• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Seah: WP is no more an aggressive party like during the days of JBJ. True?

[h=2]A fractious opposition[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
October 20th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

The Workers Party is no more an aggressive party like during the days
of its former leader, the late J.B. Jeyaratnam, and its supporters have been
turning against it on the grounds that it is too meek or timid in its enhanced
role in parliament.

opposition1.png
Two months before last year’s election, Singapore’s largest
opposition did something rather unusual in the history of electioneering.

The Workers Party (WP) admitted publicly that it didn’t have enough leaders
to form the government – and ended up with its best ever result.

The seemingly unwise self-appraisal appeared not to have hurt its fortune one
bit.

“I am against all kinds of empty promises,” explained WP leader Low Thia
Khiang, adding that he did not want to mislead the public.

The declared weakness did not surprise many people. After all, WP could only
field 23 candidates to contest the 84 seats.

As public disenchantment rose, the left-of centre WP, formed by the late
David Marshall in 1957, emerged with an unprecedented six seats in
Parliament.

In contrast, People’s Action Party (PAP) votes fell to a historic low
60%.

Since then Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has worked hard and succeeded in
cementing some of the government cracks, but resentment against a few of his
policies remains.

It is topped by the immigration issue. Part of this anger has apparently
shifted to WP, which is accused of doing too little.

“What the heck have you guys been doing since you were voted into
Parliament?” demanded an irked supporter.

Instead of major issues like the high cost of living and alleged treatment of
Singaporeans, another fan accused WP of being more interested in flippant
subjects like bird droppings and traffic offences.

“The WP performance has so far been disappointing to people who are hoping it
can be the PAP counter-weight,” said Harry Li.

“Patience is already wearing off. Please WP, be mindful of those supporters’
hope and don’t further erode this hope.”

Most are, however, sticking to their faith in the party appealing for
patience because it had only six Members in Parliament.

The leadership, led by secretary-general Low Thia Khiang and chairman Sylvia
Lim is largely non-confrontational, contrary to the former leadership of the
late J.B. Jeya­ratnam.

The public expectation of a more aggressive performance partly stems from
WP’s history.

JBJ, as Jeyaratnam was popularly known as – was often known to slug it out
toe-to-toe with Lee Kuan Yew in Parliament exchanges.

At various times it also had anti-PAP fighters like Francis Seow and Tang
Liang How, who, like JBJ, were severely punished for their efforts. These two
are still in exile unable to return.

Low, a child of the times, was a good learner on how the ruling party under
Lee Senior exercised its powers on its foes.

When he took over, he probably told himself he wasn’t going to be put in the
same predicament.

He stayed away from the confrontational politics, preferring to work on the
grassroots to consolidate his Hougang constituency.

As a close aide said: “His first priority is to survive before he can fight
for votes.”

JBJ was a good debater but a poor political organiser. His was a virtually
one-man party, largely shunned by the well-educated professionals.

His No. 2 being Chinese-educated spoke with simple logic but was not a great
English speaker.

He once talked of leadership in an interview: “Being a leader to me is about
responsibility, when the party entangles, you demoralise everybody, you also
discourage people who may be interested.”

JBJ built the power base of his leftwing party around Singapore’s poor and
blue-collar workers who provided a rich ground in the 60’s and 70’s.

But with Singapore’s rapid affluence, this base was steadily whittled down as
the majority of poor moved to the middle class.

These days WP has its fair share of problems and criticisms.

Of late, some of its own supporters have been turning against it on the
ground that it was too meek or timid in its enhanced parliament role.

They charge the six WP Members of Parliament with failing to take up the
bread-and-butter grouses and other big concerns of Singaporeans.

Critics have reminded Low of his pledge to become society’s watchdog which
would raise government shortcomings even if they were embarrassing.

The criticism has evoked quick defences from party representatives.

Replying to comments that his party was not aggressive enough and too similar
to the PAP, Low said WP is confident of its approach.

Its duty is to check on the government to make sure democracy works in
Singapore, he said.

Indirectly agreeing WP is timid, MP and committee member Pritam Singh said:
“Don’t mistake timidity for inaction. With more experience, we hope to get
better.

“That may not be enough for you, but I have seen how the government has dealt
with those who choose a more aggressive path.”

What is the future for Workers Party in the new Singapore?

The answer is the same that is facing the ruling PAP and other parties – how
to attract qualified Singa­poreans to join them.

Nevertheless the WP has a long history and it retains a strong heartland base
among the majority non-English speaking voters.

All parties have a common problem – a mass reluctance of educated
Singaporeans to join politics. “Most Singaporeans love to talk politics but few
want to join a party, including the PAP,” said a retired banker.

Given the obstacles along its path, it is already a wonder that the fractious
opposition can field enough candidates to contest in the 84-seat Parliament.

The majority has rotated towards moderate, non-confrontational parties like
WP, National Solidarity Party and the Singapore Peoples party.

But recent trends are beginning to favour the more aggressive Reform Party
(RP) and Singapore Democratic Party (SDP).

Seah Chiang Nee

Chiang Nee has been a journalist for 40 years. He is a true-blooded
Singaporean, born, bred and says that he hopes to die in Singapore. He worked as
a Reuters corespondent between 1960-70, based in Singapore but with various
assignments in Southeast Asia, including a total of about 40 months in (then
South) Vietnam between 1966-1970. In 1970, he left to work for Singapore Herald,
first as Malaysia Bureau Chief and later as News Editor before it was forced to
close after a run-in with the Singapore Government. He then left Singapore to
work for The Asian, the world’s first regional weekly newspaper, based in
Bangkok to cover Thailand and Indochina for two years between 1972-73. Other
jobs: News Editor of Hong Kong Standard (1973-74), Foreign Editor of Straits
Times with reporting assignments to Asia, Europe, Africa, the Middle East and
The United States (1974-82) and Editor of Singapore Monitor (1982-85). Since
1986, he has been a columnist for the Malaysia’s The Star newspaper. Article
first appeared in his blog, http://www.littlespeck.com.

Dun expect 'aggressiveness' if the daft 60.1% cannot find their balls and muster up enough courage to mark correctly on the ballot papers.
Vote in the opposition then talk la...

WP aka Wayang Party is widely believed to be a subsidiary of the Trash Party, they are tasked to provide some semblance of a pseudo democracy. but it doesnt really matter, they will regret and repent too ! ;)

WP, after being paid well by the Driver, do not want to criticize/slap harshly anymore!
Its only a representation and occupation on the surface; for a living.

Wayang Party are a bunch of _______________(Fill in your own conclusion about the party), Don't mind my rudeness but if you are not blind or deaf you can see and hear how much of an "Opposition" they have been.

Dun expect 'aggressiveness' if the daft 60.1% cannot find their balls and muster up enough courage to mark correctly on the ballot papers.
Vote in the opposition then talk la...

Mate, This has got nothing to do with the 60.1%, an opposition is not the opposition if he has the 60.1%.

opposition is not the ruling power, you think they can do alot?

Mate, This has got nothing to do with the 60.1%, an opposition is not the opposition if he has the 60.1%.

Yes exactly my point being those who kpkb about 'fake' or 'low quality' opposition....
Ask themselves if they are part of the 39.9% first then ask them to blame the stupid 60.1%....
You want strong opposition then you vote them in....dun give excuses....
6 against 81.....nabei I think if the 6 were Spartans also can't do much.

Few years ago, Loong gave an analysis of the WP's performance in parliament:

Sylvia - being too cautious

Low Tia Kiang - Very sly and aggressive during rallies in GEs but tone down tremendously during parliament sitting.

I do agree that right now WP seems very timid as compared to JBJ days, but look what happen to JBJ? Kenna wack left, right and centre by PAP. Also look at SDP..when CSJ took over he went the way of JBJ and got hammered.

Sinkies in general do not like confrontational politics so very anti PAP parties like SDP have appeal to the masses,,but the intellectuals and idealist like them due to all the human rights crap.

Look at SDP in the last election, look how badly they performed? If WP follows such tactics, they will be consigned to oblivion.

Ok, lets look at WP MPs. They do the work and concentrate at the grass roots level. Roots have to be strong to get good foundation. If the people of Hougang and Aljunied are very happy with them despite the lack of biting the PAP. Its for the people of these constituents to decide.

And WP only have 5 MPs in parliament,,what the people expect WP to do? Furthermore WP MPs have done a damn good job for their constituents. That is the MPs priority,,its to look after their constituents. And WP MPs put in the effort,,organise activities etc for their Constituents. Contrast that to PAP MPs with their holier than thou attitude. In addition, Do the people want an MP like LKY? Where he does not even bother with his constituents. When was the last time LKY attended his MPS?

If the critics of the WP want WP to have more bite,,than give WP the teeth to bite,,vote WP in,,,if not these critics should just shut up,,or take it directly with LTK,,ask him to bite PAP more,,,if not dont, be like MR Goh Meng Seng aka GOt MOre Shit..the PAPs best weapon against the opposition.

opposition is not the ruling power, you think they can do alot?

In a similar vein then, when the playing field is not level and the goal posts keep shifting, you think they can do alot? Winning the Aljunied GRC is already a huge achievement. Being aggressive like in the old days is not going to work in the political climate of today. A firm, steadfast and principled approach is the best way forward to deal with the PAP. Results speak for itself!

I feel abit disappointed that WP has not been outspoken about the current situation and even seem to have been "deaf" to the voices of the people of sg.

But Hypocrite has a good point.. as do those who point out that, in the past, those who openly defy pappies and even question pappies policies and all, are really "hunted down".

I won't name the people, cos if you don't know by now, then you belong to the frigging 60.1% who voted for pappies to make life more intolerable for the whole lot of us.

it doesn't help that over the years, social &/ political activism in Sg is... EXTINCT!

The Pappies should be "praised" for this. Whether directly or indirectly, they have done such a "brilliant" job in this area, that now.. no one dares to speak up or speak out at all.

As posters here have pointed out, if you try to go against the "grain", here in Sg, you run the evidenced risk of being "persecuted" and even locked up, without trial, and may not see freedom at any point in your lifetime.

And because of this fear, till now my mother tells me not to speak bad things about the government.. I swear this is true.

WP may not be doing a lot of high profile things at the moment.. but I do hope that they are really "sowing the seeds", and really building a solid foundation for what they may be planning next.

At certain times, I am envious of those lots in PRC, Msia, Indonesia and esp HK, where the people really come out in full force to protest against things that they feel are not right.. or just to show that they are frustrated. Try it here.. and the leaders will probably be detained without any release in the near future.

Worst is.. if you try to start.. you will probably get little or no response.. cos people don't want to get "locked up and put away".

Why is it like this? Well.. ask the people who are doing the "hunting", the "detaining".

As for me.. I can't wait for the next elections.. so I can AGAIN cast my vote against the you-know-who.

WP is caught in a bind.

They have a successful vote getting formula - working the ground and engaging the people continuously. They are however hopeless parliamentarians. People would tolerate the fact that a lone voice or two cannot make an impact but that is not the case anymore.

They also have something else going for them - the anger directed at the PAP over flawed policies are translating into votes for opposition candidates who have a reasonable safe profile which the WP is milking.

Not sure when the musical chairs that they are in is going to stop. Its like LTK stunned reply to the question on WKS. He was outmanoeuvred.

Saw a bit of change at Hougang BE where he rattled TCH and hope that carries on in Parliament.

Ok, lets look at WP MPs. They do the work and concentrate at the grass roots level. Roots have to be strong to get good foundation. If the people of Hougang and Aljunied are very happy with them despite the lack of biting the PAP. Its for the people of these constituents to decide.

And WP only have 5 MPs in parliament,,what the people expect WP to do? Furthermore WP MPs have done a damn good job for their constituents. That is the MPs priority,,its to look after their constituents. And WP MPs put in the effort,,organise activities etc for their Constituents.

Are you my clone? Those were not my exact words but definitely my exact thoughts.

Just like I'd been telling anyone who bothers, I'm extremely happy with Workhorse Ah Huat. So is my friend over at Kaki Bukit with her WP MP.

Those fake Oppo from elsewhere are either jealous or just trying to egg the very few Oppo MP we have right now to be aggressive, to be angry and thus alienate from the silent, daft Majority

If they want an aggressive Oppo MO, then vote in their own one lah. Then after that they can tell their MP to be however aggressive they want him to be

WP may not be doing a lot of high profile things at the moment.. but I do hope that they are really "sowing the seeds", and really building a solid foundation for what they may be planning next.

Friend, come over to Hougang, Aljunied, Kaki Bukit area when we have our regular activities. Come and see for yourself how close we are with our MP.

You can too, if you mobilize your friends, relatives and neighbors to vote in your own Oppo MP. All the best in GE2016

WP aka Wayang Party is widely believed to be a subsidiary of the Trash Party, they are tasked to provide some semblance of a pseudo democracy. but it doesnt really matter, they will regret and repent too ! ;)

No one does smoke and mirrors better than the PAPzis. They are world leaders in projecting a facade of affluence and contentment. Bloody public housing dwellers in sinkieland actually believe they are "middle-class". :D

ppl who are not staying in aljunied or hougang have no biz to kpkb. i met ah huat more time than i saw my own pap mp. WP maybe non confrontational but they are very good in grassroot. in local politics, grassroot must be very strong, then got chance to be elected. If ppl not happy, then let them decide in the ballot box. Those staying the west or those who voted for pap in the past can stick their comments up their own arse.

Yes exactly my point being those who kpkb about 'fake' or 'low quality' opposition....
Ask themselves if they are part of the 39.9% first then ask them to blame the stupid 60.1%....
You want strong opposition then you vote them in....dun give excuses....
6 against 81.....nabei I think if the 6 were Spartans also can't do much.

Bro Narong, well said.

Even if they are kamikaze fighters, it is like throwing eggs against the wall.

The way to go is to get more experience and come 2016, with more oppositions in the parliament hopefully, then it will be a meaningful time to really fight for Singaporeans.

As it is now, they can't even do a thing with what PA has done to them when they just took over Aljunied Town Council. What more can we expect?

Too overwhelming for them to do anything I say.

Few years ago, Loong gave an analysis of the WP's performance in parliament:

Sylvia - being too cautious

Low Tia Kiang - Very sly and aggressive during rallies in GEs but tone down tremendously during parliament sitting.
That is exactly correct. I heard him at rallies n he is totally different once he gets elected. In other words, he will do whatever it takes to stay in power but he actually understand n agrees with the PAP. The voters are just suckers to him n rightly so.

“Don’t mistake timidity for inaction. With more experience, we hope to get better.” –Pritam Singh

What is so difficult about standing up for the people?

How much experience do these WP eunuchs must have before they can ever speak up against the PAP regime and tell the truth?

After more than 1 year, these co-drivers wannabe still have the audacity to claim that they still need experience to be on “L-plate”? What kind of remedial training and additional experience is the Vichy Hammer demanding before they ever dare to open their inactive mouth?

Did the historical 魏徵 hide in a corner to gain a lot of experience before he dared to open his mouth? How old and experienced were Aung San Ssu Kyi, Gandhi and Walesa before they stopped being timid and learn to stand up and speak up for their people against oppressive regimes?

If the WP eunuchs have no balls, regardless of how much experience and training they can gain in Parliament, they will never be able to grow one. The WP chief eunuch has proved it himself: despite his over 20 years experience in parliament and a being a super lao-cheow, but still without the cheow, he is as timid and impotent as ever.