• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taken aback by the cost of medication for sickly dad

[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="class: msgtxt"]http://www.straitstimes.com/archive...aback-the-cost-medication-sickly-dad-20121008
[h=1]Taken aback by the cost of medication for sickly dad[/h][h=2][/h]

<!--start of story text-->MY FATHER was diagnosed with mild dementia recently.
He also suffers from neuropathic pain, which is common among seniors, and was referred to Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) by a polyclinic for treatment.
The cost of one nerve-related prescription shocked me. It cost $150 a month, and the hospital offered no subsidy, although the goods and services tax was absorbed.
I have not factored in the cost of the treatment for dementia, but a check with friends suggests that it may cost a couple of hundred dollars a month.
How many seniors like my father can afford treatment at such prices?
I hope the Government can review and subsidise the cost of medicines for the treatment of such chronic pains and diseases.
The Alzheimer's Disease Association of Singapore should also lobby for more affordable health care for senior citizens.
It can be emotionally draining caring for our loved ones who suffer from such diseases, and the treatments pose a big financial burden on the family.
Having a subsidised rate for the medicines will help ease the burden for caregivers like us.
William Wong
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]

"Subsidy" is just another term for "someone else's money".

Why should other Singaporeans be mandated to pay for his dad's treatment. They have their own parents to take care of.

Sinkees complain bout things that they already know gonna happen. Sinkees always thinks that bad things wont happen to them. When it does, always kpkb. There are countries that could have taken care of this guy father for free but before his father got ill, he thought that pappy government is the best. Sinkees only learn their lessons when it hits their pockets hard.

"Subsidy" is just another term for "someone else's money".

Why should other Singaporeans be mandated to pay for his dad's treatment. They have their own parents to take care of.

yeah yeah .
But this come in the form of taxes and fees that the garment (not garment or government) collected.
if garment collected $ and not using it for the shittizens then what is it used for ?

yeah yeah .
But this come in the form of taxes and fees that the garment (not garment or government) collected.
if garment collected $ and not using it for the shittizens then what is it used for ?

There are far more important areas to fund.. infrastructure, defence, education, research etc. Tax dollars are not a bottomless pit to be collected and used willy nilly.

Imagine what would happen if every citizen demanded specialist drugs for all their medical problems. The coffers would be empty in no time at all.

Funding treatment for dementia would be the biggest money waster of all. There is no cure for dementia. Once a person has lost his marbles, the game is over. All drugs can do is prolong the agony for all concerned.

Why $150 per mth? Khaw Boon Wan only paid $8 for bypass operation.

khaw-boon-wan11.jpg

Funding treatment for dementia would be the biggest money waster of all. There is no cure for dementia. Once a person has lost his marbles, the game is over. All drugs can do is prolong the agony for all concerned.

If that is the case then why is the doctor recommending the expensive medication:confused:

So the dad can continue to be treated by him for a longer period of time you twit.

Super lame guy. Want others to pay for his dad's medication.

I think there is a direct correlation between the level of intellectualism in a society (or the lack thereof) and the percentage of the population afflicted with dementia. It is expected that the percentage will surge in Spore over the next decade.

I think there is a direct correlation between the level of intellectualism in a society (or the lack thereof) and the percentage of the population affliction with dementia. It is expected that the percentage will surge in Spore over the next decade.

How can you tell if an average sinkie has dementia? At least 60% of them already appear to be brain dead long before they reach their geriatric years.

yeah yeah .

1. bro, hmm!
2. it ever mentioned mah: to helping the poor!
3. probably, it has already forgotten it.:D

That is the problem that PAP has not tried and address properly and that is with the aging population, right now all they say is to increase the population with Foreign trash,,and please hor remember this saying, 'Can afford to die, cannot afford to get sick'. I dread for my own old age, hope fully I will have access to cyanide when it gets too tough...and death is part of life,,if life sucks,,no point holding on.,.this is cruel but its a fact,,the welfare road will just make it worse for all involved.

I admit changes need to be made, but to have endless health care benefits for all is not the answer..even Pommieland is discouraging old people from treatment..

and please none of those left wing liberal bull shit replies.

How can you tell if an average sinkie has dementia? At least 60% of them already appear to be brain dead long before they reach their geriatric years.

I don't disagree. It's a consequence of a philistine society.

There are far more important areas to fund.. infrastructure, defence, education, research etc. Tax dollars are not a bottomless pit to be collected and used willy nilly.

Imagine what would happen if every citizen demanded specialist drugs for all their medical problems. The coffers would be empty in no time at all.

i am not referring specifically to dementia.
and i am not saying we neglect the infrastructure , defence ,education etc.
i am saying with the $ collected , gahment (not garment or government) shoulddd set aside a portion
to help the needy. eg if you are low pay slave or aged slave over 65 , you should auto get a certain % subsidy.
:confused::confused::confused::confused:

To enlightened idiots like you who had reach a very elderly age but seems lost in the dark as to what the shit medicatons we can be talking about here, let me help.

Of course I could be wrong but mind you, my infor quite accurate.

The neopathatic drug used could be gabapentin original licensed to Pfizer or similiar equivalent but as dirty and cheap as Sinkie public hospital can be, they obtained the generic version but still bill the patients as a non standard drug like the original.

Now you tell me , who is screwing whom?

Keep thinking along the lines like this where you thought that your MIWs ain't screwing your ass and you'll end up being screwed so much, that you ain't even knowing it that YOU HAVE BEEN SCREWED..ALL THE TIME!

How to know one has dementia?

You won't know cos if you do, you'll NOT BE HAVING DEMENTIA!

And how could one tell that another Sinkie has dementia?

When they forgot to ask the MIW to screw them for that day!!LOLOLOLOL

To enlightened idiots like you who had reach a very elderly age but seems lost in the dark as to what the shit medicatons we can be talking about here, let me help.

Of course I could be wrong but mind you, my infor quite accurate.

The neopathatic drug used could be gabapentin original licensed to Pfizer or similiar equivalent but as dirty and cheap as Sinkie public hospital can be, they obtained the generic version but still bill the patients as a non standard drug like the original.

Now you tell me , who is screwing whom?

Keep thinking along the lines like this where you thought that your MIWs ain't screwing your ass and you'll end up being screwed so much, that you ain't even knowing it that YOU HAVE BEEN SCREWED..ALL THE TIME!

The last time I paid for drugs in Spore was many years ago when I got them from my cardiologist. Nowadays if I need any drugs I just go to JB where it's much cheaper. I do have some Metformin & fusix on standby but I've found natural alternatives which are more natural & without the potential side effects. The over the counter prices in Malaysia for drugs is at least 30% cheaper than Spore:eek: It's also much simpler because you can get drugs without a prescription.

Spore has gone very extreme in that you need a doctor's prescription for everything:rolleyes:

Funding treatment for dementia would be the biggest money waster of all.

Sorry mate, this I have to disagree. Funding Temasek and GIC would make funding treatment for dementia truly peanut.

If only our A* scientists could patent some drugs that could turn dementia around, that funding would be more than paid off.