NTUC First Campus CEO: With 10,000 students, "mishandling, abuse inevitable"!

Mr Chan said it is “inevitable” that NTUC, which takes care of 10,000 children, receives allegations of mishandling and abuse “from time to time”, but declined to give figures. Sometimes these complaints are found to be true and other times “unfounded”, he added.

An NTUC First Campus spokesperson said that potential teachers, during their course of obtaining the necessary qualifications, would have been taught about classroom management which covers “appropriate handling of children”. Teachers are also taught different approaches to manage children appropriately.

Mr Chan Chun Sing said that while there are frameworks in place for the conduct of any activities and lessons and how teachers are inducted and trained, improvements could be made to give parents a sense of assurance.

Asked whether there is a need to make CCTVs compulsory at all childcare centres, he said: “Going forward, there are various considerations in the implementation of such technology across the sector. But more important than technology is the quality of teaching, the kind of values that we impart to the teachers ... so technology is an enabler, but technology should not be seen as the solution.”

- http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/part-time-childcare-teacher-arrested-over-alleged-child-abuse

Source: http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/part-time-childcare-teacher-arrested-over-alleged-child-abuse

The parents of the boy — who cannot be named to protect his identity — said they were shocked when they saw the video. The father, 32, said he had not suspected abuse at first and assumed the injury could have been due to “negligence”.

He said he visited the school on Saturday and asked to see CCTV footage of what happened, but the request was turned down as the centre said it wanted to view it first. The school relented after the police intervened.

When asked why the parents were not allowed to view the footage at first, NTUC’s Mr Chan said: “Every allegation is taken very seriously because there is both the welfare and well-being of the child and also the reputation of the teacher. So, we would like to be able to review the CCTV usually within a reasonable amount of time.”

How can we trust that the CCTV footage would not go through some form of "creative" editing after their reasonable amount of time review?

Many who work know what it feels like to be abused at work. If you are ignorant just look at the recent video of the abused intern:eek:
We also have cases of senior citizens being abused in our old folks home. Now we are finding out that even our children are being abuse.

Is it any wonder why so many people in Spore are so unhappy:confused: Instead of doing something about it the authorities try to psycho people with silly happy videos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oEjvhUp_-AE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcm03SXBREA

This sort of statement same as Ho Chink.

She will say ,we make many investmens of hundred of millions and even billions so we when we lose billions,

It's inevitable. LOL

We have thousands of buses running on the roads & thousands of Km of rail lines, breakdowns, accidents is inevitable? You getting your CPF say at 85 in years to come, is inevitable? MSK, ponding, haze...what else if inevitable...giving excuses & pushing the blame to others is also inevitable.

You get what you wish for - 60% your child gets abused & suffer a lifelong fear is inevitable...ok accidents do happen..but if you boast to have the best, paid the best & performance at the best & you cut corners..this is not inevitable! :mad:

Making excuse is one their trademarks...:p

Typical 'cover backside' response from Kee Chiu. I bet he learnt that from his days in the army.

If this guy becomes the next Singapore PM, we are fucked.

This sort of statement same as Ho Chink.

She will say ,we make many investmens of hundred of millions and even billions so we when we lose billions,

It's inevitable. LOL

They are correct
Everything inevitable when those self serving greed pieces of shit PAP are elected into power and use the power to enrich themselves and screwing the sinkies

SO SINKIES TO REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO MAKE IT MORE CONVENIENT FOR THE PAP TO SCREW AND FUCK THEM

Typical 'cover backside' response from Kee Chiu. I bet he learnt that from his days in the army.

We are paying for his salary...even we do not vote for him...this is inevitable...if they are genuine in their actions, sack not only the part time teacher, but the manger & the immediate supervisor of that teacher...

School has admitted the other teachers did not see. It demonstrates negligence. It means that children could climb to the high heights and jump down and teachers cannot see. In that case, why have teachers in the school? I am sure some management people are thinking this way to increase their bonuses. Children are not the assets of our country but digits. It is time to turn Leegime into a digit on the heart rate monitor - 0.

We're fucked, there are so many of em in pl now.

School has admitted the other teachers did not see. It demonstrates negligence. It means that children could climb to the high heights and jump down and teachers cannot see. In that case, why have teachers in the school? I am sure some management people are thinking this way to increase their bonuses. Children are not the assets of our country but digits. It is time to turn Leegime into a digit on the heart rate monitor - 0.

The only full time employee are the management staff, who can never see, for they sit in the comfort of the office 'working' on FB, Twiter etc..they are busy preparing meetings, schedules & form committees , welcome parties for the ministers, higher ups etc.

The teachers are mostly part timers or contract staff, the only thing they see, is their salary at the end of the month, they do what they are told to do, & nothing else...being observant is not their job...what they are paid to look after is , say their 50 kids that is all they do..1 kid extra..they can not see, another teachers group kids, even they climb up to the ceiling, it is not their job to see.

Many who work know what it feels like to be abused at work. If you are ignorant just look at the recent video of the abused intern:eek:
We also have cases of senior citizens being abused in our old folks home. Now we are finding out that even our children are being abuse.

Is it any wonder why so many people in Spore are so unhappy:confused: Instead of doing something about it the authorities try to psycho people with silly happy videos

That intern was not a kid. He is a 28yo man. He could not even stand up for himself. He could not even muster the guts to fend off the blows. He and his abuser deserve each other.

Mr Chan said it is “inevitable” that NTUC, which takes care of 10,000 children, receives allegations of mishandling and abuse “from time to time”, but declined to give figures. Sometimes these complaints are found to be true and other times “unfounded”, he added.

"Inevitable" means we have to learn to accept it like the yearly haze ?

Kee Chiu, 路公西米懒叫伟?

Only an opposition run children's school can work. Leegime is the devil. Do not send them to the devil. Even Malaysia is boleh

The opposition run one will have to work, the fact is you will be paying for the best in them, for they will have spurs in their hides, for they will have everything stacked against them, rentals, place to run the school, getting teachers & so forth. You will getting the best, may not be the cheapest, the best & efficiently run for eyes will will watching them.

This is why we call paying for the best...& getting the best out of everyone from the organization to the teachers to the kids..but we choose to have overhyped, overpaid, incompetent people to run these schools & over charging you, in the name of affordablity.

I forgot..members gets discounts..are you a member?? is this what you want? or you would have a rough 'uncut diamond, that gives you the best with a peace of mind??

When something is plain unacceptable, they tell us it's inevitable. :confused:

This goes to show that the rumors of pinky slapping dhanabalan probably has some truth behind it.

We're already fucked as it is.

If Kee Chiu does be come PM, then in the words of Zorro Lim Sia Sway - we become fucker, fuckerer, fuckerest? :D

We are paying for his salary...even we do not vote for him...this is inevitable...if they are genuine in their actions, sack not only the part time teacher, but the manger & the immediate supervisor of that teacher...

Not going to happen. We still have this mickey mouse amongst the 80 超级白 even after his momentous fuck up of all time.

wong-kan-seng_SPH.jpg

As long as rim the right hole, rice bowl is safe as long as the 超级白 are in power.

can the parents sue the teacher for abusing their child?

If it were to happen to me, i will sue his ass off.