• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC Calls the People’s Navy to finish (Singapore) off!

Are you really that rich? Only the rich could afford to take care of their children, with the mother not working.

this is something very wrong with our country. don't buy car, i think not a problem at all. if u want a car, better don't give birth or better don't married. how much is your pay? pls don't be offended, go do your sum. sure can support the kids if u are taking home above 3k. wife not working also can tahan. but elderly, our gov must help in taking care. why i say that? we talk about filial piety, yes. children will take care. but as a citizen of singapore, they contribute in building the country in one way or another. so gov got the obligation to take care of the elderly regardless of got children, rich or poor. if gov can help take care of the elderly, then couple will not have problem in taking care of the baby themselves. mother can choose to work again once kids in school or just stay home for good. our gov not looking at family, they only look at money. u think mother go out to work really will help in supporting the family??? they will spend more on clothing, shoes and hand bags. dining at restaurants and tours. trust me, i screw many married women. u think they really work to support the kids??? its always the husband who pay everything. anyway, my pt is gov must help take care of the elderly so that couple can focus more on the younger ones.

那就来,吧。

KeyboardWarriors_875361.jpg

“回来吧弟兄 国内有的是发展空间”
Come back brothers, plenty of opportunities back home
“派人民海军去把他灭了!”
Sent the People’s Navy to finish (Singapore) off!

“新加坡就是反华的敌对国”
Singapore is an anti-China hostile country

“支持中国工人的维权行动!”
Support for the action by Chinese workers to defend their rights!
“该争取的就要去争取”
Should fight for what is yours
“新加坡人本来就歧视中国人”

Don't worry. China also has it's fair share of keyboard warriors too. Yawn ...

Why you say that? I thought he made a valid point about sour grape.

Perhaps not, but you should stay far away from such topics if you're not cued into geo-political power play.
FYI, every country wants to occupy another if it has the means and power to do so. This has been happening throughout HISTORY.

Only an idiot does not want to occupy China. It's land, its people, its VAST resources, its RARE EARTH DEPOSITS that will power the technological age and much much more.

You're correct that the land of china has vast resources. Deserts, mountains, lakes, rivers, deposits and so on. Even if china didn't have any of that if another country could get land from it of course it would. That's common sense. I just show cased that guy's sickening biasness that even borders on sour grapes. When someone i think TFBH says outsiders could not conquer china he then goes on to say china isn't even worth conquering. Isn't this a classical example of the loser fox in the aesop's fable of the fox and the grapes? Claiming that china isn't worth conquering. :rolleyes: The land that china has is worth more than afghanistan which is mostly just mountains and the USSR back then wanted that type of land. It's so sickening that there are ppl so openly bias and they pretend to be intelletuals discussing using logic.

They Dare To Win

That is why PRC are full of crooks and we need USA to counter them.

PRCs sometimes do not see their own problems. They don't see that they aren't proficient with their jobs. It's the face thing again. They should get to learn more from the Japs.

They are sensitive. When they sense something as unfair, they will unite and protest outside your office. They are not afraid of the police. They actually beat up the police. That's their good point. We, Sinkies should learn from them.

But, not their uncouth behaviour. Tell them not to shit on the train !

pinky: wat de fa?! :eek:
ambassador: ni bu fa. wo men zhong guo ren fa cai le! :D
pinky: tolong la. ni zai jiang yi bian. :o
ambassador: fa! fa! fa u! :p

PRC : 我是说,我们发你。

Ah Long : 很好!我喜欢。在发我,吧。

Dude, wrong on this one. The MONGOLS conquered China. :D

Then came the Manchus.

I said no western power could conquer into China. And even the Mongols occupied only PARTS of china in the 13th century, for heavens sake. I had to pull out my STRATOR research just to rebut you. please don't make me recall my medieval history. I hate history.

Anyway I was talking about a foreign power invading China. You talk about the Manchus for wat?

Re: 100+ SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work
<!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->Wah damn champion la, one Chinese guy said that China should send its new aircraft carrier to Singapore!! wth!!

20121128.103645_carrier%281%29.jpg

Another one said 'troublesome Singaporeans should also scram out of China'!

Think it's fair for them to say all these?

From The Straits Times, Nov 28:

China asks for its workers' rights to be safeguarded

CHINA has asked Singapore to safeguard the rights and interests of Chinese workers according to local laws, the China News Service (CNS) reported.

The news agency said the Chinese Embassy in Singapore, in response to a question, disclosed that it had contacted the Ministry of Manpower in connection with a strike by more than 100 Chinese SMRT bus drivers.

The Singapore Government yesterday classified the strike as illegal.

CNS said the embassy was monitoring the situation closely, and had sent officials to take part in mediation.

The labour dispute has sparked outrage in China, with many people supporting the drivers.

Since news of the drivers' action broke on Monday, the two biggest microblogging sites - Sina and Tencent Weibo - have attracted more than 1,000 comments.
20121128.104712_strike.jpg

Many criticised SMRT for treating the bus drivers unfairly and paying them too little.

Sina Weibo user Xu Zhixin wrote: "It is normal to have pay differences between Singaporean and foreign workers, who require lodging from the company.

"But the SMRT management lacks the human touch. How can it deduct the drivers' wages when they take medical leave?"

Tencent Weibo user Xu Liqiang said: "We have to seek justice for the Chinese drivers. Why should they be deemed inferior to other foreigners?"

Others were peeved by Singaporeans who said the bus drivers should return home if they were unhappy working in Singapore.

"Troublesome Singaporeans should also 'scram' out of China!" anonymous user Chinese Revival Forever posted on the popular Tianya forum.

Another, citing the recent launch of China's first aircraft carrier Liaoning, said: "That is why we need to build more aircraft carriers and send them to Singapore's doorsteps.

"We shall see if they would still dare not to raise the wages."

20121128.103645_carrier%282%29.jpg

Some blamed the Chinese government for not creating enough good jobs.

"Poverty allows others to look down on you," wrote Tianya user Apple Iphone 000. "If large numbers of Singaporeans have to come and work in China, we Chinese would be the proud ones."

Despite the online noise, China's media stayed mostly silent about the driver dispute in Singapore.

Only three other news reports appeared yesterday - from the official Xinhua news agency, Hong Kong-based Phoenix TV and China Radio International.

20121128.103645_carrier%283%29.jpg

Additional reporting by Kor Kian Beng
<!-- / message --><!-- edit note -->
Last edited by chromiumm; Yesterday at 10:47 AM.

[h=2]Singapore Strike Reflects Dual Strains[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
November 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

[WSJ Article first appeared on http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887324784404578145032846604870.html]
OB-VM428_singdr_G_20121128014337-300x200.jpg
A police van reverses out of the premises of a dormitory as negotiations with striking bus drivers continue within the building in Singapore on Monday.

A rare protest over wages in Singapore by a group of bus drivers recruited from China has caused a public stir, highlighting the city-state’s heavy reliance on migrant workers as tensions rise over the influx of foreign labor.

Industrial action is almost unheard of in Singapore, which has kept a tight leash on organized labor to attract foreign investors. But on Monday, nearly 200 public bus drivers failed to show up for work, protesting what they called discriminatory pay practices by their employer, state-controlled transport operator SMRT Corp. S53.SG -0.59% Singapore law prohibits workers from going on unannounced strikes.

Analysts said the furor could complicate the government’s efforts to tackle rising public discontent over immigration. Policy makers are trying to strike a balance in keeping Singapore a top destination for foreign workers and new immigrants—seen as a way to offset low birthrates—while containing antiforeigner sentiment.
“Singapore’s high dependence on foreign workers—many of them semiskilled and unskilled—is a big social issue,” said Chris Leggett, a professor specializing in industrial relations at Australia’s James Cook University. “There’s certainly a potential for [more problems] and the government will need to address it in some way or another.”

Some Singaporeans say foreign-born workers take jobs, depress lower-end salaries, push up property prices and put strains on infrastructure, especially Singapore’s crowded subways. But foreign workers performing low-skill tasks are a crucial part of the economy, particularly with many new developments and transport links being built every year.

Foreigners comprise about a third of Singapore’s labor force, government data show. As of June, Singapore had about 1.23 million foreign workers.
Criticism of foreigners has emerged on social-media platforms in particular in the past year, prompting Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in August to express concerns that antiforeigner sentiment could hurt the city-state’s global reputation. Tensions have been fanned by incidents including a deadly car crash in May caused by a Chinese national in a speeding Ferrari and the assault of a local taxi driver by several expatriates in 2010.

Authorities have taken various steps to assuage local concerns, including raising financial barriers for foreign workers seeking entry and boosting citizens’ benefits in areas including education.

In this week’s case, the 171 drivers declined to leave their dormitories, saying their employer discriminated against them by offering smaller pay raises than those given to Singaporean or Malaysian drivers. SMRT says it employs about 2,000 bus drivers, of which about 22% are from China.

The company, majority-owned by Singapore state investment company Temasek Holdings Pte. Ltd., said late Monday it had persuaded some of the workers to return to their jobs but on Tuesday nearly 90 drivers again refused to work, prompting the government to launch a probe of what it has called an “illegal strike.”

“We have zero tolerance for such unlawful action because disrupted essential services not only affected the workers in the industry, but also affect the daily life of all in the community,” Tan Chuan-Jin, acting manpower minister, said Tuesday.

Under Singapore law, workers performing “essential services”—including health care, firefighting and public transport—must give 14 days’ notice before going on strike. Workers in public utilities including water and electricity services have no right to strike.

The manpower ministry “understands the bus drivers’ grievances…[but] there are right ways and wrong ways to handle these concerns,” Mr. Tan said. The minister didn’t elaborate on potential penalties, but said police investigations are under way.

Under Singapore law, a person holding an illegal strike can be jailed for up to a year or fined as much as 2,000 Singapore dollars ($1,636), or both.
Singapore has taken a tough stance in the past on industrial action, in a bid to protect its image as a good place to do business.

After a series of major strikes in the 1950s and 1960s, the government started curtailing union powers “because of the need to industrialize [the fledging economy] and attract multinationals to invest. The only way to do so was to provide a reliable labor force and predictable business environment,” said Mr. Leggett.
Singapore’s latest legal strike took place in 1986, when workers at U.S. oilfield-equipment company Hydril picketed their factory to protest the dismissal of several union leaders. In recent years, some foreign workers have mounted modest protests against alleged exploitation by employers, including a sit-in by Bangladeshi construction workers in February.

Rights groups have criticized Singapore for having fairly light protections for migrant workers, though last year the ministry pledged to strengthen enforcement and provide “sufficient deterrence” to ensure laws aren’t flouted. There is no minimum wage in Singapore.

Many foreigners—especially low and unskilled workers—don’t join unions because Singapore’s labor rules prevent unions from providing them full representative services, said Gerald Tan, a former industrial-relations officer at Singapore’s National Trades Union Congress. “There’s a big hole in the system as there’s a large group of workers who aren’t being effectively represented” by unions, he said.

SMRT said Tuesday it was continuing talks with the workers. “We are still working toward an amicable resolution to the matter,” it said, adding it had first heard of the workers’ complaints on Monday.

But some drivers said they had complained to supervisors previously. “We’ve even gone to the Chinese Embassy but to no avail,” said a driver who protested by taking medical leave.

“I didn’t do anything illegal. I’m merely exercising my right to rest,” he said.
* Re-published with consent from The Wall Street Journal.

60.1% Daftees: What is the meaning of 'right'? Got coolie rice to eat hor seh liao loh! *hee*hee*

Any more doubt the FAP Traitors' balls will drop before Foreigners? SGs can achieve the same outcome only if they are less selfish and more united!

[h=2]SMRT: We continue to value services of PRC drivers[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
November 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

SMRT-logo-300x106.jpg
SMRT has issued a media statement today (28 Nov).
It said that the rate of attendance of their bus drivers is back to normal today and all its bus services are running as scheduled.

Meanwhile, SMRT personnel, including 20 of its PRC bus drivers are currently assisting the police in their investigation into possible breaches of Singapore’s law as a result of the strike. A source has also earlier informed TR Emeritus (TRE) that some of the PRC drivers were being hauled up by the police this morning to assist in their investigation (‘Most SMRT PRC bus drivers back at work but some are missing‘).

In addressing the concerns raised by the PRC drivers with regard to their salaries, SMRT said that unlike those from Malaysia, who are employed on a permanent basis, PRC bus drivers are hired on 2-year contracts that carry different terms of employment. While the starting pay for PRC drivers is lower, the company provides for their accommodations and utilities as well as daily transport to their workplace.

As part of SMRT’s ongoing salary review, in July 2012, it said that all bus drivers under permanent employment received an increment in their starting pay. A special increment was also given to the PRC drivers even though such an increase is not in their contract.

It also added that another round of salary adjustments for bus drivers under permanent employment was made in October 2012 and similarly, an additional adjustment of $25 per month for PRC drivers will be given to them. SMRT said it was in the process of communicating this to the PRC drivers.

SMRT said it pays competitive market wages. Taking into account the foreign worker levy and the provision of transport, accommodations and utilities, the remuneration packages for the bus drivers or Service Leaders (SLs) from China and Malaysia are equitable. SMRT showed the breakdowns of their remunerations:
smrtA.jpg

Bed bugs

With regard to complaints from PRC drivers that there are bed bugs at the dormitories, which were provided by private operators, SMRT said that fumigation works were scheduled at the Woodlands dormitory but have not been carried out yet. SMRT acknowledged that swifter actions could have been taken to improve the conditions of the dormitories.

SMRT said, “We will implement fumigation as soon as possible, and other improvement measures such as remedial works on fittings are already underway. We have also decided to provide alternative accommodations when the leases at the dormitories expire from early 2013.”

It added, “Management had assured the SLs during the discussion on 26 Nov that it will review and address their concerns. We will share our decision with the SLs next week.”

On the latest developments, SMRT Executive Vice President (Roads & Commercial) Ms Teo Chew Hoon said, “There are lessons from this episode, including how we can better engage our SLs, and we will improve in this area. In the meantime, we are doing our utmost to make immediate improvements to their living conditions.”
“For majority of our Chinese SLs who are putting their best in their duties, I would like to reassure them that we continue to value their services.”
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

</EM></EM>Rate this (2 Votes)
<META content=5 itemprop="ratingValue"><META content=2 itemprop="ratingCount">

SDP Media Release: Time to reinstate workers’ rights

PostDateIcon.png
November 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

SDP.png
Singapore’s workers have been exploited for far too long. Since the detention of opposition and trade union leaders like Lim Chin Siong and the eradication of free trade unions together with the restructuring of the employment laws in the 1960s, the PAP has, together with Western neoliberals, systematically dismantled the legitimate rights of the Singaporean worker.

While we have the highest number of millionaires per capita making us the richest country in the world, nearly 5 percent of our workers are paid $500 a month. Their wages have not risen in the last 10 years. The result is an enormous income inequality, the highest in the industrialised world.

And while Singaporeans work the most number of hours, according to a survey by the International Labour Organisation, real wages continue to decline. This has made us one of the most stressful countries in Asia to work; our workers are among the unhappiest.

Yet, we are governed by ministers who pay themselves the highest salaries in the world regardless of their performance. They are guided by an ideological adherence to the neoliberal idea of market fundamentalism which allows the rich unbridled power to amass vast fortunes that distort the market. As a result, Singapore’s economic progress is held hostage by an elite which corners wealth at the expense of the rest of society.

Such an arrangement is unsustainable and will eventually result in economic meltdown. The two-day strike carried out by SMRT bus drivers from China is a manifestation of the underlying problem. But while the Chinese Government has spoken up for the SMRT workers from China, Singaporean workers remain at the mercy of the PAP. Someone has to stand up for them.

The SDP will work towards bringing our labour laws in accordance with international standards, allowing Singaporean workers to organise themselves free from the NTUC’s control. Free trade cannot exist when one side does not have the freedom to organise and bargain.

It is severely myopic to continue down the path of worker exploitation. Empowering our workers will enable them to feel more secure and facilitate a happier working environment. Studies show unequivocally that such a labour framework rapidly increases labour productivity, currently languishing at persistently worrying levels.

Increasing wage levels by introducing a minimum wage also contributes significantly to a productive labour force, not to mention increasing workers’ spending power. This will be good for the overall economy.

The liberalisation and deregulation rules laid down by the Washington Consensus, to which the PAP so fervently subscribes, cannot be allowed to continue in Singapore. Singaporean workers, speaking with a unified voice, must seek to put an end to their own exploitation.
Chee Soon Juan
Secretary-General
Singapore Democratic Party