• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Out of 407 NUS undergrads polled, 122 support WP, 6 support SDP

Rumpole

Rumpole when is your court case ....

Wow, response from a paid troll within 5 minutes of my post. You very free ah …

Are you Helen Yeo or Yeo Cheow Tong or one of the partners and associates of Rodyk & Davidson, the complete list of which is available at http://www.rodyk.com/ ?

I must have ruffled the feathers of your PAP masters. Shall I take your prompt response as a compliment and your unfortunate choice of nick as an act of stupidity? Unless, of course, your masters also have something against Rodyk? You have been instructed to kill two birds with one stone? Not happy that KJ’s brother Philip is now managing partner of Rodyk? Apart from Ravi, your masters suspect that KJ has other legal support?

How’s the work of the Media Literacy Council (“MLC”) going? Not making any progress with an Internet Code of Conduct? You know, this Tan Cheng Han, a Malaysian and ex dean of NUS law, and now chair of MLC also has some history:

http://johnharding.com/2011/04/23/the-crimes-of-singapore-lawyer-tan-cheng-yew-and-family/

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....a-Internet-Censorship-Board&highlight=rumpole

Code of conduct not viable so disruption is the new tactic? This thread is about biased opinion polls conducted by Government funded entities!

Please use your common sense lah. Maybe this video will knock some sense into your head.

To answer your question, Rumpole goes to court EVERY DAY except Saturdays and Sundays, he does that for a living, you tweet ...

[video=youtube;PIGzhq9GDdM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIGzhq9GDdM&feature=related[/video]

ahkow

Is 2-party system good? 'Depends on parties'
Student poll shows youth not blindly backing or rejecting such a system

Out of 407 students polled by the NUS Political Association, support for parties were as follows:

PAP -- 271 (66.5%)
WP -- 122 (30%)
SDP -- 6
SPP -- 4
NSP -- 3
SDA -- 1

http://www.straitstimes.com/sites/straitstimes.com/files/ST_20121106_P1BLURBS06A_3375843.pdf

:eek::biggrin:

I read that to avoid duplication of votes, the students have to input their student identification number. So, reasonable to suspect that a substantial portion of the feedback may not be for "real".

Clone

I read that to avoid duplication of votes, the students have to input their student identification number. So, reasonable to suspect that a substantial portion of the feedback may not be for "real".

I am disturbed by the results of the poll.

Anyone can shed light on how statistically rigorous this poll is? Anyone from NUSPA? :confused:

ray_of_hope

For certain, it is not a scientific poll. We should take it with a pinch of salt.
That said, if the poll showed 60, and not 6, students had supported SDP
then by early this morning much of the blogosphere would be hailing the
poll and saying that the PAP's days were numbered.

Is 2-party system good? 'Depends on parties'
Student poll shows youth not blindly backing or rejecting such a system

Out of 407 students polled by the NUS Political Association, support for parties were as follows:

PAP -- 271 (66.5%)
WP -- 122 (30%)
SDP -- 6
SPP -- 4
NSP -- 3
SDA -- 1

http://www.straitstimes.com/sites/straitstimes.com/files/ST_20121106_P1BLURBS06A_3375843.pdf

:eek::biggrin:

bullshit PAP figures or real one........................if real one leh..................then S'pore is doomed....................doomed by our own stupidity..............

SgParent

If articles not in good English, complain that party is not professional. If in good English, complain too "atas".

Oh man. Let me educate you.

I'm not even talking about how or what to write. "Atas" or not. Besides, elaborate who and when commented which article not in good English?

Now look at SDP website. It looks like they are running a full Cabinet, talking about almost all policies that ever existed in Singapore. Politicians do not win election by having better policies. They win because more voters like them.

Hold press conference in Speaker's Corner, complain about weather, about convenience, etc. Hold at hotel, complain too "atas" or "aloof".

What "atas" again?

Hotel is the last place they should use. You want the glamor, the spot light or to hook up with the chio reporter? Wait until you have enough people like you, notice you first. Positively.

Block party on the other hand is a good start. Voters will find CSJ/SDP more approachable and therefore will be more receptive to their ideas. I hope they continue with it.

Speakers' Corner, although far from an ideal venue, at the very least, you can connect to the voters much much better and easier than in a hotel ballroom or on Yahoo! webpage.

Stick to traditional media, complain too "old fashioned". Use new media, complain it "don't appeal to older generation".

This I did not talk about. Anyway as long as it's positive news, positive exposure, any media is good.

If you are reported to be handcuffed, or courted controversy, etc, etc, that's negative news, negative exposure.

I am not an SDP supporter but why don't you stand up and do something instead?

Not sure why you disclaim about your political affiliation, but how do you know I have not been doing anything?

SgParent

Again, I am no SDP supporter, but if you attended even just one rally, you'd know they ran a GE campaign as good as WP's. I won't say better, but at least, on par.

Of course WP's drew larger crowd due to superior party branding and more extensive preparation on groundwork.

You are talking about rally. I'm talking about the GE campaign. Look, sound, feel different to me. Not sure about you though.

SgParent

That's too old school bro, the times have changed. That was what PAP like to use all the time and see where it got Georgie Boy and his homies in the end? While it is true that a warehouse assistant with a diploma may not be the voter's choice, a scholar is no guarantee either.

Look at Hougang BE, field a piece of char siew against the men in white and the char siew will still win over Desmond Choo anytime

Agree.

Incidentally that "char ciew" has been quietly working with us in Hougang for dunno how long already. I could sense the disappointment when we first heard Tiko Yaw was the chosen one take over from Ah Low.

SgParent

Sgparent:

Sorry for snapping at you a few posts back. Dunno what has gotten into me today. Maybe didn;t have a good breakfast.

Cheers

Huh? It's alright. Really.

I also want to see SDP flourish. Same for NSP (minus Rabid Goh aka Mr I'm-always-correct aka I-always-have-the-last-word)

Because competition always, always benefits the consumers

But if it's a straight fight between Pinky and Rabid Goh aka Mr I'm-always-correct aka I-always-have-the-last-word, I will vote for the latter.

Thick Face Black Heart

You educate me?

Your entire post read like a sinkee-style complaint. Damned if you do, damned if you don't, nothing ever pleases you. Maybe it was the way you phrased it, maybe I read too much into it. If the latter, then I'm sorry.

I apologized to you because I realized I snapped at you, and that was uncalled for. My apology to you stands. I don't care about your attitude to me, I only care that I acknowledge my previous mistake.

i myself have found many things of SDP worthy of criticism. If I do criticize, I try to point out how they can improve.

Your whole rant about the hotel is puzzling. Every party I know has held conferences in hotels before. I have rarely heard people critcizing parties on that score. Maybe that's why i snapped at you. It sounded overboard.

If you've been politically active, kudos to you.

Oh man. Let me educate you.

I'm not even talking about how or what to write. "Atas" or not. Besides, elaborate who and when commented which article not in good English?

Now look at SDP website. It looks like they are running a full Cabinet, talking about almost all policies that ever existed in Singapore. Politicians do not win election by having better policies. They win because more voters like them.

What "atas" again?

Hotel is the last place they should use. You want the glamor, the spot light or to hook up with the chio reporter? Wait until you have enough people like you, notice you first. Positively.

Block party on the other hand is a good start. Voters will find CSJ/SDP more approachable and therefore will be more receptive to their ideas. I hope they continue with it.

Speakers' Corner, although far from an ideal venue, at the very least, you can connect to the voters much much better and easier than in a hotel ballroom or on Yahoo! webpage.

This I did not talk about. Anyway as long as it's positive news, positive exposure, any media is good.

If you are reported to be handcuffed, or courted controversy, etc, etc, that's negative news, negative exposure.

Not sure why you disclaim about your political affiliation, but how do you know I have not been doing anything?

SgParent

...Maybe it was the way you phrased it...

Ah ok. I see.

You have to forgive me lah. It must be my age. Young people gets impatient when they listen to me. I'm used to it already.

Your whole rant about the hotel is puzzling. Every party I know has held conferences in hotels before. I have rarely heard people critcizing parties on that score. Maybe that's why i snapped at you. It sounded overboard..

Maybe it's just old people like me. But I seem to find CSJ/SDP patronizing hotel by using their ballroom more. Nothing wrong with that. But it will be if that is CSJ/SDP's only plan to share their housing policy

Also their website and the way they carry themselves. They make SDP less approachable, too professional or may I say elitist. Not sure how to better describe it.

I brought up the block party thing because I hope they continue it, share their housing policy and other thoughts with more voters. Most importantly, listen to the people, connect with the people

My friend in Commonwealth attended one and he likes it. He now thinks SDP is not that "angry", "softer", less "atas", etc, etc. Maybe it's the free food. Not sure.

Maybe I will join him at the next block party

===EDIT===
As I'd mentioned elsewhere, politician wins not by having better policy but by making more voters like him/her.

Strange to hear that from you. With all the "Policy watch" wall of text threads, I expected that you would show a little more enthusiasm about SDP's development.

Let me guess: Not WP... not SDP... free food?

[h=2]ST publishes non-scientific poll by NUSPA showing 66.6% youth
prefer PAP
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
November 7th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

NUSPA.jpg
407 undergraduates were polled by the NUS Students’
Political Association (NUSPA). The students had to
(compulsary) give their names and matriculation numbers during
the survey to prevent multiple voting. They were asked various sociopolitical
questions. Here are the results:

1) If a general election happened tomorrow, which party would you
vote for?

• PAP: 66.6% (271)
• WP: 30% (122)
• SDP: 1.5%
(6)
• SPP: 1.0% (4)
• NSP: 0.7% (3)
• SDA: 0.2% (1)

2) If a 2-party system emerges in Singapore, is it
desirable?

• Boon or bane depending on performance of party:
66.3%
• Will lead to policy paralysis that curtails governance: 17.2%

Desirable to bring about policies that reflect the needs of the people:
16.5%

3) Do you believe a 2-party system will emerge from
GE2016?

• No: 78.1%
• Yes: 21.9%

4) Do you feel that government policies have improved since
GE2011?

• Improved significantly: 4.2%
• Improved slightly:
63.4%
• No change: 28.3%
• Slightly worse: 3.7%
• Worsened
significantly: 0.5%

5) Which area of government policy has improved most since
GE2011?

• Housing: 26.3%
• Welfare policies: 20.9%

Immigration: 19.9%
• Education: 15.2%
• Transport: 6.4%
• Other:
6.4%
• Wages: 4.9%

6) Which area of government policy is in greatest need of
improvement?

• Transport: 30.2%
• Housing: 21.1%

Immigration: 17%
• Wages: 13.8%
• Welfare policies: 9.3%
• Education:
4.7%
• Other: 3.9%

7) Do you feel there is a need for an Internet code of
conduct?

• Yes, absolutely: 17%
• Good to have: 39.1%

Neutral: 21.1%
• Not useful: 17.4%
• Absolutely not: 5.4%

However, the organisers did stress that the poll was not scientific. Also,
because names and matriculation numbers had to be revealed, the results may be
affected, slanting towards the conservative.

NUSPA Vice-President Eugene Lee, 22, acknowledged, “That’s one of the
survey’s weaknesses, as some may have felt it was not confidential.”

Despite the survey not being scientific and weak as acknowledged by its
organisers, the Straits Times still went ahead and published the NUSPA survey
results in a news report in its Top-of-the-News section today (6 Nov).

The Straits Times reported, “But asked how they would vote if a general
election were held tomorrow, 66.6 per cent picked the People’s Action Party,
more than the national margin of 60.1 per cent it got at the last election. Some
30 per cent picked the WP.”

It even quoted an arts student Yeo Shang Long, 22, said, “It’s an
exaggeration to say that all youth today swing towards the opposition. I’m not
surprised that there is a conservative group that may be less vocal about its
political leanings.”

It also highlighted, “Yet another surprise for the organisers is that
slightly more than half voted in favour of an Internet code of conduct.”

Straits Times came to this conclusion by combining the results of:

• Yes, absolutely: 17%
  • Good to have: 39.1%

The combined percentage would come to 56.1%, which is more than half
according to Straits Times’ interpretation. However, when one reads the way one
of the choices was written, “Good to have”, does this mean that the respondent
is truly in favour of an Internet code of conduct?

When one says, “It’s good to have…”, it just means it is nice to have but if
it is not available, it is also no big deal. It would have been better if a
scale of 1 to 5 was given as a choice for the respondents to choose from.

Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

ionzu

It shows how dumb the so called cream of society has become.

The term "Wayang Party" is too mild a term for the WP. They're pretty much Oscar winning material and are even bigger hypocrites than the pappies. Heaven help Singapore should they ever gain power.

The SDP is the only party who actually has the balls to cut to the chase and chew on issues that really do matter.

divide and conquer. classic LKY.

ionzu

Undergrad nowadays are smart. they know very well that the prosperity they enjoy today is no accident. Thats why most support PAP.

I am surprised though that WP gets 30% and SDP only 1.5%. They obviously did not follow parliament and have no idea how useless WP is.

wow, your masters are getting really scared of the Wayang party huh?