• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM: You’ll be sorry too if I send all FTs home

It's a straw man argument which you put up to represent the opposing side, and then knock down.

Why hasn't he spoken about the other end of the spectrum, the continued presence of jobs which would have been mechanized long ago but for the presence of cheap labour from abroad.

Bizarre statement....I have never heard anyone say send them ALL home. That's extreme and harmful to the economy.

Just don't litter the place with them left right and centre.

Even if the PAP is voted out in 2016, whoever takes over will soon realise that foreigners in large numbers are essential in order for the economy to thrive and the policy will continue unabated.

No government will implement policies that kill the economy. It would be political suicide.

By all means, but only after all PMET jobs suitable for Singaporeans are filled by Singaporeans first. That would be the first job of the day for whoever wins. Nobody is saying we don't need foregners.

what pinky was trying to say

if i sent FTs home, gdp will come down, my salary will drop and my emptying the reserve definitely will slow down, definitely a no no.

That Pinky chap cited the example of a bank CEO who may not be a citizen but runs a bank that creates thousands of jobs. “You put the wrong CEO there, the bank goes bust, thousands lose their jobs,” he added.

This is bullshit, he didn't tell all those student what that ah neh DBS CEO and also Shitty Bank CEO did in Sillypore.
He has been acting blur about these two banks hiring FTs more than locals.

The transformation of the economy to what? How do you envisage a small Island of 3 million is going to survive at the current living standards? What will be driving the economy?

I remember when Spore's population was below 3 million & I didn't hear people complaining. Not like nowadays where there are crowds everywhere, breakdowns, increase in crime, foreign driven inflation, ....

People like LHL & LKY are isolated in their ivory towers but for the common folk of Spore having more millionaires & billionaires is causing them grief.

2s9rq5s.png
[video=youtube;r4c7DtXAKpA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4c7DtXAKpA[/video]
1014243_218205728362432_1704572400_n.jpg
[/QUOTE]

Typical PAP scare tactic!! We never say No FTs!! Just not too many and right now it's way too many!!

Sinkie land is doomed. No hope for Singaporeans in their own country with a Govt that favours FTsh and see locals as incapable of being good CEO.

In short, the government has failed to ensure that SG remains a country for SGreans

True, take a stroll along Geylang, it is Chinatown, not in name but in activities; take a stroll along Little India, it reminds you of Mumbai, not Singapore; take a stroll around Lucky Plaza and vicinity, it is pinoy land, it is not Singapore; take a stroll along City Plaza and vicinity, it is Indonesian maids and Bangla guys looking for free screws, no longer a place for locals to go to. What is happening now to this country? When can Singapore be turned back to good old days when this country belongs to locals?

Lanjiao lah you want to send or not is up to you... As if you ever listen to the people or gives a shit about what they want or don't want.

As you can tell from the below numbers, unemployment was low before he even begin to "create" all these jobs as he claims. The singapore economy was at almost full employment, and had been so for some time. SInce the late 70s, any singaporean who wanted to work, could find a job. In addition, given the low birth rate of singaporeans, there was very little danger that a massive baby boom would result in a lack of jobs for Singaporeans in the future. If anything else, due to the older retiring population, there could be a surplus of jobs chasing a shortgage of manpower. Yet Gay Loong claims that he was creating jobs. for whom was he creating these jobs? certainly not for singaporeans who were already mostly fully employed. He was creating jobs for citizens fo other countries. Is there a better definition for the word "traitor".? I hope that NTU students are smart enough to tell his bullshit for what it is.

Resident Long-Term Unemployment

Annual Average Rate (%)
2002 1.4
2003 1.4
2004 1.3
2005 1.0
2006 0.7
2007 0.5
2008 0.5
2009 0.9
2010 0.7
2011 0.6
2012 0.6

He cited the example of a bank CEO who may not be a citizen but runs a bank that creates thousands of jobs. “You put the wrong CEO there, the bank goes bust, thousands lose their jobs,” he added.

He seems to have forgotten that the wrong CEO was put in charge of a private ltd company named Temasek, and this CEO caused the company to lose billions $. However, I did not see even one person lose their job over this, so I don't know what kind of shit analogy he is using. Also, MAS controls the operations of all banks closely. I can tell u that they will step in long before the bank goes bust to prop it up and make sure all the depositors are protected. In fact, I cannot recall any major bank failure in singapore in decades.

In any case, I know at least one SIngaporean running a publicly listed bank in Hong Kong. There are many banking executives in singapore (local born) that are capable of running large banks. His own uncle Tony Tan is one of them. You cannot tell me that SIngapore, the home of large banks like DBS, UOB, OUB, OCBC, POSB, etc. cannot produce its own competent and capable bankers after decades of independence? This fucker Gay Loong just does not trust his own people. He should just say so. He prefers angmos, or apunehs to run the big banks here, forgetting that it was angmor bankers that caused the world financial crisis in 2008.

Don't talk so much,vote him out in GE 2016.
This useless bumbler will only listen to u during the 9 days of campaigning before Polling Day.
If u sinkees want a decent job and job security ,vote out the PAP.
If u sinkees want to be jobless,then vote for the PAP.
The choice is yours.

The transformation of the economy to what? How do you envisage a small Island of 3 million is going to survive at the current living standards? What will be driving the economy?

I think the living standard in Singapore during the 90s was much higher than now, we had world class standard MRT that was not overcrowded, hospital with sufficient beds, affordable HDB (although private already very expensive then), no or very little litter everywhere, basically a very pleasant and nice living environment.

Nobody is telling you to ship all FTs home, dipshit.

But you, Pinky, are solely accountable for all the overcrowding, infrastructural stress, social upheavals and massive inflation. It happened under your watch.

In other countries a vote of no-confidence would have been issued against you in Parliament. But in Singapore, you're safe in the Parleement.

Yes, he is responsible and looks like he is not remorseful, still talking down to Singaporeans.

This Gay Loong is so stupid as to come to NTU and smoke a bunch of young minds into thinking that what he says is the truth? Unbelievable.

The problem is that most of these jobs are not being filled by SGreans but by foreigners anyway. For the SGreans who managed to land a job in these environments, they will find themselves akin to working in a foreign land. These environments are hostile to SGreans and SGreans are unwilling to work there as well. It then becomes a vicious cycle that businesses claim that they can't find SGreans to fill these jobs and the government start blaming SGreans for being choosy.

In short, the government has failed to ensure that SG remains a country for SGreans. Perhaps it is true that they have created more jobs than there are SGreans to fill them but the crux of the issue is that they have failed to consider the social implications by allowing companies to bring in hordes of foreigners to fill them. Imagine you come off worse in a political struggle in your workplace because you are outnumbered due to nationality in your own country. Uniquely SG.

Yes, can imagine the difficulty for a Singaporean working in such a majority foreigner environment, especially when these foreigners are known to side and look after their own kind.

He cited the example of a bank CEO who may not be a citizen but runs a bank that creates thousands of jobs. “You put the wrong CEO there, the bank goes bust, thousands lose their jobs,” he added.

He seems to have forgotten that the wrong CEO was put in charge of a private ltd company named Temasek, and this CEO caused the company to lose billions $. However, I did not see even one person lose their job over this, so I don't know what kind of shit analogy he is using. Also, MAS controls the operations of all banks closely. I can tell u that they will step in long before the bank goes bust to prop it up and make sure all the depositors are protected. In fact, I cannot recall any major bank failure in singapore in decades.

In any case, I know at least one SIngaporean running a publicly listed bank in Hong Kong. There are many banking executives in singapore (local born) that are capable of running large banks. His own uncle Tony Tan is one of them. You cannot tell me that SIngapore, the home of large banks like DBS, UOB, OUB, OCBC, POSB, etc. cannot produce its own competent and capable bankers after decades of independence? This fucker Gay Loong just does not trust his own people. He should just say so. He prefers angmos, or apunehs to run the big banks here, forgetting that it was angmor bankers that caused the world financial crisis in 2008.

Not long ago a S'porean Professor was not deemed fit for the Dean post of NUS, but he was selected among many international applicants to be the Dean of HK University.

In short, the government has failed to ensure that SG remains a country for SGreans

True, take a stroll along Geylang, it is Chinatown, not in name but in activities; take a stroll along Little India, it reminds you of Mumbai, not Singapore; take a stroll around Lucky Plaza and vicinity, it is pinoy land, it is not Singapore; take a stroll along City Plaza and vicinity, it is Indonesian maids and Bangla guys looking for free screws, no longer a place for locals to go to. What is happening now to this country? When can Singapore be turned back to good old days when this country belongs to locals?

The PAP govt has sold out to global corporate interests and globalists (World Bank, IMF). Their betrayal of the country is evident in the various policies they formulate. Only the hopelessly blind cannot see this fact.

Not long ago a S'porean Professor was not deemed fit for the Dean post of NUS, but he was selected among many international applicants to be the Dean of HK University.

To get ahead in academia in Singapore, you need to be a porlumpar of the highest order. The quality of your research is secondary.