• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

how come sinkie bosses stingy & like to exploit workers?

uglyloser

angmo bosses usually much more generous. is it in the genes? Google costco and other mncs like GE. they are big on staff welfare. Sinkie bosses even when the biz become large still very stingy. why?

WongMengMeng

Understanding basic employment helps a lot in seeing through Lightning bullshit.

Okay, let me explain these in simple layman terms:

1. The staff was dismissed and she challenged it as being "unfair dismissal" according to Sinkie employment laws.

2. Legitimate grounds for dismissal obviously depends on the nature of the job.

Example 1: Bargain Hen is a 60 plus surgeon. His hands, while steady enough to write and type normally, do not make the grade anymore for surgery where a tiny error of a few millimetres can lead to instant death for a patient. The hospital at which Bargain Hen works decides to fire him. Is this unfair dismissal? No. The reason for the dismissal is related to his work as a surgeon.

Example 2: Kaypoh Auntie is 40 plus typist. Her hands have become unsteady lately, however she can write and type normally, it does not affect her work as a typist. Her employer fires her for having unsteady hands. Is this unfair dismissal? Yes. The reason for dismissal is not related to her work and does not affect it.

3. What is the nature of the church employee's work? Marriage counseling. Is her adultery related to her work?

The staff was the “designated representative” to meet couples seeking to wed — and to explain what was required of them — and thus her employment “bears sufficient or close proximity” with its mission, the church added.

Yes, very related, because she is expected to guide members of the congregation who are getting married on proper conduct. How is she going to do that when the whole damn church knows that she herself has breached those rules of proper conduct flagrantly?

4. The Manpower Ministar should be shot for the crime of not understanding the laws that he is supposed to be enforcing.

In his affidavit, Mr Khong also hit out at how the MOM conducted the inquiry into the dismissal. In particular, he said the MOM’s Assistant Commissioner for Labour had, during a meeting on Oct 8 last year, made an “unwarranted” reference to his daughter — she had a child out of wedlock — which was “tantamount to a personal attack”.
Arguing that his daughter Priscilla’s conduct was irrelevant to the case because she was never an FCBC employee and that she had confessed and sought forgiveness before her pastors, Mr Khong said: “I am surprised that (the Assistant Commissioner for Labour), as a representative of MOM, would make such comments without a full understanding of the facts.”

5. This Assistant Commissioner for Labour should be fired. Only employment matters are within the Manpower Ministry's purview. The pastor's daughter is not an employee and it is none of that overpaid Ministry's business. Controlling the influx of foreign "talents" by ensuring that those admitted indeed have qualifications which are needed by the Sinkie economy on the other hand falls squarely within this Ministry's purview and everybody knows that it has failed MISERABLY.

He also took issue with the ministry for only recording statements from the church’s junior staff, and not any of its leaders. The Assistant Commissioner for Labour’s conduct and the MOM’s failure to take the church leaders’ statements meant that the inquiry and Mr Tan’s subsequent decision were “tainted with bias”, Mr Khong claimed.

6. This is typical Lightning way of doing things. Junior staff are easily intimidated. It taints the proceedings and subject them to successful challenge in Court for being unfair. Imagine a divorce case in which the mediator only listens to the wife, but not the husband. Sama sama.

Quoted passages are from this article on Today:

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/church-seeking-guidance-what-constitutes-religious-affairs

WongMengMeng

From other thread for better understanding of employment law:

(continued from post #23)

4. An employee can be terminated basically in two ways – with or without cause.

5. What’s the difference? “With cause” means you have done something wrong and since you being fired with good reasons, there is no need to pay compensation to the employee. Let’s say Itchy Fingers is trader in a stock broking firm and one day had the “fat finger” syndrome and caused the firm millions of dollars in losses by buying 1 million shares of Big Bad Corporation instead of selling as he was supposed to do. He can be terminated “with cause”. In fact Itchy Fingers should consider himself lucky if he is not being asked to compensate the broking firm in addition to being sacked without payment.

6. “Without cause” means they don’t have grounds to fire you, but maybe your personality doesn’t fit in with the new boss’ or whatever. Notice or payment in lieu of notice is the norm.

7. Common sense tells one that if you are being employed by a church in marriage counseling, you jolly well behave yourself in your own personal life or risk being fired “with cause” i.e. no compensation, no or very short notice and no payment in lieu thereof. How the hell are you going to do your JOB as a marriage counselor in a church when the whole damn church is talking about your adulterous life? In fact if the church had allowed her to carry on its reputation with its own congregation and the public would suffer!

8. Ministar of Slave Matters obviously doesn't understand point 7. Therefore he ought to be shot. His salary is not cheap remember!

angmo bosses usually much more generous. is it in the genes? Google costco and other mncs like GE. they are big on staff welfare. Sinkie bosses even when the biz become large still very stingy. why?

they are sinkies..

WongMengMeng

they are sinkies..

It is far worst for the Ministar of Slave Power to not know his job. See posts #3 and 4 for details.

Daft Sinkie voters are the most generous employers. Hire such a JiakLiaoBee Ministar of Slave Power.

PAP has been responsible for suppressing Sporean wages as far back as I can remember. I can understand the rational for keeping wages competitive but when the PAP wages started getting out of hand, alarm bells should have gone up.

u wanna tok about sinkie bosses' attitude n behaviour, u nid rook no further dan ah loonz wif peasants ...

praise ownself as hi crass n treat peasants as low crass, suppress their salary, bully dem, make dem work as slaves ...

It's all about greed. It's a disease. No greedy person will die happy. When one have little, one wants more, when one have more, will want to have even more.

But I can tell you, will not be happy. Co's Donno where and when to stop. Machiam ..........

... When one have little, one wants more, when one have more, will want to have even more ...
not stopping @ dat ...

wat u haf, me muz haf mor dan u ... wat me haf, u cannot haf ... wat me haf n u dun haf, me make sure u dun haf it ... wat me haf n u dun haf, me destroy it oso dun let u haf it ...

rushifa666

because workers who do not know their rights deserve to be exploited. the dumbos did not help the situation here. most are so in debt they cannot afford to lose their jobs. so corporate aristocracies reigned. what's new?

In Singapore, workers have little or no rights. The balance of power tilts heavily to employers and businesses. Those so-called 'unions' have either been co-opted or are heavily neutered.

rushifa666

the problem is even with wrongful dismissals the peasants dont even regconise one, let alone take action. then you get halfwits defending that church for a wrongful dismissal. i really dont know what education if for

u oso got daft kip voting in n idiot gahmen ...

WongMengMeng

By the incrediby flawed logic of this Rushifa Idiot, drug addicts who are still abusing drugs are the best counselors for an anti-drug campaign and gang members who are still active and rioting regularly are the best counselors for an anti-gang campaign.

What fuck logic is incrediby STEWPIG RushedTooFar talking. Probably talking through his ass while high on marijuana.

The layman understands that a marriage counselor in a church is not a marriage counselor in her personal capacity. Everything she says and do in her JOB, she is doing so as a representative of the church. Just as everything RushedTooFar says and do on Sammyboy, he does so as paid representative of the Lightning at the miserly rate of $2 per post.

Worst, she is not analogous to a former drug addict or former gang member. RushedTooFar read too fast but didn't understand a single word and air rushed through one ear and went out the other, proving that his brain is indeed EMPTY. She had been counseled herself by the church leaders that if she wants to keep her job, she must refrain from activities which are inconsistent with her role as a church marriage counselor. She refused. She is not analogous to a "former" drug addict. She is analogous to a drug addict who is still abusing heroin everyday and RushedTooFar and ThinkTooLittle wants her to be counselor in an anti-drug campaign? Bwahahahahahaha. What a fucking idiot and Useless PAP IB. Thinks Sinkies are as daft as him.

Ooi, useless JiakLiaoBee PAP IB, Repent Before It's Too Late!

Otherwise, remember to wipe your useless mouth clean before you :kma::kma::kma:

by the incredibly flawed logic in the above arguments, if you are a counsellor you cannot divorce? what rubbish is that? former gang members are the best counsellors. so are former addicts. because they know best from experience. the state employs many marriage counsellors too. do they all have to obey this stupid rule? are you a lawyer? since you claim to be better than the layman

Because sinkie has no welfare benefit and if the boss fails, he has no safety umbrella and will end up like a pariah dog.

rushifa666

and so you are not layman? you must be a judge then. the minister nicely asked him to pay up(it is not a request for the slow witted). they could have just summoned him to court. and he still continue this rubbish. you must be paid by him then for your robust defence. my lawyer friend already said him and his colleagues think pastor hypo is slapping the govt in the face. whatever comes next he will deserve it.