• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Expect to pay more for fish maw

CarrotHead

Expect to pay more for fish maw

January 21, 2013 - 1:21am

By: Benita Aw Yeong

132792820_23929e68d8_z.jpg

Lovers of luxury seafood during this time of the year must be prepared to pay more for items like fish maw and abalone, said suppliers of Chinese delicacies here.

Prices for fish maw, favoured by the Chinese as a festive dish, are between 20 and 60 per cent higher compared to last year, wholesalers and suppliers told The New Paper.

While fish maw is becoming more costly, shark’s fin prices are expected to remain stable, with demand on the downturn.

This year is also one of the best periods to indulge in bird’s nest soup, said Mr Koh Ming Chee, a shareholder at Chip Chiang, which supplies Chinese delicacies.

The price of bird's nest has seen a dip due to a surplus in global stock of the delicacy.

Anyone coming to Bangkok come buy here in Chinatown its definitely cheaper than in sinkieland

One of my favourite soup. Always minum this soup when I am at the famous beef kway teow stall at Lor 9 Geylang.

The assholes with power 42-43 has got infractions from me. You know what u have done. Cheers :D

2Z4rXsB.jpg

Anyone coming to Bangkok come buy here in Chinatown its definitely cheaper than in sinkieland

i agree. i always go and buy from one teochew lady. but the price has also gone up...but not as much as in singapore..

The assholes with power 42-43 has got infractions from me. You know what u have done. Cheers :D

2Z4rXsB.jpg

don't be so upset. it's part of the game here. take it and move on ...and enjoy the forum. i got my carrot head and all types of head kena chopped far too often. so at least old uncle can share with you. don't be upset. move on and be happy....gong xi fa cai!!!!

Upset? :eek: Here is some good news for would be zappers and it's usually the same old asshole. :rolleyes::D All my zapped clones will have at least 1000 rep points in a couple of days. :D

Getting pay cheque in a few days ah? What's the point in all these up and zap points game?

thai fish maw not too bad right?

1. kopi, me cheap life hoh:D
2. don't know how to appreciate fine dining.
3. kena big time back in hk when i was some kid back then.
4. me refused the sharkfin thing but asked my uncle for a simple bowl of beancurd tau fu fa).
5. yes, funny right:p
6. btw, still unable to return you the gesture hoh!

#15 streetsmart73

i think it's a required taste. when i was small, couldn't even smell the fish maw,let alone taste it. no money. too poor. new year, the biggest treat is some chicken meat. that's the premier meat that could last one year!! now lau liao, no teeth for such fine things. only take teochew porridge with salted egg and steamed fish. cheers !!! LNY lah liao!!!

There are various grades of fish maws in the market.They can range from $6-$42/100gms.UtimateLy it's not LikeLy
so much of the price increase that matters; but those vendors who are passing off the cheaper ones as the premium
stuff..
How many peopLe actuaLLy know how to grade the fish maws; if you are once-in-a-year buyer ?..:cool:

UtimateLy it's not LikeLy so much of the price increase that matters; but those vendors who are passing off the cheaper ones as the premium stuff..
How many peopLe actuaLLy know how to grade the fish maws; if you are once-in-a-year buyer ?..:cool:

Or should I add that how many people actually know that some suppliers buy their fish maw in bulk from PRC, repackage them as being made in Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia or whatever country and then sell them to daft Sinkies?

Or how many people can really distinguish between real fish maw and artificial ones that have been 加工/加料? (Remember the Tesco fiasco in the UK over beef? Did you know that horse meat was found in it?)

There is always deep fried pig skin which can be used as a substitute. Just add some fish sauce to the fried pig skin