• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What 6.9 million? It is 8 million!

8m population by 2030?

SINGAPORE - Earlier this year, Singaporeans balked at the idea of having 6.9 million people on our tiny island. But some experts, including Dr Parag Khanna, Senior Fellow at the Singapore Institute of International Affairs, has said that Singapore can fit 8 million or more by 2030.

These so-called lan-jiao experts are nothing more than yes-men planted by Pinky Lee to support his fucked-up policies. "Khanna" Sai !

Anyone been to URA Building to look at the Master Plan 2030 ?
Just look at the mock up township at the Marina South, the number of new commercial building going to sprout out at that tiny area is almost the size of current CDB. To support this level of commercial activities, population would equally need to be one time more of current size.

I was skeptical until I saw the plans for the underground city... And I mean way way down underground deeper than our current underground. Guess we may turn out like the Morlocks in the movie Time Machine!!

I was in the Orchard area & noticed they are expending the underground network tunnels between Ion & Tangs. It is no wonder that the Orchard area is having problems with dengue & flooding.

The first mention of 8 million population was in August this year by a PAP-Press columnist. Tell you, 8 million by 2020 with 60 percent of the population being made up of foreigners is a reality.

more cases of molest in trains and buses.

VOTE PAP OUT. THAT IS THE ONLY WAY we going to get some FRESH AIR!

Ho say liao! i see many Money making opportunities. Fuck care how many million population. Even 80 million also can. Let's just make money out of this, and of course, fuck out of sinking land after make money Lah.

Other countries have their pull factors and attractions, I was speaking of Singapore only in terms of career prospects for the individual working class guy with an English based education coming to work here in line with the thread's view on population growth here. Personally, I do not fancy city-life although most people are moving away from rural living to cities - mainly because the bulk of employment is found in cities. Yes, Singapore does not have a hinterland for her citizens to spread into; that's one of the drawbacks for Peesai.

I have to disagree. Even if you have money the quality of life in Spore is not that great. Just look at Thailand. You will find many russians, aussies, americans, Bits, middle easterners, ........ in Bangkok & Pattaya.
It's cheaper & more interesting over there.

If you don't like city life you can choose one of the quieter towns. That is something you can't do in crowded Spore.

My take of Peesai`s growth is this - it will continue to grow so long as there is continued peace and progress in the region. Look at Jakarta, Bangkok, Manila, KL - all bursting at the seams, and still growing. In the region, which is the most centrally located city? - Singapore. Which city has the easiest/most convenient cash and banking systems? - Singapore. Which city best suits Europeans, Japanese, Indians, Middle-Easterners to move to? Singapore. Which country can one get by knowing one language, English? - Singapore. There you have it. 6.9, 8 million, whatever, these are just numbers for people to debate over; Singapore will continure to grow. Looking back, Singapore was already crowded by the nineties, it is just more crowded now - just go to any mall and try getting a park lot around lunch time, good luck, keep calm. Its going to get more crowded.

Do we just accept that? I think not. If we just let this happen, then we are just pushovers, not deserving of any respect or right to live.

Other countries have their pull factors and attractions, I was speaking of Singapore only in terms of career prospects for the individual working class guy with an English based education coming to work here in line with the thread's view on population growth here. Personally, I do not fancy city-life although most people are moving away from rural living to cities - mainly because the bulk of employment is found in cities. Yes, Singapore does not have a hinterland for her citizens to spread into; that's one of the drawbacks for Peesai.

We need a Sinkee First Party here to scare the hell out of foreigners.

parag_khanna_1340617244.jpg

BE CAREFUL TO LISTEN TO SOME PUNDEK SEEN HOLDING A RIFLE

http://sg.images.search.yahoo.com/s...Khanna&toggle=1&cop=mss&ei=UTF-8&fr=yfp-t-712

I have to disagree. Even if you have money the quality of life in Spore is not that great. Just look at Thailand. You will find many russians, aussies, americans, Bits, middle easterners, ........ in Bangkok & Pattaya.
It's cheaper & more interesting over there.

If you don't like city life you can choose one of the quieter towns. That is something you can't do in crowded Spore.

The foreigners have no long term plan to remain in sinkapore ...they are like the barbarians ...they rape the land and the people ...once they have taken everything that is valuable, they move on. Our stupid government choose to ignore all the signs of that - foreigners hiring only their kind, foreigners berating sinkees and the country, etc.

The so-called 'expert' is just an Indian-born globalist, wanting to make Singapore into the rehearsal stage of a one world government.
Indians want sinkapore badly. They are pushing for more Indians to come over.

i think the Indians will takeover sinkapore ...the free trade agreement with Indian allows millions to come over and there is nothing the government can do about it. Then we have the Indian quad in cabinet pushing the Indian agenda. The Indians have taken over the financial sector, the IT sector ...what's next?

Indians want sinkapore badly. They are pushing for more Indians to come over.

i think the Indians will takeover sinkapore ...the free trade agreement with Indian allows millions to come over and there is nothing the government can do about it. Then we have the Indian quad in cabinet pushing the Indian agenda. The Indians have taken over the financial sector, the IT sector ...what's next?

Indians are facing economy collapse at home, Indian govt model is to push for NRIs to earn monies overseas n remit back to India.

Mumbai is also secretly stealing knowledge n technologies in finance n IT sector in S'pore, and aims to displace S'pore as the IT and Finance hub. UK n USA has already cut foreign aid to India n even student visas to prevent lost of monies and technologies.

Australia, UK, USA, etc, have bashed Indian FTrash migrants badly in recent years.

Be very careful fellow Sporeans. These Indians have their hidden agenda...

Only way is to unite n raise rental prices for Indians who wants to stay here...we can raise the entry barrier this way...let's chop the Indians FTs here.

If you dont chop them now...they will chop you n your children one day...

LET US ALL UNITE N KEEP THEM IN THEIR SHITHOLE IN INDIA.

3 ROOM HDB FOR INDIANS...SGD 5k.

IF NOT, CAN STAY IN HOTEL 81.

As individuals, we are able to make our own rules, set our own standards, and possibly live with them. But we live in a society and in this society, growth, or more specifically, economic growth is the only way we know. For this to happen, population needs to grow. Inside me, I can say our company is doing okay and sales volume and profits are healthy, let's keep things the way they are. But I can't say that to my boss, he wants growth, and expects it, otherwise, we all have to go. He knows no other way and I doubt if any other employee has the balls or guts to tell him enough is enough, let's settle for what we have.

Unless we have another economic model, we have to accept that we are capitalistic pigs. I wish I know a better way that is workable. Yes, we have to accept that, and learn to live or adapt to it.

Do we just accept that? I think not. If we just let this happen, then we are just pushovers, not deserving of any respect or right to live.

Friend, just take a look around you where you live and work. From domestic maids to construction worker, mechanics, waiters, nurses, even retail sales personnel, how many are Singaporeans? It would be a nice thought to think of them as 100% manned by Singaporeans, but that is not possible.

We need a Sinkee First Party here to scare the hell out of foreigners.

Friend, just take a look around you where you live and work. From domestic maids to construction worker, mechanics, waiters, nurses, even retail sales personnel, how many are Singaporeans? It would be a nice thought to think of them as 100% manned by Singaporeans, but that is not possible.

Nobody is expecting a total banishment of all foreigners in the workforce, but the number of them being let in since 2007 onwards is getting out of hand. There's only this small piece of land and the population increase is madness.

Vote PAP out! Else Singaporeans become extinct.

S'pore shud have an ultra right political party just like Greece's Golden Dawn where their members go and search for foreign trash to bash them up and chase them out of the country.

All foreign trash in S'pore especially those from the Philippines, India and China should go back to where they came from!

If you are stuck in a room with a cobra and ah neh. You only have 2 bullets remaining. What will u do?