• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Australia, Swiss standard of living.

blur sotong

First of all, no stats to back up your claim.
Secondly, if they don't work or do business here but only stay here, how would they affect production?

Go ask any of your private banking friends. No need for stats. It is an open secret. Besides the Indonesians, now you have the PRCs as well.

Go figure too why we still do not have the extradition treaties signed with Indonesia much as Indonesia would like to. Also understand why Estate duty tax has been removed in Singapore.

What is there to work? They simply live on their ill gotten wealth that could last for generations. Now you jealous?

Go, slog it out for your master. For they will reward you richly so long as you are of any use to them.

In the process, do watch your karma.

blur sotong

i love australia... it is one of the best countries to stay in the world.

Thank you Bro tony for your kind words. :smile:

It is spring time here. Green shoots showing up. The whole place is kinda like fully aircon-ed. When the breeze blow, Shiok!

Ash007

Yes! and my mini cooper S millage has increased due to the constant 18 degree outside temp! w00t!

Thank you Bro tony for your kind words. :smile:

It is spring time here. Green shoots showing up. The whole place is kinda like fully aircon-ed. When the breeze blow, Shiok!

Ash007

I've seen that personally, and its a real tragedy. Most that did that actually left the country, believing that there are no opportunity here.

Not just SG. Koreans, Mainlanders and Vietnamese are quite guilty of it too.

Though I admit, singaporean students who go overseas to study love to hang around themselves and not mix with the locals.

Kinana

Go ask any of your private banking friends. No need for stats. It is an open secret. Besides the Indonesians, now you have the PRCs as well.

Go figure too why we still do not have the extradition treaties signed with Indonesia much as Indonesia would like to. Also understand why Estate duty tax has been removed in Singapore.

What is there to work? They simply live on their ill gotten wealth that could last for generations. Now you jealous?

Go, slog it out for your master. For they will reward you richly so long as you are of any use to them.

In the process, do watch your karma.

Do you understand GDP?
These people park and spend their money, not work here. So how can they be part of production?

blur sotong

First of all, no stats to back up your claim.
Secondly, if they don't work or do business here but only stay here, how would they affect production?

Do you understand GDP?
These people park and spend their money, not work here. So how can they be part of production?

School holidays already started in Singapore? You forgot your economics so fast?

Components of GDP are : personal consumption expenditures, business investment, government spending and net exports of goods and services.

Can you read the words in bold?

Bro Ash, recently I witnessed a house being built in Oz.

I remembered the last time when I purchased a new landed property in SG, that team of Thai workers plus a full time local Supervisor handling defects complaints, easily surpassed the Oz team more than three time or more in headcount.

In Oz, it only take 3 chaps to lay all the tiles on the roof including getting the tiles up from ground level and finishing it off with constructing the surrounding gutters. Getting the tiles up to roof level is automated. Ditto for distributing the tiles over the roof - semi automated. They are all specialist. Not jack of all trades like those Thai workers. Most of the time, these Thai workers would be hanging around waiting for instructions. :mad:

one example of human using brains to do work. That is truly first world, unlike sinkieland.

yinyang

open secret. Besides the Indonesians, now you have the PRCs as well.
not have the extradition treaties signed with Indonesia much as Indonesia would like to. Also understand why Estate duty tax has been removed in Singapore.
BS, you un-blur on wealth parked here (ill gotten gains?):p Also, Mynmar army top guns are well ensconced in Sentosa Cove. Speak of bare xmas tree back home in land of Shwe Dagon.

And to add to yours on labour productivity: How many blokes needed to fix light bulb? I bangla up, with another ah neh downstairs holding the fort below. Throw in 1 supervisor, smoking away in pickup nearby watching the proceedings.

In OZ, you get driver cum-tourist guide rolled into 1 (with PA system). In these parts, you have the obligatory tour guide standing up and holding on to front seat

NoelVermillion

I've seen that personally, and its a real tragedy. Most that did that actually left the country, believing that there are no opportunity here.

You can't blame them, they have been spoon-fed since young. For them, living in Australia will be 'bad' because they have to do everything themselves. No mummy, no maid, no daddy's money, they really have to be independent. They are too used to the Singapore nanny system, government does everything for you, govt protects women with law without them laying a finger, government gives out cash divdends to you and more. Not like Australia, you might have to build your own house, searching for houses not as easy as searching for HDB and the MP in Australia is never going to entertain the requests of placing in good school or any others. Naturally, they left. Only the tough and independent nuts stay and eke out a living.

For the Koreans, it is a different story. They have been brought up since young to have the 'Koreans are superior' mindset, not unlike how some of the Japanese are taught. So when these Koreans move over to Australia, they still keep their mindset that 'Koreans are supreme' and hence only stick with their own kind. Even saw one of my friend's Korean friend, despite being educated in America since 15, still wearing tees and posting on Facebook shouting out loud about Korean pride. Sad to see that these Koreans have never fully integrated, only a minority integrated. Coupled with how they speak loudly in public and their habit of shoving past people, no wonder they are one group that is not well-liked, but higher than the Arabs for sure.

The Vietnamese are like the Koreans, only stick to themselves and never bothering to mix with the locals. Coupled with how some of them are snakeheads in the drug trade, they are also seen as less than desirable.

The mainlanders are slightly more open to mixing with the locals and I notice among the four groups of people mentioned in this post, some of the women managed to marry locals. :o

Fook Seng

Singaporeans will have to struggle everywhere if we follow the same way of managing our finances i.e. buying the house/apartment that we live in.

This is a big cash flow issue particularly in a city environment where the price of property is sky high. In an environment where the price of property is lower, the cash flow is less severe but you are left with a smaller asset. It is really a choice between lower cash flow stress or lower assets. If you look at all the comparative indices, it is exactly this that differentiates Singapore from the rest.

Is there a need to re-think how we should re-organise our life or get another Govt where we can have both the cake and to eat it?

Ash007

Korean, PRC, Vietnamese. They all have their own "group" and stick with one another. In Sydney, Strathfield, Korean, Hurtsville, PRC, Cabrammatta, Vietnamese. Its true, each like to live among their own community, there is nothing wrong with that. I suppose in Singapore you can say the same for Serangon, Little India, People;s park etc. However, I've notice that the 2nd, 3rd generation that have grown up here are more aussies then ever. Over time, these people will assimilate.

As for spoon-feeding in Singapore, yes, that is the environment and perhaps even cultural. 60 years of MIW has brought up an environment and reliance on a one party country. There are no alternatives, no requirements to think of anything else. Just follow and do what you are told and you will be fine. The question becomes, how do I know what you say is correct in the first place? Why can't I explore and find out if it is true or not? Hence the common saying in Singapore, the price of failure is too great. To be independent you have to face the consequences of failure. To be able to accept that what you are doing maybe wrong and climb out of it when it does. I must say, being able to find my house, watch it get build day by day is a pretty exhilarating experience.

You can't blame them, they have been spoon-fed since young. For them, living in Australia will be 'bad' because they have to do everything themselves. No mummy, no maid, no daddy's money, they really have to be independent. They are too used to the Singapore nanny system, government does everything for you, govt protects women with law without them laying a finger, government gives out cash divdends to you and more. Not like Australia, you might have to build your own house, searching for houses not as easy as searching for HDB and the MP in Australia is never going to entertain the requests of placing in good school or any others. Naturally, they left. Only the tough and independent nuts stay and eke out a living.

For the Koreans, it is a different story. They have been brought up since young to have the 'Koreans are superior' mindset, not unlike how some of the Japanese are taught. So when these Koreans move over to Australia, they still keep their mindset that 'Koreans are supreme' and hence only stick with their own kind. Even saw one of my friend's Korean friend, despite being educated in America since 15, still wearing tees and posting on Facebook shouting out loud about Korean pride. Sad to see that these Koreans have never fully integrated, only a minority integrated. Coupled with how they speak loudly in public and their habit of shoving past people, no wonder they are one group that is not well-liked, but higher than the Arabs for sure.

The Vietnamese are like the Koreans, only stick to themselves and never bothering to mix with the locals. Coupled with how some of them are snakeheads in the drug trade, they are also seen as less than desirable.

The mainlanders are slightly more open to mixing with the locals and I notice among the four groups of people mentioned in this post, some of the women managed to marry locals. :o

Korean, PRC, Vietnamese. They all have their own "group" and stick with one another. In Sydney, Strathfield, Korean, Hurtsville, PRC, Cabrammatta, Vietnamese. Its true, each like to live among their own community, there is nothing wrong with that. I suppose in Singapore you can say the same for Serangon, Little India, People;s park etc. However, I've notice that the 2nd, 3rd generation that have grown up here are more aussies then ever. Over time, these people will assimilate.

As for spoon-feeding in Singapore, yes, that is the environment and perhaps even cultural. 60 years of MIW has brought up an environment and reliance on a one party country. There are no alternatives, no requirements to think of anything else. Just follow and do what you are told and you will be fine. The question becomes, how do I know what you say is correct in the first place? Why can't I explore and find out if it is true or not? Hence the common saying in Singapore, the price of failure is too great. To be independent you have to face the consequences of failure. To be able to accept that what you are doing maybe wrong and climb out of it when it does. I must say, being able to find my house, watch it get build day by day is a pretty exhilarating experience.

very very true!!!! that is how a sinkie is being grown up into.

My foreign frens dun behave like that at all.

Ash007

Yes, I've seen my house getting build as well. 3-4 man crew at most each doing a specific task from laying of foundation, to wooden beams, roof tiles. Having a small crew doesn't mean the quality is going to be bad, it just means its more efficient.

Bro Ash, recently I witnessed a house being built in Oz.

I remembered the last time when I purchased a new landed property in SG, that team of Thai workers plus a full time local Supervisor handling defects complaints, easily surpassed the Oz team more than three time or more in headcount.

In Oz, it only take 3 chaps to lay all the tiles on the roof including getting the tiles up from ground level and finishing it off with constructing the surrounding gutters. Getting the tiles up to roof level is automated. Ditto for distributing the tiles over the roof - semi automated. They are all specialist. Not jack of all trades like those Thai workers. Most of the time, these Thai workers would be hanging around waiting for instructions. :mad:

NoelVermillion

Singaporeans who have tried to explore the truth or even question it will always be threatened with the stick. This has been etched in their minds during education and more prevalent in NS. One order, just follow, no questions asked. If you try something new or different, you get pointed out as a weirdo and outcasted in the society. So the best way to survive is just to follow and follow.

Even when they want to migrate, many Singaporeans fear this and that, money, crime and others. They also expect the information to come onto their laps instead of searching for it themselves. I thought that one of the better Mediacorpse show, "Find me a Singaporean", which showcases Singaporeans living around the world, will get them to wake up their ideas, but I guess they don't.

Another thing is they suffer from inferiority complex. They always think the white natives look down on them and loves to step on them as portrayed in Bruce Lee movies. Any girl that has a Caucasian boyfriend is immediately labelled as a SPG or slut without basis and anybody who mixes with the white locals instead of Singaporeans will be seen as 'angmoh worshipper'. The list goes on...

Kinana

School holidays already started in Singapore? You forgot your economics so fast?

Components of GDP are : personal consumption expenditures, business investment, government spending and net exports of goods and services.

Can you read the words in bold?

And there are no rich people consuming in Siwtzerland?