• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies need food vouchers to survive in properous SG

Leepotism

Food vouchers for needy residents in Pasir Ris East

[TABLE="align: right"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="width: 20, align: right"][/TD]
[TD="width: 240, align: right"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"][TABLE="width: 100%"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="width: 105, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"][/TD]
[TD="width: 45, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"][/TD]
[TD="width: 35, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"][/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"][/TD]
[TD="width: 19, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"][/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"][/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]
dotline_240.gif

More than 60 families will each receive a voucher which can be used at selected shops in the neighbourhood over three months, under a new Community Voucher Scheme.
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]
<!-- for social media sharing functions --><!-- END social media sharing functions -->
SINGAPORE: Needy residents of Pasir Ris East will get more help in the form of food vouchers.

More than 60 families will each receive a $50 voucher which can be used at selected shops in the neighbourhood over three months, under a new Community Voucher Scheme.

Grassroots Adviser to Pasir Ris East Grassroots Organisations, Mr Zainal Sapari, said it is an extension of an assistance scheme, called Enhanced Purple Heart Programme.

Speaking to reporters on Wednesday ahead of a ministerial visit to the division on January 27 by Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin, Mr Zainal said residents can expect more improvements as part of efforts to rejuvenate their estates.

Mr Zainal said: "I'm also trying to push for more of the precincts to undergo the Neighbourhood Renewal Programme and currently we managed to push for HDB to get four of the precincts to be under the Neighbourhood Renewal Programme.

"Given the fact that there are more elderly residents in the area, together with my grassroots leaders, we have actually worked together with HDB to get as many blocks on board the lift upgrading programme."

He added there will be barrier-free access in more areas, and better amenities as part of efforts to breathe new life into the estates.

Other plans in the pipeline include a major upgrading of the Pasir Ris East Community Club.

Knn .... give small small vouchers boleh ...... give back OUR hard earned Cpf money at age 55 tak boleh !:oIo:

If people staying in private also need help and is getting some. What do you expect from those at the bottom

They can only buy food at selected shops. Guess the shops.

Those aren't "needy". They are simply the freeloaders of society.

1. sammy, don't jump into some conclusion.
2. perhaps, you have never tasted what real proverty is all about!
3. have compassion for the less-privileged:D

1. sammy, don't jump into some conclusion.

People end up poor because they are stupid, lazy, defective or a combination of all three. The bottom line is that they deserve it.

Not disagree, there those who are "left behind" in society (not necessarily of choice).

Btw, anyone caught the workfare program last night on channel 5, with that boss of Amos logistics company doing the weekend "under-study" of old cleaner lady fighting a myriad of ailments, staying alone yet doing cleaners job AND volunteer stuff for lesser fortunate? But the mediacorpse fellas made it so "put on" or unconvincing

People end up poor because they are stupid, lazy, defective or a combination of all three. The bottom line is that they deserve it.

1. sammy, too bad that you are not in politics.
2. or else you fit the bill as part of those "heartless" dafter sheep.
3. nobody likes to be poor!

There are people in SG who use food vouchers to buy their meals, so that they can use their money to buy plasma tvs and the latest mobile phones.
These are the ones who make the most noise at their MPS and are given these vouchers to go away.

Knn .... give small small vouchers boleh ...... give back OUR hard earned Cpf money at age 55 tak boleh !:oIo:

Yeah.We don't need food vouchers,abalone porridge or shark fin soup and to be treated like beggars by the PAP.
JUST RETURN OUR CPF MONEY TO US NOW !!!WE WANT OUR DIGNITY !!!KNNCCB TO THE PAP !!!!!

1. sammy, too bad that you are not in politics.
2. or else you fit the bill as part of those "heartless" dafter sheep.
3. nobody likes to be poor!

Sam is rich or so he says. It is very difficult for the rich to have compassion for the poor. It is like a camel going through the eye of a needle.

Give the Needy $50 food vouchers and expect them to last for 3 months? Their $50 so BIG?

$50 divided by 90 days. THat's about 55 cents a day. Everyday an extra cup of coffee only.

Sam is rich or so he says. It is very difficult for the rich to have compassion for the poor. It is like a camel going through the eye of a needle.

I started off poor and I decided I didn't like being poor so I did what was necessary in order to achieve financial independence.

1. sammy, me came from a not-poor background.
2. but in hk, as some kid i was "traumatized" by the volumes of black/white movies back in the early 60s.
3. on its living conditions, the working classes & less fortunate.
4. likewise, me work up the ladder for some betterer life & living.
5. but i will never put down the less privileged.

I agree. I will ask the poor to come to your Toa Payoh HDB with parang to rob you. That is the sign of a true entrepreneur. No worries, they do not kill the golden goose like Leegime. That part they are ethical.

Some people are just too poor to lift themselves out of poverty, and it is not their fault. The rules of the game have changed since the enlightened days of the British Labor movement.

Today, even meritocratic rules are rigged by the rich to their advantages. We are moving back to Dickens time again ... "Please, sir, I want some more." $50 where-got-enough?

4. likewise, me work up the ladder for some betterer life & living.
5. but i will never put down the less privileged.

When I was young, I was surrounded by my fellow poor. I told them that they needed to study hard to get a good education. Instead, they chose to mix with bad company, waste money on smokes and they preferred to hang out at street corners instead of doing their homework.

Because I studied at least 3 hours a day, I managed to get a grade one in my O levels and move up to the next rung. My fellow poor got grade 3 or worse. Instead of realising the folly of their ways, they just laughed and dropped out of school.

They weren't dumber than I was. They weren't mentally retarded. In fact, in my opinion, many had loads of potential but they made a personal choice not to use it.

Because I have seen first hand why people end up poor, I therefore consider myself to be in a position to say "fuck the poor. They deserve it.".