• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gong kia sinkie's$ 784,000 turned into a big fat zero

Rich doesn't mean clever.
Clever doesn't mean rich.
Poor doesn't mean stupid.
However, stupid usually means poor.

wonderful post and absolutely true !

only the ignorant and stupid will equate wealth with intelligence.

$700K isn't really big money at all to be honest. Big bucks is subjective. There's always someone with 'bigger bucks' compared to yours.

$700,000 is alot of money for alot of people including me. :o

Most of these swindlers are Chinese-speaking
and come from around the region, the police
said.

Hmmm...must be ah neh speaking mandarin/cantonese.

Because he thought he won $22 million in horse racing.

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

If he had won $22 million, that Hong Kong prick would have run off with the money, cos he has the betting slips.

SINGAPORE - Last July, Singaporean Barry Lim (not his real name) got a phone call asking him to take part in a lucky draw for free.

The catch - the draw would be conducted in Hong Kong.

Not thinking too much about it, he agreed. About a week later, he received another phone call telling him that he had won the top prize of a car, worth HK$1 million ($160,000).

But since he was not a Hong Kong resident, he could not collect the vehicle.

Instead, the caller offered to help him reinvest the money into horse racing and Mr Lim agreed.

Then, the caller called him a week later and said Mr Lim had won HK$22 million.

Over the next month, Mr Lim sent $784,000 in more than 20 money transfers to an overseas bank account for what his caller claimed to be taxes and lawyers' fees.

When his money didn't appear after some time, Mr Lim went to the cops.

That was when he got a rude shock: He had been a victim of a common phone scam.

Not that difficult to carry out, I mean this type of scam, in Singapore. I have a neighbour who is now slowly being taken for all that he owns, via such an Overseas Lottery Scam. This neighbour, an old man, about 80 years old, is not what you'd think to be an idiot. He is a retired Professional, a medical doctor actually, with several Freehold Landed Properties.

Each month, he is persuaded by some "European Lottery" to remit S$50,000 to S$100,000 to some anonymous bank account in Europe.. At this rate, by the end of the year, I think he will be sleeping under a bridge. Or in a ditch.

Nigerian again ?

Does not seem to be Nigerian. Maybe European. But European got many different types. This one could be the Gypsy type European scammer.

The funny part of it is, this old guy victim is so mean and stingy, he will not even give 50 cents to the tissue auntie in the Food Court. But get some slick Ang Moh to approach him, and he willingly hands over all his money.

Just goes to show, for everybody, there is a magic keyword, spoken by a magic person. Once you get hit by the magic keyword spoken by the magic person, you are toast. Applies to everything: money, property, stocks, Lehman mini-bonds, lotteries. For example, I know one old guy who after getting scammed in Johor Bahru in the 1980's, he swore off Malaysian properties forever. Last week, he bought one in Iskandar, J.B. All his buddies say he "Tio Kong Tao" by the young, attractive Malaysian property agent. For him, she was the "magic person" who spoke the "magic words." :D

I Suspect the scammer is a Nigerian who invested his time and some money learning Mandarin.
His investment paid off.

Not that difficult to carry out, I mean this type of scam, in Singapore. I have a neighbour who is now slowly being taken for all that he owns, via such an Overseas Lottery Scam. This neighbour, an old man, about 80 years old, is not what you'd think to be an idiot. He is a retired Professional, a medical doctor actually, with several Freehold Landed Properties.

Each month, he is persuaded by some "European Lottery" to remit S$50,000 to S$100,000 to some anonymous bank account in Europe.. At this rate, by the end of the year, I think he will be sleeping under a bridge. Or in a ditch.

professional occupation doesn't mean clever mah, just that he's highly educated.

this doctor is another dumbass

$700,000 is alot of money for alot of people including me. :o

Dun mention 700k, even 78.4k is big money to me. In fact I won't even take 7.84k lightly. As for $784/- it can buy me and my family quite a few good meals...

Can you intro him to me? Fat water don't leave to others :p

I Suspect the scammer is a Nigerian who invested his time and some money learning Mandarin.
His investment paid off.

Nowadays a lot of scams are coming from PRC. I have received quite a lot. I'll usually let them say what they want and start moaning after that ;)

Dun mention 700k, even 78.4k is big money to me. In fact I won't even take 7.84k lightly. As for $784/- it can buy me and my family quite a few good meals...

yes, i ever threw 1500 bucks into internet HIGH YIELD INVESTMENT PRODUCTS (HYIP) ponzi scams before knowing it was a scam but i tried to win money lah, HEARD THERE ARE PEOPLE THROWING UP TO 100K INTO THESE SCAMS even knowing that they are scams !