• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The flawed assumptions of academics study on CPF & housing

Contrary to a flawed survey commissioned by the Ministry of Manpower, housing choices alone will not ensure that Singaporeans have enough CPF savings for retirement.

Firstly, the survey, which was performed by two academics, assumed that housing prices would remain relatively stable. The PAP government so far has shown neither the political will nor the motivation to ensure that this is achieved. There remains a huge demand-supply imbalance that is forcing HDB prices upwards.

Secondly.................

- http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=7846

It doesn’t matter whether the decisions are based on sound numbers and good statistics. What matters is that the government alone decides, and the people have no choice but to accept it, because the law dictates that they must save for retirement in their CPF account, and thereafter invest their CPF in a compulsory annuity scheme run by the government. There is no choice for Singaporeans.

so the assumption that singapore has low taxes is flawed as CPF funds are forever kept by the government for certain segment of society.

the catch phrase is this: you'll have enough savings if you choose to buy a flat prudently.
then again, a 1000 sq ft BTO is gonna cost some SGD$380,000.00. HUAT AH!!!

CPF and housing are the 2 policies that most clearly show the government's main objective is not to make the lives of ordinary people better.
Perhaps their objective is to make the country richer or to ensure the elderly are not financially dependent on the country.
But certainly not trying to make ordinary citizens happier and more contented, as evidence by the constant and continuous shifting of the cpf usage and withdrawal goalposts and the exorbitant prices of what is supposed to be "public housing".

If you want this kind of government who seeks to increase "shareholder value" but the largest shareholders who benefit the most are certainly not you, the ordinary chap and his family, then continue voting for them.

CPF and housing are the 2 policies that most clearly show the government's main objective is not to make the lives of ordinary people better.
Perhaps their objective is to make the country richer or to ensure the elderly are not financially dependent on the country.
But certainly not trying to make ordinary citizens happier and more contented, as evidence by the cnstant and continuous shifting of the cpf usage and withdrawal goalposts and the exorbitant prices of what is supposed to be "public housing".

If you want this kind of government who seeks to increase "shareholder value" but the largest shareholders who benefit the most are certainly not you, the ordinary chap and his family, then continue voting for them.

CPF is a 36% tax. The fact that you may get cash rebates is secondary.

It's not a tax. It's a loan from you to them, whereby the interest rate and the terms of repayment are unilaterally determined by them and constantly changing.

Meaning that they can choose how, when, why or how much to repay you.

It's not a tax. It's a loan from you to them, whereby the interest rate and the terms of repayment are unilaterally determined by them and constantly changing.

Meaning that they can choose how, when, why or how much to repay you.

It is a tax. Because they have the control not you. And they use it to then finance projects. In Singapore semantics are fuzzed. It is not a loan because it is compulsory. For both parties, non-payment entails penalties. What loan? Loan means limbeh dua no lend. They try to pretend to be creative. But calculate your net loss and gain you know. For PAP dua lumpa doggies it is a deposit.

Now a day, I am very wary whenever politicians, government-linked academicians and MSM start publishing THEIR surveys,
statistics and/or opinions on any of the following hot issues:-

- housing,
- CPF,
- manpower needs,
- population and birth rate,
- Health, Medicare and insurance needs.

It usually means one or all of the following:-

- a prelude to policy change (usually increase in taxes, fees, personal contribution, quotes)
- ground softening of contentious issues
- justification for immediate or post actions/policy implementation
- smoke and mirror to confuse and/or deflect negative opinions/perceptions

These ploys had been used once too many ...

Now a day, I am very wary whenever politicians, government-linked academicians and MSM start publishing THEIR surveys,
statistics and/or opinions on any of the following hot issues:-

- housing,
- CPF,
- manpower needs,
- population and birth rate,
- Health, Medicare and insurance needs.

It usually means one or all of the following:-

- a prelude to policy change (usually increase in taxes, fees, personal contribution, quotes)
- ground softening of contentious issues
- justification for immediate or post actions/policy implementation
- smoke and mirror to confuse and/or deflect negative opinions/perceptions

These ploys had been used once too many ...
Our academics are shameless dogs. Figures are given to them and they are told to work back from the PAPPIE conclusion. This is the reason for hiring foreign cocksuckers preferrably from communist countries where white and black cat no matter expect cat that catch mouse.

the catch phrase is this: you'll have enough savings if you choose to buy a flat prudently.
then again, a 1000 sq ft BTO is gonna cost some SGD$380,000.00. HUAT AH!!!

Seriously, does Sinkie has a future in this country. Prudent?
Does it mean we can no longer aspire to buy a bigger flat, let alone private properties?
Does it mean we can no longer aspire to buy a car? etc etc?
Where is the future for Sinkies?

I wonder ah.. how these academics feel.. i mean.. really ah.. if they are realy got IQ.. then they should know dis report is like.. for wat ah??

Wat do they gain by doing this ha? I dun get it.. they get mre shares in CPF? Directors in HDB?
Stakeholders in MRT? wat? wat motivates them to come out and say such.. things.. things that I find so "unrealistic" becos of the way they gif u the answers.

If dun c housing prices rise.. and maybe fall (cos maybe in future may burst??).. then u r giving a like "fairy-tale" picture leh. Can ensure the working now keep their jobs when they reach 35 n older?

i hope sg think n look carefully into this report n as the RIGHT questions.. dun jus simply accept n move on.

My take hor.. from this report is.. "mai gey kiang, buy wat u can afford.. dun think of private or condo.. leave it for rich or foreigners".. tat wat i get from this report la..n tat is reali my own opinion and view

Seriously, does Sinkie has a future in this country. Prudent?
Does it mean we can no longer aspire to buy a bigger flat, let alone private properties?
Does it mean we can no longer aspire to buy a car? etc etc?
Where is the future for Sinkies?

You vote PAP out fine the dogs good good including the use of the mavera injunction, we can pay for bigger hdb, better social welfare and improve Singapore infrastructure with much to spare.

Dun say you got no choice if you are one of the 60.1%.....everyone made their choice last May (maybe TP voters can say they no choice).

CPF is Citizen Protection Fee. If mafia lee happy, you may get back a little bit.

You vote PAP out fine the dogs good good including the use of the mavera injunction, we can pay for bigger hdb, better social welfare and improve Singapore infrastructure with much to spare.

I have been trying since 1984 without much success. Any tricks you can share? :D:D

Singaporeans are daft. But a compilation list of all their misdeeds lies and broken promises as well as threads are put together (will be an encyclopedia), they will lose. Trust me, even the new citizens will change sides.

I wonder ah.. how these academics feel.. i mean.. really ah.. if they are realy got IQ.. then they should know dis report is like.. for wat ah??

Academics sometimes not so bad. The worst one is that traitor PLP Gerard Ee. See how he wayang that ministerial pay. Ptui!

bro.. academics supposed to haf brains.. yet do such things.. dey dun feel ashamed. i feel embarrased for them.

tell lies wif wide open eyes.. dun blink even.
i tot when u present report, u shud hor state the assumptions first.. so ppl can see where u come from..
but they.. just dump it out lidat.. expect u to just take it without question.

crazy one