Dear minister, no reply from you, so I know what to do...

in the world of politics around the globe, S'pore is no exception, so I dunno what the SCM is trying to do.

For years, we never had a choice, or a lever. Now that we have, the PAP stooges are not happy.

What's wrong anyway with this approach? If they are incompetent, and their boss doesnt sack them, we will. That's all the resident was trying to say. A perfect and very legitimate voter's gambit.

Residents and voters are becoming increasingly demanding in their interactions with MPs. One of them recently held out a veiled threat about the next General Election when he did not get a personal reply. What does this say about social media and politics in Singapore? ...
nutting wrong wat! ...

doze burgers loong time ago oredi threatened peasants wif no pigeon hole upgrading if u dun choose dem ...

gif dem a gud dose of their own medcine, man! ... :oIo:

this person is just being honest with minister, why minister take him so seriously.

I agree with the above posters.

In a real democracy, the electorate votes the sitting government out of office if the latter is incompetent and unable to deliver results. Just look at what happens in present-day Greece, the birth place of democracy.

Meet the people sessions go online... MPs may demand for a higher allowance!!!

I thought that is only normal, we must get more for our money.

If they dare to be the highest paid in the world, they better make sure their productivity is the highest too.

If Obama only sleeps 6 hours a day, LHL should sleep only 3 hours because he is paid higher.

Meet the people sessions go online... MPs may demand for a higher allowance!!!

784ipad_art_wide_obama_wh.jpg

I thought that is only normal, we must get more for our money.

If they dare to be the highest paid in the world, they better make sure their productivity is the highest too.

If Obama only sleeps 6 hours a day, LHL should sleep only 3 hours because he is paid higher.

TCJ is very arrogant. He cant run this country like his battalion

For every Sinkie that knows what to do, there will be 2 new citizens who know what to do.

The PAP therefore has nothing to fear.

there's seriously something very wrong about this leeported statement:

Associate Professor Eugene Tan of the Singapore Management University said that Singaporeans have always been demanding of their politicians.

if sgporeans were demanding, half of those overpaid minitoots would be out of jobs by now and this island wouldn't have been run by paps anymore.

the correction should be: singaporeans are so obliging and love being screwed in different styles by the paps. in fact, they can't live a day without their loving screwings.

there's seriously something very wrong about this leeported statement:

Associate Professor Eugene Tan of the Singapore Management University said that Singaporeans have always been demanding of their politicians.

if sgporeans were demanding, half of those overpaid minitoots would be out of jobs by now and this island wouldn't have been run by paps anymore.

the correction should be: singaporeans are so obliging and love being screwed in different styles by the paps. in fact, they can't live a day without their loving screwings.

Wahlau!!!!!! can complain demanding singapooren, why no complain highest paid in the world or maybe the universe.

Residents and voters are becoming increasingly demanding in their interactions with MPs. One of them recently held out a veiled threat about the next General Election when he did not get a personal reply. What does this say about social media and politics in Singapore?
http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/dear-minister-no-reply-you-so-i-know-what-do

03May2006: PM Lee said :"Right now we have Low Thia Khiang, Chiam See Tong, Steve Chia. We can deal with them. Suppose you had 10, 15, 20 opposition members in Parliament. Instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I'm going to spend all my time thinking what's the right way to fix them, to buy my supporters votes, how can I solve this week's problem and forget about next year's challenges?"

Trying to convince Singaporeans NOT to vote in any significant number of opposition (incl. the almost toothless NCMP Steve Chia), PM Lee threatened to introduce corruption into the entire Singapore political system. So in the light of such below belt tactics by politicians (holding Singaporean voters hostage during elections), is the any thing wrong with citizens being frank with politicians and speaking the mind that Singapore our politicians propensity to moneytise their political appointments could also be held hostage by the electorate?

Is there anything wrong with demanding a first class political leadership that PM Lee HL himself promised?

Unless the politicians can behave in himself, politicians CANNOT complain about the disgraceful (money faced) behaviour of their constituents.

ST23Mar2007-+Why+pay+must+go+up.JPG

MjAxMy1lZTMxYTJkZTNmNzgyZDQy.png

If the leaders are demanding on the ppl eg work harder take lower pay face competition, the ppl shld logically have the same of their leaders

These walking bags of excrement cannot handle pressure despite being the highest paid politicians.

Especially the former SAF scholars, they all think they have it made ...... they think the real world operates like it is in the army where commands are followed without question otherwise subjects are court-marshalled.

They are all better off dwelling below the waterline of toilet bowls, lurking amongst crap, scum and toilet wipes while rest of the peasants learn the truth of the incompetency of the elite ruling class.

this person is just being honest with minister, why minister take him so seriously.

Cos if the man had been honest with the MiniStar, he'll get a reply. A reply that he will be sued! LoL

Residents and voters are becoming increasingly demanding in their interactions with MPs. One of them recently held out a veiled threat about the next General Election when he did not get a personal reply. What does this say about social media and politics in Singapore?
http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/dear-minister-no-reply-you-so-i-know-what-do
One reason why there is so much friction between the leadership and the electorate is the GRC system of elections that the PAP instituted to leverage upon the hegemonic and dynastic propensity of the GRC system of elections..

Ask oneself, why did the PAP choose the convoluted GRC system of elections over the more elegant and less boundary and choice restrictive NCMP system of elections to achieve (the same or better) minimum ratio of minority race representation in parliament?

Simply put, the GRC system of elections (along with its notorious flaw of susceptibility to gerrymandering) allows the PAP govt to AVOID the need for by elections since under current laws, by-elections need to be conducted only if there are NO more MPs left in a GRC constituency!- I.e. PAP made it law that just ONE MP per GRC would be adequate. (Parliament election act Chap 218, sect24- 2A).

So given the current oppressive political atmosphere due to the ruling party's stranglehold on political hegemony through the over-kill GRC system of elections, can the electorate be blamed about their over enthusiasm for the coming of general elections since the prospect of any by-elections have effectively been made legislatively extinct in all GRC constituencies (save the unlikely case of the demise/resignition of ALL 5 or 6 MPs?