• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sheng Siong Supermarket No.1 ?..

Agreed with the Luan part bro..however price-wise, many other supermarts can't beat them.Just Look at the way these staLL hoLders from the wet markets are buying in buLk from SS by the troLLies; esp the greens & veggies.
Oh, that Live seafood section is another attraction.Where eLse can you get Live fLower crabs off the tanks ?..

Mine is a small family and the little savings obtained from buying from a cut-corner place like Sheng Shiong won't impact my budget. Veggies, my wife orders from a Singapore organic farm that delivers once a week. My family rarely consumes crabs, so I don't bother. Besides, Christmas season, I doubt one can find Egg Nog from SS, only Cold Storage, also, cottage cheese, cannot get from SS. Only out of convenience (like I am right there at that time) will I walk into SS and risk catching a virus just to pick up a bottle of ketchup.

Normally buy from nearest supermarket. Better save time and petrol money. Price different buy few %.

Wah your makan very the atas man,,,now wonder SS is of no good to u lah...

Mine is a small family and the little savings obtained from buying from a cut-corner place like Sheng Shiong won't impact my budget. Veggies, my wife orders from a Singapore organic farm that delivers once a week. My family rarely consumes crabs, so I don't bother. Besides, Christmas season, I doubt one can find Egg Nog from SS, only Cold Storage, also, cottage cheese, cannot get from SS. Only out of convenience (like I am right there at that time) will I walk into SS and risk catching a virus just to pick up a bottle of ketchup.

Wah your makan very the atas man,,,now wonder SS is of no good to u lah...

Did not mean to put the message across that my meals very high class, it is more accurate to say because of my wife, our family is more discrete and selective when it comes to food options. I do not consume high-end or expensive stuff like wines, me dwink beer to get dwunk. No expensive shark's fins, abalones, bird's nest, foie-gras, or exotic turtle soups, just ordinary meats, fish, veggies and fruits and we try to avoid Ah Tiong produced foods, just to be on the safe side. Healthy? I don't know, me got beer belly. Obviously things like cooking oil, cereal, bread, ketchup, pasta sauce, I'll pick up from SS if it is convenient as these foods will be the same no matter where you buy from. But fresh meats, fruits and veggies, SS does not impress me.

icic...to each his own n u brought up a good point...

Did not mean to put the message across that my meals very high class, it is more accurate to say because of my wife, our family is more discrete and selective when it comes to food options. I do not consume high-end or expensive stuff like wines, me dwink beer to get dwunk. No expensive shark's fins, abalones, bird's nest, foie-gras, or exotic turtle soups, just ordinary meats, fish, veggies and fruits and we try to avoid Ah Tiong produced foods, just to be on the safe side. Healthy? I don't know, me got beer belly. Obviously things like cooking oil, cereal, bread, ketchup, pasta sauce, I'll pick up from SS if it is convenient as these foods will be the same no matter where you buy from. But fresh meats, fruits and veggies, SS does not impress me.

Don't take much effort to boycott NTUC and SS supermarkets.
Maybe insignificant but as a matter of principle.

daughter of one of the owner is chiobu....highly educated as well...any bro dare to cow?

WouLd Sheng Siong end up taking over Carrefour's outLets ?..hmm, not ruLing this option out.

Now that I am retired and staying up north I find that the SG supermarts very small and limited compare with hypermarts like Mydin, Tesco and Giant to name afew. The only thing I miss over here is cold storage is their wide varity of cold cut pork products :(

Bro, your North is as in WoodLands or the Artics ?..:)

You are right, SS very luan. I don't shop there. People who patronise them and buy their stuff look deformed. For supermarket in Sg, I prefer Cold Storage. Most of my fresh meats and fish I buy from wet markets where I buy from owner operated stalls, these sellers know their products and are better-off to get advice and tips from.

SS sucks, man. The Old Auntie cashiers damn bloody Kwai Lan, give you dirty look if you tell them to hurry up. Take 15 minutes to check out 2 customers. I dont know how SS survives with this kind of low productivity......or should that be non-productivity?

Shop and Save has almost the same selection like Giant.
Shop and Save owns by Cold Storage, what about Giant?

WouLd Sheng Siong end up taking over Carrefour's outLets ?..hmm, not ruLing this option out.
Sheng Siong brand won't survive in town area....their only town outlet is in little india....

News say giant taking over...

SS sucks, man. The Old Auntie cashiers damn bloody Kwai Lan, give you dirty look if you tell them to hurry up. Take 15 minutes to check out 2 customers. I dont know how SS survives with this kind of low productivity......or should that be non-productivity?

Bro, any particuLar outLet are you referring to ?..my own's experience sofar quite ok Leh, except if it's during their
'peak hours' ?..then each & and every supermarts are the same La.

Bro, any particuLar outLet are you referring to ?..my own's experience sofar quite ok Leh, except if it's during their
'peak hours' ?..then each & and every supermarts are the same La.

It is true that right now, service everywhere in Sg sucks ass. But SS service sucked from their Day 1.

All SS branches the same. I never step in a SS unless I have a full day off to stand in their totally immobile check-out queues. Which is.....never at all.