• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This is Breaking News? – Cleaners’ Pay Rise?

Cleaners getting pay rise is the number #1 breaking news now in ST website. WOW. Isn't there better things to report about the country or news from the rest of the world? Does a pay rise for simple cleaners deserve to be in any breaking news at all? Surely this is ST prostituting itself at its best. Cheers to Braddell Brothel.

PAP town council cleaners to get pay rise

Published on Nov 03, 2013, 2:59 PM
By Lee Jian Xuan

From November onwards, 2,500 Singaporean cleaners engaged by 15 PAP town councils will get a pay raise and more skills training.

The cleaners will come under a new wage scheme, where starting pay will go up from an average of $1,000 to $1,200. The change comes after a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed between the town councils and their 19 contractors.

Workers will also be trained in cleaning areas such as lift landings and corridors, as well as operating machinery. They will also be entitled to benefits such as annual leave and overtime pay.

"We would like to increase productivity, improve their skills and their salaries, so as to provide better services for our residents," said Dr Teo Ho Pin, coordinating chairman of the PAP-run town councils.

Wah sei now I got pay rise I can go Geylang and song song.

"Pay rise" and "PAP" in the same sentence is usually when they're referring to themselves. This isn't breaking news, it's a historic event.

This shows how much PAP cares for the poor. I dare WP to show the world how much they are actually paying their cleaners

...While they still enjoy the same MP allowances that their PAP counterparts are taken to task for.... :p

Great news for the banglas and ah neh FW.

Probably not many sinkies at the end of this $200 pay rise.

Great news for the banglas and ah neh FW.

Probably not many sinkies at the end of this $200 pay rise.

U left out the Msian PRs. Increased of M$500 plus!

Best of both worlds

tot they've increased the conservancy charges not too long ago.. time flies.

Workers will also be trained in cleaning areas such as lift landings and corridors, as well as operating machinery. They will also be entitled to benefits such as annual leave and overtime pay.

Means last time no OT pay and annual leave?

My guess is that their workers have been applying to Aljunied Hougang Punggol East TC.

Swee lah! Tomorrow i go interview liao. Wanted to be a one eye half a brain security guard but their pay is stagnant. :p

This shows how much PAP cares for the poor.

Well said.. Agree with you.. PAP really cares for the poor.. Thats why you can still see many old folks in their 70s working at food courts or as library cleaners..

Why PAP wants these senior citizens to work? Its because the PAP realised that these old folks need to exercise their creaking old muscles.. So working is a good way to exercise those muscles while waiting for the Grim Reaper to greet them.. PAP is really a kind and compassionate Govt..

Well done Wmulew, well done.. Now you can go to your RC and begin your favorite Karaoke sing along sessions with your fellow RC members.. Just dont Karaoke the wrong microphone..:D

Banglas has to work OT whenever there is an MP visit. Kenna ordered around by the RC dogs to sweep every corner after their working hours, Si bei cham

Cleaners getting pay rise is the number #1 breaking news now in ST website. WOW. Isn't there better things to report about the country or news from the rest of the world? Does a pay rise for simple cleaners deserve to be in any breaking news at all? Surely this is ST prostituting itself at its best. Cheers to Braddell Brothel.

In a country starved of real news, even when a minister plants a tree during his walkabout can also be breaking news.;)

How come ministers how many months bonuses not news?
Exact take home pay?

I suspect the only reason why you are saying this is because residents in PAP TCs have to pay more in conservancy charges than WP TCs. A historic event indeed, a $200 payrise after more than a decade of stagnating wages. PAP is the bestest!

No. The real news is that conservancy fees are going up. Always read the fine print. So they put up a wonderful circus WITH MORE OF YOUR MONEY then claim credit for it