• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

diarrhea outbreak

Heard from a Pinoy nurse that there are many people having diarrhea for the past few weeks. The hospital is filled with many such cases.

Just in case anyone or their friends kena, can do this.

If you have a mild case of diarrhea, you can just let it run its course, or you can treat it with an over-the-counter medicine. Common brand names include Pepto-Bismol, Imodium A-D, and Kaopectate, which are available as liquids or tablets. Follow the instructions on the package.

In addition, you should drink at least six 8-ounce glasses of fluid per day. Choose fruit juice without pulp, broth, or soda (without caffeine). Chicken broth (without the fat), tea with honey, and sports drinks are also good choices. Instead of drinking liquids with your meals, drink liquids between meals. Drink small amounts of fluids frequently.

Good foods to eat when you have diarrhea

bananas

rice

cereal

apple sauce

apples

tea

toast and jelly

yogurt

noodles (easy on the seasoning)

boiled potatoes

hard candy

Foods to avoid when you have diarrhea

dairy early on

fried and greasy foods

sugary drinks like sodas

SPICY FOOD

cream soups

raw fruits and vegetables

caffiene

alcohol

also, avoid over-the-counter anti diarrhea medicines for the first 24 hours, as diarrhea is usually the body purging an infection-the bad stuff needs to get out.

ya..i can confirm this...i was at the docs today and the nurse also told me many patients there kena diarrhoea. One had to be sent to Tan Tock Seng and another had to go on drip.

..and my Cheena friend just named his daughter Diarea too..! :eek::D

there's not a single meat item in the "good foods to eat" list. ;)

yah, but the list says to avoid raw fruits and veggies which i wanted to injest to clear the system, apart from the po chai bullets and porridge with cabbage. Beats me as to why fruits can't be taken raw.....

Apples and bananas both on the good foods to eat list.
Fruits and vegetables not to be taken raw could refer to those which are not washed clean enough or those whose skin not peeled.

ya..i can confirm this...i was at the docs today and the nurse also told me many patients there kena diarrhoea. One had to be sent to Tan Tock Seng and another had to go on drip.

Just to share with bros my recent episode of diarrhoea about 2 months back just after Chinese New Year.

Took a CNY orange at the spur of the moment late at night and next morning it was toilet visiting time again and again and again..about four times. Though could tahan the pain but late evening, pain too much and went to a nearby clinic. Young, fat doctor heard my symptoms and straight away said "... you must go to the hospital immediately to be placed on the drip...I give you a referal letter for SGH...".

I think left and I think right...this is not the kind of treatment I had been through previously when I had diarrhoea...so I clarified again, "...must I go to the hospital for this diarrhoea?" Young, fat doctor said ..." yes, your condition very serious...must go to hospital to 'tiao chiu'...". Still not convinced I told young, fat doctor, ok, at least give me some medicine to ease my pain now. Took a while before young, fat doctor said ok, issued medicine and charged me over $40 for consultation, medicine and referral letter.

Over the next two days, I took the medicine issued and my condition improved and by 3rd day, pain no more. Indeed, 3rd day, could not pass motion and waited till 4th day and had hard time to pass.

So, moral of the story? I may have been lucky this time, but not every referral to the hospital may be justified. Just got a tingling feeling that young, fat doctor did not possess enough medical experience to provide proper treatment to patients... feels like he is just passing the buck to the hospital as well as covering his ass by referring my case to the hospital ... to tiao chui and observation and burn a hole in the pocket. WTF.

Just my sharing of some experience. Cheers!!:D

how many of you treat diarrhoea with "po chai yin" or charcoal pills? i usually do that unless my condition becomes worse.

Apples and bananas both on the good foods to eat list.
Fruits and vegetables not to be taken raw could refer to those which are not washed clean enough or those whose skin not peeled.

Yeah, could be if the chemicals and wax are not removed thoroughly.
This bout of the runs could also be due to the weather as the food thaws in dbl quick time and bacteria sets in before the maid starts cooking. Food for thought....

Had this myself the last few days. Maybe because i was just recovering. Sharing one really disgusting episode, apologies, please do not read on for those easily disgusted.

It happened when i was in the office and the gents was like 100 paces away one way. I had to go to the loo at least 20 times that day. Worst, at the end, i felt hungry and went to the canteen to eat.

Everything i ate came out after 5 minutes in exactly the same manner it went in and did not smell like the body even did 0.01% processing on it. Everything including the rice, in pristine condition. Coffee black came in and went out smelling like freshly brewed coffee(no kopi luwak jokes please).

The loo, instead of smelling bad actually smelled like a food court when i went out.

lol! classic! first in first out (fifo). zero processing. no lag, no fragmentation, no reassembly.

Everything i ate came out after 5 minutes in exactly the same manner it went in and did not smell like the body even did 0.01% processing on it. Everything including the rice, in pristine condition. Coffee black came in and went out smelling like freshly brewed coffee(no kopi luwak jokes please).

Yes, bro, I share the same experience as you the last time I had diarrhoea two months ago. I recovered after taking doctor's medicine for 2 days and luckily did not check in SGH to tiao chiu. Hope you recovered without going through the hospital tiao chui ....:D

Thanks prancku, didn't luckily. Along with TCM pills and herbs, 100plus is my good friend throughout.

Yes, confirmed no packet drop or loss as well. :P
Completely passed through. :D

might as well bring the full plate of food from canteen go direct and throw in toilet

don't be a middleman

might as well bring the full plate of food from canteen go direct and throw in toilet

don't be a middleman

When a person is undergoing a diarrhoea episode, eating food is one of the least important things on our minds. Yet, eat or drink we must. One eats or drinks to replendish the water lost or to try to stem the outflow with solid food and to add fibre to the stomach. It is disheartening to say the least, when one sees what we eat or what we drink (thick teh o , for example) goes in and comes out straight 5 minutes later, still hot...it is also scary...we just don't know what and why the fxxx is happening to our bodies...and this kind of experience is not a joke....