• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Raffles Reunion - Interesting

Rafflesians: good in the classroom and the exam hall. But lousy in the Outside World, in Real Life. Maybe that's why so many are unemployed! :D

Believe it or not, Robert Kuok, George Yeo's boss, is an Old Rafflesian.

Rafflesians: good in the classroom and the exam hall. But lousy in the Outside World, in Real Life. Maybe that's why so many are unemployed! :D

too straight. too careful. dare not take risk. always think too much....wait and see...let me go home and think over...by the time they thought things over, the deal gone liao....many of them are good administrators and planners...follow the rules and regulations...be goodie goodie and toe the line....no need to be too adventurous.....be good, be diligent,get promoted ,get high salary, take care of family and children....no troubles please. retire with pensions and then disappear quietly without any noise....just disappear....gag.

Rafflesians run SG..ACSians own SG

Uncle, you are Head of Civil Service? Very good summary of a scholar civil servant.

no lah. works in kopitiam and always encounter all these scholar civil servants - very well behaved and no nonsense type...kiasi kiaboh kiasu kiachenghoo...everything also kiakia...but in the end,got house, got car ,got nice family, nice children....and then retire gracefully....some move out. they know too much.but gag.

kopi pm me

Hi Scrooge I am surprised a old hat like you do not realize this. The PMETs in their late 50s have already retired or downgraded. Go to any progressive companies and do a count of how many of their senior managers are still working?? Except for CEOs or top tier the middle tier are already replaced by younger candidates. In fact u will find a Hugh no of oldies still working. They are in the bottom tier where these people cannot afford to retire.

Good point and very true. In fact by early 50s they are planning to replace you. If you stay beyond 60, you are the rare few. I understand in the Civil Service, even PS are retired early and moved to stat boards to give way to younger executives. At most these are lateral movements but that is because you are a top guy. For the common mortal, he would have probably hendak kaki from his 40's.

the infamous haunted hall which produced a few demons and ghosts
the dilapidated building which housed a few lunatic and drugs overdose
the bras basah school which produced many brilliant fools
the muddy fields that bred many rascals, thugs and arrogant screws.......wow!!!

There was even a museum within those walls with preserved specimens and a spiral staircase that led up to the attic. The floor creaked when you walked on it. Won't be surprised century old spirits to be lurking in some corners.

too straight. too careful. dare not take risk. always think too much....wait and see......by the time they thought things over, the deal gone liao....many of them are good administrators and planners...follow the rules and regulations...toe the line....no need to be too adventurous.....be good, be diligent,get promoted ,get high salary, take care of family and children....no troubles please. retire with pensions and then disappear quietly without any noise....just disappear....gag.

Good description of a typical Rafflesian.Against the cheating foreigners with their fake qualifications, blatant lies and their killed or be killed attitude, its obvious who will come out tops.Just name me the number of Rafflesians that are head honchos in the private sector ( exluding those GLC's).
The tragedy is that its the very same people (whether in the civil/military service) who allow the ruling family to roll over them and bring in those cheating,low quality foreign invaders aka "forign talents" that is making life miserable for locals and will ultimately ruin our future.