions of garbage citizen in Malaysia and yet they are still bringing in millions of them from Bangladesh, thus Namewee's Banglasia! The local garbage has been automatically upgraded to high class garbage! Sometimes really wonder why i ended up here in KL! Talking to them locals at times really vomit blood! For them is purely a case of "If they haven't seen it, it does not exist" and that's very difficult talking to them!

At least back home, everybody has the same brought up & exposure, there's no need to explain further for many things, the very mentioned of one thing, majority knows! I Do Miss Singapore!

Thanks!

Salaries in Malaysia are going upwards, that's an undeniable truth but infrastructure wise, they will definitely have more but doesn't mean any better and they will not get to keep their old bone shaker for too long because of maintenance cost constraint! And with bad plannings, no amount of vast land is enough for mistakes!

High salaries means higher disposable income & that equates to high inflation! Everybody says that Malaysia has vast land mass but they are no longer farming their own vegetables but instead are importing from China! Things that are so cheap in Singapore is so damn expensive in Malaysia in comparison to income level! You can't have a decent meal for less than RM8 per person per meal and that is only coffeeshops! Pork for example is indeed higher than Singapore where you are looking at RM25 per kilo at least for ordinary lean cut, that works out to SGD10 per kilo and these are all local pork not flew in like Singapores' airpork! And beef even local ones cost at least RM45 per kilo for just ordinary rendang cut!

So at the end of the day, servicing & maintenance charges in Malaysia for old bone shakers also will go up as there are lesser of these vehicles around & lesser of the skilled mechanics! My 3 years old civic hybrid' warranty is up & the maintenance will be damn bloody expensive & if i decide to sell it will be much lower compared to a regular 1.8 civic by at least RM15k even though the selling price of the civic hybrid price is higher bought brand new, these savages' excuse being hybrid cars are more hi tech & less people will appreciate!

Basically there are millions of garbage citizen in Malaysia and yet they are still bringing in millions of them from Bangladesh, thus Namewee's Banglasia! The local garbage has been automatically upgraded to high class garbage! Sometimes really wonder why i ended up here in KL! Talking to them locals at times really vomit blood! For them is purely a case of "If they haven't seen it, it does not exist" and that's very difficult talking to them!

At least back home, everybody has the same brought up & exposure, there's no need to explain further for many things, the very mentioned of one thing, majority knows! I Do Miss Singapore!

Thanks again for the insightful knowledge. Makes me wonder if I know Malaysia at all even in the no of times I go up there. Yes, u r right, I am hearing and seeing the same things....prices r going up but the salaries are still pretty stagnant so the gen population is suffering. Also Sing $ really appreciating so guess I will be going up north more often.

PLus Malaysians get to REALLY own their home.

sinkie can only rent and think that they own it, Plus pay for the mortgage for 20 to 30 years and still can't own the home. You pay mortgage for a rented apartment?????? what logic is that?

UMNO's dog, Foreign Trash Tonychat trying to glorify his masters again, as if there are no leasehold properties in his country.

Read this : Leasehold properties in Malaysia http://www.thesundaily.my/news/871228

If his freaking matland is so great, he would have stayed back in Malaysia and not KPKB in Singapore everyday.

UMNO dog trying very hard to make his country look good.

He thinks that even if he own a freehold property in Malaysia, he really own the home. He freaking forgot that the Bumis thinks that Tonychat and his family members are just tenant in the country and should all balik cina one of these day.

So sinkie dumbfucks, you choose a country to stay and you look only for the traffic conditions of the country only? What a sinkie!!!

Feel free to fuck back to Malaysia, you Foreign Trash.