• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

lunchtime 45min, enough?

poor thing! how kan cheong my pal was queueing for his lunch and then hurriedly gorging away like hungry ghost from 7th month..

there was hardly time for a casual conversation as he mumbled gibberishly through his mouthful of food. one thing i heard clearly was he said that he had only 45 mins for lunch and had to be back to his desk in DBSbank.

how could DBSbank be a service orientated bank when they treat their staff in such stingy manner?

45 mins is long enough for a quickie sex session and a drink. Pity that your frd is stupid enough not to go for places with the shortest queue.

If you buddy were serious about his work, all he needs is 15 minutes for lunch. And if he packed a sandwich and ate at his desk, it'd be even less.

the queueing for food already taken up about 15mins. he had to walk to the nearest foodcourt which took about 10mins. after makan, gotta walk back. then the time needed to chope a seat.

that's really a torturing lunch which he has to face everyday. won't be surprised that he's getting high blood pressure which he admitted.

Not enough, unless there is a nearby cafeteria and employees are more or less expected to go there for their lunch.

By the way, one of the signs of a poor working environment is that the employer (mostly the petty towkays of small local companies) is extremely stingy with lunch time allowance for employees, with zero room for flexibility.

Such employers treat their employees as commodities: do not expect them to invest a dime to upgrade employees' skills. Conversely, do not expect the employees to stay loyal to the job.

The standard lunch break in NZ is 30 minutes.

u don't say! do they deliver the lunch right to your desk?

No most Kiwis make their lunch at home and take it to work. They aren't as well off as Singaporeans and are more frugal in their habits.

You must remember that most countries aren't as well run or as wealthy as Singapore as they don't have the benefit of being managed by a capable government like the PAP.

I cannot comment for workers outside of the CBD but from my observation, many (female) office workers around Shenton and Raffles like to take a very generous 1hr+ lunch break. On Fridays, it's even longer.

I guess it's in the nature of many sinkies to get out of an air-con environment for at least part of the day and eat at a hawker centre or food court which are ALWAYS packed between 12-2pm ( hence the 'choping' mentality). This will change a bit when Ramadan starts next week.

30 minutes is enough for me. (but my lunch break is 1 hour; can still go Boat Quay 7-11 and buy a beer to drink near the river.)

This is about 15 years ago when I work in SIMEX UOB plaza and eat at Golden Shoe Hawker Centre.

if im not wrong, 45min is the regulation implement by MOM.

If you buddy were serious about his work, all he needs is 15 minutes for lunch. And if he packed a sandwich and ate at his desk, it'd be even less.

In Australia, the lunch break is 30 mins. This is for the Angmo.

If those people have a mortgage, this is what they will have for lunch. 5 mins
canned-tuna.jpg

The slightly better off will have this, 10 mins
27846_128904307128464_3423402_a.jpg

If they want something hot and need to microwave, 15 mins (include time for a little chinwag)
image.axd

the queueing for food already taken up about 15mins. he had to walk to the nearest foodcourt which took about 10mins. after makan, gotta walk back. then the time needed to chope a seat.

that's really a torturing lunch which he has to face everyday. won't be surprised that he's getting high blood pressure which he admitted.

Why do you want? food delivered to office, employer maintain a canteen, provide subsidize food? or locate eating place next to office? 45 minute is more than enough...if you know the area around where you work...you should have worked out a lunch time, eat & run strategy...

I had my plan out for years I work...many time I worked through lunch time..& get people to pack for me lunch or I run down to the nearest, for me those days was either Delifrance for an Apple Turnover & Hans for Chocolate Eclairs or a shop selling food...the lady will pack the same food for $4.50...just take, dash back to office...& have my lunch there...45 mins is enough...even have time to take 40 winks in the conference room....or in the storeroom...ha ha ha

45 minutes...plan your time..

Remember this : if you bet opposite the PigFace retard every single time, you will be a very rich man. :D

Not enough for that retard PigFace who used his lunch time to post spam only to be beaten by me again. :D

No most Kiwis make their lunch at home and take it to work. They aren't as well off as Singaporeans and are more frugal in their habits.

You must remember that most countries aren't as well run or as wealthy as Singapore as they don't have the benefit of being managed by a capable government like the PAP.

Your 'sucking' sounds sometimes get to be quite unbearable...hmmm

Usually I skip lunch during my working life. Lunch time is 40mins of power nap. I have a 10 min morning and evening tea break where I take a sandwich/ kueh keuh and a cup of tea/ coffee to sustain me through the day :)

To be honest, Monday's is usually a day, in which , "everything that goes wrong, will go wrong day"...Friday is a run to the 'finish line' day, since Saturday is not a working day...& the rest of the week is a between Mon & Fri...I usually do not have time to eat lunch...so 40 minutes is a waste of productivity..

If you have time to go out and have a 40 mins lunch...your position in the company is of a little importance...for your absence will never be missed...

We shouLd foLLow the Spanish siesta-styLed 2hrs Lunch; Numero Uno ! ! ...:)

Some people of "guess what is the race" in the office, gets 2 hr lunch, for they have to go somewhere on FRIDAY...are they Spanish?