• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forum points revamp?

I wonder if the points system can be revamped to reflect the ability to stick to one nick and nothing else. I am aware elements of this exist but it should be confined to this. Here are 2 suggested models

Model A
After moderation - Nick picks up x points for each year of "service"
bonus points - threads started that do not end up in the trivial pile
Minus points for threads started that end up in trivial pile (double impact)
Bonus points for posting x number each month
Minus points for bad behaviour, intentionally and maliciously going off topic.
I am sure genuine donors understand this and do not expect anything in return except our gratitude for supporting a what was once a lone and pioneering voice of meaningful dissent and to continue to fulfill that role.

Model B
If it is hard to administer bonus points for threads and minimum threashold posts as in Model A, then restrict this to the minus points.

Mods given infraction powers to trigger minus points

As no member can award points to his clones and to his mates, the current hard-on for points woulld likely dissipate. There is also no incentive to create additional nicks but there is strong incentive to build the existing nick persona.

There would be members who are like to have a second or third nick for genuine fun and like hearted banter and may create these nicksfor such purposes.

Concern:

I am not sure if I am the only only one that senses this but we have had a perceptible drop in informative and light hearted current materials - what is happening in HDB land (not stomp rubbish), world affairs, the experiences from the man in the street, down memory lane, food, etc . They seem to have given way to baiting, personal feuds, serial infractions, hijacking, etc.

We have helped rescue the political folder in the past but the coffeeshop folder is now the playground of same few nicks who are either being chased or chasing some other nick.

Impact
- no incentive to have clones ( but you can't help some)
- incentive to retain and use one nick
- points accummulation and abuse is not top of mind
- easier to pick out the Brendans and the Wendys that wait for the next naive and gullible guy or girl and provide them with ready help and hospitality while the rest of us send cryptic hints and in some cases outright alerts.

Mods's Role

We should support all mods. There will always be a transitional period to learn the ropes. I have no issues with ideology, sexual inclination, and any other leanings as long as they can help with content and conduct.

The points may not reflect it but we silently enjoy posts from people like Chon and Joe (with pictures some more) however drunk, experiences shares by many while on their daily pursuit of life, travels, etc.

Newbie mods shouldn't be put in charge of a busy sub-forum. You know who I'm talking about.

Everyone resets to 10 points.

Those with years of membership, 1 point for each year.

Refund all Infp accounts and reset their accounts to 10 points, like the rest.

There should not be rep pt manipulation, whether paid or otherwise, to be fair to every user.

Start afresh the Rep System.

Simple as that!

MBSSLOTS

Everyone resets to 10 points.

Those with years of membership, 1 point for each year.

Refund all Infp accounts and reset their accounts to 10 points, like the rest.

There should not be rep pt manipulation, whether paid or otherwise, to be fair to every user.

Start afresh the Rep System.

Simple as that!

Cool...gimme all my monies back! Agree...:biggrin:

Return the campaign to its original intent....which is donation. If it's a donation, you can
decide to let host keep the donation, or request to have your money back. It's free choice.

The idea is a fresh start instead of piling another pile of shit on top of a rigged system.

MBSSLOTS

Return the campaign to its original intent....which is donation. If it's a donation, you can
decide to let host keep the donation, or request to have your money back. It's free choice.

The idea is a fresh start instead of piling another pile of shit on top of a rigged system.
Leongsam can keep the monies lah...cos return to me i probably gamble them away at Mbs...lol...:biggrin:

Wildfire

In my opinion, the present system is fine.

It's the reputation and infraction systems that are being abused.

Tweak the reputation system a little to recognize good and quality posts

Limit and restrict infraction to mods (like driving demerit system).

Else, if push comes to shove, limit Inf/INfP infraction capability to a fix score (ie. 5 points/infraction)
also limit the number of maximum infraction/day/Nic to one.

Leongsam can keep the monies lah...cos return to me i probably gamble them away at Mbs...lol...:biggrin:

It's really not much money collected over the whole duration. All dispensed off already, I'm sure. If it's a donation drive, keep it as such and stop giving freebies or other gimmicks that are self-serving and disrupt the entire eco-system. Now, there is a need for scripts to police this artificially padded rep pt system. Does not make much sense after the experiment.

MBSSLOTS

Tweak the reputation system a little and limit infraction to mods (like driving demerit system)!
Aiyah...we Men just love to abuse. Just let us have our fun lah..:biggrin:
This is no different to going KTV and have some fun mah...dun be so serious lah...just let infp members squeeze some tits and tickle tickle can liao mah...:biggrin:

Tweak the reputation system a little and limit infraction to mods (like driving demerit system)!

That means the present system is not fine. Ever heard of untying the Gordon Knot?

Raiders

Mods given infraction powers to trigger minus points

I am against the removal of the whole thread to the trivia section. But perhaps, I can try and moved the quarrel postings within a thread to the trivia. This is what I have always wanted to do. Let me try for one week and see if the forum become more orderly.

Added: And I certainly hope Sam gives the mod the power to temp ban. There are always people who needs the hard way to wake them up. Just give us the power and if we abused it, take it back and fire us. Simple as that.

Wildfire

Aiyah...we Men just love to abuse. Just let us have our fun lah..:biggrin:
This is no different to going KTV and have some fun mah...dun be so serious lah...just let infp members squeeze some tits and tickle tickle can liao mah...:biggrin:

Hi Bro,

I just make a little amendment above to allow InfP to have their orgasm! LoL ...

Debonerman

I am against the removal of the whole thread to the trivia section. But perhaps, I can try and moved the quarrel postings within a thread to the trivia. This is what I have always wanted to do. Let me try for one week and see if the forum become more orderly.

Added: And I certainly hope Sam gives the mod the power to temp ban. There are always people who needs the hard way to wake them up. Just give us the power and if we abused it, take it back and fire us. Simple as that.

And you needed a gulp of scroobal to have the courage to bring it out of your arse? I was expecting peppertail to be doing the smooching. Hell I was wrong.

Most people I observe use an avatar as a reflection of their online persona. I hope you had seriously considered yours..........

LOL!! If I've reflected my avatar online persona, with such a crabby rep system, seriously you think I would still be alive and kicking?
Seriously?...