• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sheng Siong Supermarket No.1 ?..

Fishypie

Being more of a CoLd storage customer, hence i was rather surprised to see the huge turnout
whiLe doing some groceries at Sheng Siong earLier; perhaps it's due to the upcoming Hari Raya.
CouLd it be their prices, or varieties ?..but one thing i do notice is; they do have some LoyaL
groups of customers such as our LocaL MaLays, PRCs and even most of the foreign workers.
Bet in no time, their share prices couLd be cLosing on the $1 mark; since debuting Last
August @33cts a piece; with such strong foLLowings :

sheng1.jpg

sheng2.jpg

So where do bros here do your Supermarketings ?..:)

People are furiously shopping at Sheng Siong because of its lucky draw, shown on tv.

Win up to 100x the amount spent on a receipt.

I hear they are related to LHL. Any brother here know if this is this true?

SS beats many Supermarts' hands down in terms of patronage..that's aLL i can gather.:cool:

cheap but poor quality and service....very messy place...very luan!!!
i think eventually merge with fairprice...and that will be the biggest...

i still love cold storage...but now also very localised.....soon also gone like yaohan....anymohs still shop at cold storage.but many angmohs also go to ss and fairprice now....

soon fairprice might just take over cold storage...and then we only have one supermarket monopoly.....waulau!!!

UncLe, i dont think that wiLL ever happen..which educated consumer wouLd want monopoLy of sorts ?

Then you end up with probLems with Customs' at both ends..:cool:

UncLe, i dont think that wiLL ever happen..which educated consumer wouLd want monopoLy of sorts ?

You speak as though Sinkie consumers are educated. There's a vast difference between being well-trained and well-educated, I think. :rolleyes:

i still love cold storage...but now also very localised.....soon also gone like yaohan....anymohs still shop at cold storage.but many angmohs also go to ss and fairprice now....

soon fairprice might just take over cold storage...and then we only have one supermarket monopoly.....waulau!!!

The truth is that stuff in Cold Storage are generally more expensive compared to other supermarts.

Your typical heartlander isn't going to care about those high-end goods that can be found exclusively at Cold Storage (e.g. certain wines and cheese).
Sheng Siong and NTUC Fairprice and Giant are more than enough to meet their grocery needs. The perks (lucky draw and Linkpoints) add to the appeal of shopping at these two places.

Anyway, Cold Storage isn't that high-end these days. Richer people shop at Carrefour every week. Ang Mo expats shop at Jason's. Other expats shop at their preferred native supermarts (Japanese at Isetan, Koreans at Shine or SOL).

Cold Storage will not be gone like Carrefour.
They own giant and shop n save too...
Shop at their supermarkets instead of Ntuc and SS...

i do my shopping at giant tampines cos of free parking and it has most of the things that i need. they even have a good assortment of cold cuts, fresh bread (not gardenia hor!), cheese, wine and beer.

sometimes i even buy engine oil when it is on offer.

You are right, SS very luan. I don't shop there. People who patronise them and buy their stuff look deformed. For supermarket in Sg, I prefer Cold Storage. Most of my fresh meats and fish I buy from wet markets where I buy from owner operated stalls, these sellers know their products and are better-off to get advice and tips from.

Agreed with the Luan part bro..however price-wise, many other supermarts can't beat them.Just Look at the way these staLL hoLders from the wet markets are buying in buLk from SS by the troLLies; esp the greens & veggies.
Oh, that Live seafood section is another attraction.Where eLse can you get Live fLower crabs off the tanks ?..