• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If you think living expenses is expensive in Singapore try Sydney.

Overall to me, Australia is just for visiting but not for permanent residence unless you can get citizenship. I have to admit that most daily essentials (except cars) are more expensive than in Sinkie Land. I've been to Perth, Brisbane, Queensland, Sydney and Melbourne, but still don't find them suitable for me. Another dislike is the racial discrimination. I'd personally experienced this myself, even as a tourist.

How about Canada?

This is not something that we can be proud of. This means that our citizens have to work harder and enjoy less. The gov't has been managing our economy for pure growth and wealth creation. On paper Singaporean may seem rich but it's all on paper. If your HDB is worth S$500K, on paper you look rich but the guy across the border enjoys a much bigger and nicer house in Johore for much less. He is probably happier and you can't touch the S$500K. Your CPF may also have a few hundred K's but you also can't touch that money. The real wealth is confined a small percentage of rich business owners, high level biz executives, politician and super grade civil servants while the rest have to contend with eating at hawker centres or at home and go on budget tours on Jetstar, Tiger and Air Asia, etc.

6th most expensive also means that you have to work harder than lesser expensive countries and have to deal with a higher level of stress in work and home life with little time for rest, leisure and exercise. Your health will be severely affected, both mental and physical. If the people are allowed to own guns in Singapore, won't be surprised to hear some shooting incidents at school, office and shopping centres. So you are going to see more and more mental ppl doing crazy things on MRT and in public. So are we truly happy ?

So should economy be the only focus. Let's say everyone have a little less wealth, Singapore drop to No. 15 most expensive. Perhaps by then, Singaporeans may be a lot more happier. Somehow I feel that the average people in Thailand seems happier than the average Singaporean. Their laughs are more genuine and they laugh more. Wouldn't you like to see Singaporeans laugh more and laugh with all the hearts ?

You are very correct on your observation.

Sometime ago, a forumer here started a thread on how to tell how a Sinke is doing in REAL LIFE vs what the Pappy project them as.

Just look at the POSB atm withdrawal slip left behind by the many Sinkie and the truth is ALL there.

The Sinkie are practically living from month to montn just depending on their God damn monthly pay check to pull thru.

Swiss standards for the Sinkie Rulers and their cronies.

Slum living for the rest.:D

There are also many free bus services in the various councils as well.
There is 1 free bus service in both Sydney and Melbourne (more like a tram service in Melbourne). But the route is just within the city fringe and about 15 to 20 km in total.

How about Canada?

In Canada I've only been to Toronto, Montreal and Quebec, also as a tourist. Due to the short duration, it may not be accurate to assess these cities. However, Toronto is already too overwhelmed with the Hongkongers and the Hongkong developers are making tons of money there. Montreal has rich historical association with the French. In Montreal, learning the French language in public schools is compulsory. 1 of my cousin and his family are already there for more than 5 years, waiting for their citizenship approval.

1 big disadvantage in Canada is the extreme cold weather during winter. It practically puts you off leaving your house unless very necessary.

In Canada I've only been to Toronto, Montreal and Quebec, also as a tourist. Due to the short duration, it may not be accurate to assess these cities. However, Toronto is already too overwhelmed with the Hongkongers and the Hongkong developers are making tons of money there. Montreal has rich historical association with the French. In Montreal, learning the French language in public schools is compulsory. 1 of my cousin and his family are already there for more than 5 years, waiting for their citizenship approval.

1 big disadvantage in Canada is the extreme cold weather during winter. It practically puts you off leaving your house unless very necessary.

Thank you brother. I will go and read more about Canada. Will try to make a trip there as well.

In Canada I've only been to Toronto, Montreal and Quebec, also as a tourist.

Calgary is a nice place. But pretty cold in winter. Can't think of a not-so-cold city in Canada during winter. Regina, Saskatoon, Winnipeg are all extremely cold. I believe Winnipeg is the coldest city after Siberia. Perhaps bro Winnipegjets can update us.

The cold in Canada is a small price to pay for not living under PAPpy control. After awhile you get use to it. Also you stay fresher in cold weather than in muggy peesai.

You dont have to wash your clothes everyday, no need for high aircon bill, heating more cheaper. Also In Canada if you are renting, most rents cover electricity cost and water unlike in OZ. At least thats what I experienced.

Hot muggy weather makes me more lazy to go out than cold weather. Just take a look at peesai beaches and parks during weekdays. No one in their right mind gonna go picnic or lie on the grass during afternoons. In fact almost all parks are empty in peesai on weekdays. Having cold and warm weather in Canada makes one look forward in life. Peesai on the other hand is gloomy year round. Since you travel alot, Im sure you have seen peoples faces abroad that are unlike the miserable faces you see everywhere in peesai. Cold icy weather in Alberta you can see people look forward going skiing. In peeesai, sinkees dont have this option of having fun even if the weather is clear.

Singapore is ranked 6th, while in Sydney its 3rd behind Tokyo and Osaka. Bros in Singapore should stop KpKb about living expenses in Singapore. I can afford to drive a BMW and live in a landed property on a median wage while supporting a family at the same time. So Singapore can't be that bad.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/02/04/us-cities-costs-idUSBRE9130OP20130204

The median take-home wage in sinkapore is $2100. You can afford to do all that on that income? Please tell us your secret.

Calgary is a nice place. But pretty cold in winter. Can't think of a not-so-cold city in Canada during winter. Regina, Saskatoon, Winnipeg are all extremely cold. I believe Winnipeg is the coldest city after Siberia. Perhaps bro Winnipegjets can update us.

The cold is just a state of mind. After the first experience of cold, say -25c ...a day of negative single digit is warm enough for t-shirt and shorts! Winnipeg is a great city to live. If a balanced lifestyle is your goal, come to Winnipeg.

Good Vietnamese noodles http://www.yelp.ca/biz/pho-hoang-vietnamese-restaurant-winnipeg
Best cheese cake http://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowUserR...802-Baked_Expectations-Winnipeg_Manitoba.html
You can have outdoor dining in the winner at http://www.theforks.com/
There's even a beach nearby http://www.gov.mb.ca/conservation/parks/popular_parks/central/grand.html
Come see the polar bears http://everythingchurchill.com/polar-bears/
View aurora borealis here http://everythingchurchill.com/northern-lights/

Pack your bags and head to Manitoba where people are always friendly. It is not a dog-eat-dog place.

Adapt mah ...take up winter sports like skating, skiing, tobogganing, hockey ...for the more adventurous, try heli-skiing. After February, you start to look forward to Spring, then summer and enjoy fall (aka autumn) and hibernate in winter. A four-season climate provides variety and adventures.

what do you mean? You mean high taxes?

Are the Swiss running away to avoid the taxes? They would rather pay the tax and enjoy the Swiss standard of living that sinkees were promised but never fulfilled.

Good write up. Singaporeans failed to realise that they are actually living in a bubble that could burst anytime. I have never felt at peace in Singapore. Looking to run road.

sinkees think that they are well-off ...when they are not. Ask the managers turned cab drivers. Ask the managers turned security guards. They know the delusions.

Australia is expensive because of the commodity boom ...when that deflates, Australia will be cheap. It will take a while though. Australia has a major disadvantage - it doesn't have enough water. Desalination is too bloody expensive.

Problem w sydney is, its so inconvenient. The transport cost is so high n you have to travel so far to get anywhere. One bowl of noodle costs ten bucks or more n no shops at night, so sian.
Plus tax can be 50 percent.
I still prefer singapore any time. Will migrate to canberra ten years from now.

Given your mindset, you should live and die in sinkapore. You go to Canberra, you will be bored to death.

Sarcasm included in the original comment. Australia is ranked one of the "happiest" nations in another report. You can be the most expensive cities in the world but still be more livable then anywhere else as long as you have the buying power to back it.
The median take-home wage in sinkapore is $2100. You can afford to do all that on that income? Please tell us your secret.