• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why doesn't govt tell us about their generosity to Ah Tiong (maybe Ah Nehs too?)

High costs make owning home an impossibility

Twenty-eight-year-old Zhu Yi'an has been single for a long time but has no plans to tie the knot anytime soon - at least until he can afford the down payment on an apartment in Shanghai.

He's not aiming at an extravagant, 1,000 square meter villa. On the contrary, his target is simply a secondhand apartment on the "outer ring" of Shanghai, an area where longtime residents like his parents would not have thought of living.

But the city's sky-high housing prices may be forcing Zhu to postpone his life plans and distance him from friends and relatives.
And even that secondhand apartment on the outskirts of Shanghai could cost him as much as 3 million yuan ($492,000).
That puts the down payment at about 1 million yuan - an astronomical amount that would exhaust 20 years of savings, based on Zhu's current income.

A truism often heard is that the high cost of housing in China is driven by demanding potential mothers-in-law who require an apartment as a precondition to marrying off their daughters. For Zhu, this is a reality he has to face.

"One has to have a substantial house before one starts a family. People of my age are no longer teenagers in school," he said.
"I have to provide basic living conditions for my wife. For the time being, I am not financially qualified to give such a promise."

There are other options for Zhu. Going to a more remote part of Shanghai is one choice. That would not only force him to make a two-hour trip to the downtown area: he would still have to ask his parents for financial help. That would clean out their bank account, which is the last thing Zhu wants to see.

"My parents need that money to provide for their retirement," he said.
Zhu also could follow the example of several friends by asking his folks to move to the outer part of the city while he and his wife move to his parents' apartment. But Zhu doesn't like this solution, either. It would cause too much trouble for his parents.
"My mom still goes to the university for the elderly these days. She would spend almost four hours every day going to and fro if she lived on the outskirts of the city," he said.

Therefore, call it independence or filial piety, but Zhu refuses to ask his parents for help.

It is a trend that began when he pursued his university degree in Singapore, where he received a full scholarship that covered all his expenses.
Now running his own small company specializing in graphic art, website and brand image design, Zhu hopes to be able to afford that down payment soon.

It's an opportunity he missed out on in Singapore in 2004, when housing prices were relatively low, which he now regrets.
"I was not sure whether to stay in Singapore or to come back at that time," Zhu said.

"But the pressure gets worse every year. And life cannot be planned. My only wish now is not to get married in haste. Otherwise, I will have to pay a mortgage for about 30 years, by which time I will start to worry about the down payment on my son's new apartment," he said.

[email protected]
(China Daily USA10/23/2013 page13)

So how did Sinkapore benefit from this Ah Tiong? We paid for his education and expenses.

The government ought to tell Sinkees how much of our tax dollars are spent on such generous scholarships to foreigners.

Geminipegasus

So how did Sinkapore benefit from this Ah Tiong? We paid for his education and expenses.

The government ought to tell Sinkees how much of our tax dollars are spent on such generous scholarships to foreigners.

Yes, and I heard there are Singaporeans with straight As who cannot get into the law faculty. They can only get the university scholarship programme which does not come with free tuition fees and to add insult to injury have to stay in hostel and pay full fees including paying for meals there whether they eat or not while foreigners get it all free and even rent out their free hostel room to make money!!!

These foreigners who take scholarship, whether male or female, must serve at least two years, doing SERVICE for the nation, as in NATIONAL SERVICE, after they graduate. A withholding tax of a certain percentage of their salary, must be held when they work out their contract & if they leave, this money will be forfeited.
We have to face, ever spiraling cost of living, plus paying for expensive public servants & government, plus all sorts of indirect taxes, not to mention serve National slavery & reservist....while scholarships are given to these people, who have no intention to settle down here & contribute to the country.:mad:

Ash007

As SAm will say:

"THese people will settle down here and start producing babies adding to the gene pool of the population. Singaporean? KpKb this and that. "

Investing in talented individuals is like venture capital.

You may invest in 100 and lose money on 99 but all it takes is for 1 to make it big time and it's all worthwhile.

Poomer

You may invest in 100 and lose money on 99 but all it takes is for 1 to make it big time and it's all worthwhile.

Apparently 2 million talented individuals later, we are still waiting for that 1. Furthermore, even if they can make it in Singapore, they will return back to their country to grow their business, it's cheaper there.

There are already hundreds of thousands of foreigners who now call Singapore home and who have made a huge difference to the economic well being of the country.

Without the presence of these talented individuals, Singapore would have reverted to being nothing more than a fishing village again.

Boliao

"But the pressure gets worse every year. And life cannot be planned. My only wish now is not to get married in haste. Otherwise, I will have to pay a mortgage for about 30 years, by which time I will start to worry about the down payment on my son's new apartment," he said.

What is he talking about??!! 30 years mortgage is very affordable what? Everyone in Singapore does that and our 超级白 says it is normal.

meepokboy

Jealous much ?

this isn't jealousy. this shows how under privileged we are even in our own home country. while investing in foreign talents is good, an over abundance will cause a dilution in our home talents and a deterioration in such a policy

Foreigners of Singaporeans what's the difference? We live in a borderless world today and people are free to move wherever they want.

Nothing is stopping sinkies of taking advantage of generous grants offered abroad. When I first arrived in Australia, I applied and was approved for a state grant of AUD30,000. All I had to do was to invest in an OZ business.

I spent the grant and then withdrew my investment and moved to NZ.

Asterix

Nothing is stopping sinkies of taking advantage of generous grants offered abroad. When I first arrived in Australia, I applied and was approved for a state grant of AUD30,000. All I had to do was to invest in an OZ business.

I spent the grant and then withdrew my investment and moved to NZ.

Australia is a land of plenty
Lots of natural resources
Country is size of a continent
Too few people to exploit
What nature had given it
Sensible to import and perhaps
Err on the side of generosity
Peesai with no natural resources
But plenty of grossly overpaid Ministars
Should not blindly follow others

[video=youtube;As6s4Vt_3uw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=As6s4Vt_3uw[/video]

There are already hundreds of thousands of foreigners who now call Singapore home and who have made a huge difference to the economic well being of the country.

Without the presence of these talented individuals, Singapore would have reverted to being nothing more than a fishing village again.

We have hard working SINgapore citizens...people like me, who built this country..what the f@#@# are you talking about? We sang Negara ku before we sang Majullah SINgpura...saw the British Withdraw, east of Suez in 1976..worked through the years? of how many major economic events? 76, 84, 91, 97, 07 etc..

PLEASE DO NOT INSULT THE HARD WORKING PEOPLE OF sinGAPORE, we understand the need for foreigners...but not on a scale to break our rice owls...

amazedbyyou

The amount the Govt spent over the decades is too enormous for us to swallow.
They will lose more votes by revealing it N you may get a heart attack to jam
all the Emergency Units........so much so as they claimed to be a transparent Governor,

PLEASE DO NOT INSULT THE HARD WORKING PEOPLE OF sinGAPORE, we understand the need for foreigners...but not on a scale to break our rice owls...
The early generations were hardy. Unfortunately, your grandchildren's generation are a big disappointment. There is therefore no other option but to import talent.

When a business man makes an investment he will take precautions like having a contract to ensure compliance, getting insurance, .. etc
The fact that many are running away with impunity after getting a FREE education shows that the PAP is gambling with public funds.

cunnosieur

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/oeEls7uod7A?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

UK has woke up...saving them $200 mil per annum.

Why should the British taxpayers give their money to so called "poor country" like India who have a space race, nuclear weapons, and worlds most expensive ID card system being rolled out?

PrinceCharming

The fact that many are running away with impunity after getting a FREE education shows that the PAP is gambling with public funds.

Not gambling but what Pinky's LEEgime thinks it is doing is projecting Sinkieland's soft power and peddling influence.

Using public funds to project soft power seems ok. But LEEgime goes one step further by cultivating personal guanxi. That is misuse of public funds.

The early generations were hardy. Unfortunately, your grandchildren's generation are a big disappointment. There is therefore no other option but to import talent.

We are talking about the current generation, we started importing 'foreign talents' in the 80's, when we generously help our neighbor Malaysia by providing the minority race of that country, opportunity to make a living & prosper. That is where the employment 'playing field' was uneven. Malaysians were cheaper, better & faster...the employers chanted!!

You have a point on the future generation being soft...who do we blame?, the 'chicken' or the 'egg'...if our educational system are producing people that are SOFT & our family planning policies restrict the number of children being born,THE PROBLEM WE FACE TODAY & THE FUTURE... it is something really very wrong. Who started these problems?, the people in government.

We are still working hard....but at least in the past, we fight for rice bowl, squarely...now..it is smashed on the spot....the future generation have no desire to fight, hand tooth & nail for their livelihood...you are right & that is sad...

Who do we blame...the GOVERNMENT!!