• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DREAMorACTION

Wei u old man. How can ur finger pressed e enter button faster than me? We both posted at 12.03am n u r on top. Cannot be ...

I am sure there is a market.. There are many malaysia kids who take bus everyday to Singapore for schooling.. I also see many tuition centers in Bukit Indah area.. Education is one of the most important thing for most parents in Singapore or Malaysia..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
If the locals r alr paying high school fees in dollars, not sure how many more parents will fork out more $$ for ur fren. Dun think ur fren will charge low fees right?

Bro, locals ARE actually willing and actually VERY VERY ABLE to pay for good education from my very limited experience here.
He could just target SG market or any of the foreign niche market (hint hint) and make a killing.

Today happened to drop by at Airport. Had a conversation with one of certis security guard (Msian Aneh). He told me he was a SPR and working in Spore yrs back. Decided to rope in his sis fm JB. Both got SPRs status and bought a 4Room flat for investment. Yrs later, Aneh was retrenched. He was offered an AM post at JB. After spending many yrs in JB and his CPF ran out of funds, his sis end up servicing HDB loans herself. Aneh PR status also expired and he forgot to renew. Last year he resigned fm the JB firm and opened up a joint partnership firm with his friend. Things turned sour and subsequently closed shop. He came back to Spore to look for job and wish to renew his PR status. But ICA rejected cos he didnt meet certain conditions now. At the same time he was called up by HDB. It seems that latter was aware that ANEH OSO HAS A PTE PROPERTY AT JB. So now, HDB instructed Aneh to dispose either Spore of JB property. Guess we also know which property he decided to dispose off ya. Two things i learnt fm the conversation with Aneh:

1. I know its old news. PRs can purchase HDB flats (those days). No minimum threshold. Can rent out. Earn rental income. If now he dispose off, hes making more than double of the purchase price! Sinkies sinkies, why is it we always end up as losers??

2. Any one of u who own Msian (especially JB) and Spore properties, take note ya. HDB can track down on u. No joke. So come clean on ur declaration. U wouldnt want to be hauled to court and ur pigeion hole lelong ya.

I think HDB only called him up becos he tried renewing his PR status but failed. The JB furniture shop sales person I was chatting also told me she bought a HDB flat using PR sibling scheme. And she has returned to JB since ten years ago and now the flat is occupied by her brother. She ignored all letters sent regarding her PR status etc. Looks like HDB never called her up leh, PRs still can own HDB even after leaving SG for ten years.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I am sure there is a market.. There are many malaysia kids who take bus everyday to Singapore for schooling.. I also see many tuition centers in Bukit Indah area.. Education is one of the most important thing for most parents in Singapore or Malaysia..

Yes, definitely. Many and most of them are full to the brim. Only issue is always having manpower especially good and learned ones so if you must do it, you must first do it yourself.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I think HDB only called him up becos he tried renewing his PR status but failed. The JB furniture shop sales person I was chatting also told me she bought a HDB flat using PR sibling scheme. And she has returned to JB since ten years ago and now the flat is occupied by her brother. She ignored all letters sent regarding her PR status etc. Looks like HDB never called her up leh, PRs still can own HDB even after leaving SG for ten years.

I guess they just didn't check. Sis Ginfreely and bro Whoami, do PM me when you have time.

arsenal

Bro,
I can help you to dress visibly or flamboyantly.. but then your wife might not agree..
A lot of times it is cosmetic.. it is just whether you want to do it or not.. and man doesn't need to be handsome.. just some style will do..
Next time call me if you need some make up.. I can do it for you..
Rgds

Yeah exactly. Probably because i have a very common face and a common fat body so no one ever notices the fat and ugly guy. :smile:

It is sad indeed but very luckily for us, there is at least options here and even in other lands like Thailand, etc to explore.

Yeah lor, what to do, just got to think positive, JB is a good place for retirement. I think Thailand is good for retirement too, saw their hospital very modern.

butadesu

Yeah lor, what to do, just got to think positive, JB is a good place for retirement. I think Thailand is good for retirement too, saw their hospital very modern.

Yahoo News says Hua Hin is good place for retirement.
But in thailand I think foreigner cannot buy landed. And to buy condo also must be >50% thai citizen ownership i think.

arsenal

Malaysia better.. Same language and culture.. We can't buy landed legally in Thailand..If Johor not good, can go further up to even taiping or east malaysia for retirement..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yahoo News says Hua Hin is good place for retirement.
But in thailand I think foreigner cannot buy landed. And to buy condo also must be >50% thai citizen ownership i think.

Hi butadesu, interesting name, why this moniker unless you are fat too like me. :smile: (buta is Jap for pig if i remember)

We definitely can never get chanote, so 30 year leases renewable 3 times. Even when we can buy the condo, it must meet the local quota and the land it is built on is never freehold although the building itself could well be.

Yes, back then i explored Phuket and Bangkok,etc for the longest time and then came back. Parents said no to US and then no
to Thailand and even Taiwan when i brought them there to these countries to "test water" so i will only go where
they are willing to go. Others parents may be different though as different people prefer different things. Thailand
is still a viable place to retire IMHO especially Chiangmai or Chiangrai.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Yes, their medical is also very good and advanced. Other than below the waist pursuits, many "farangs" actually go to Thailand for medical needs as well.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Malaysia better.. Same language and culture.. We can't buy landed legally in Thailand..If Johor not good, can go further up to even taiping or east malaysia for retirement..

True, which is why i came here eventually. Even East Malaysia has appreciated recently in prices, friends in kuching told me it went up by quite a bit.

butadesu

Hi butadesu, interesting name, why this moniker unless you are fat too like me. :smile: (buta is Jap for pig if i remember)

We definitely can never get chanote, so 30 year leases renewable 3 times. Even when we can buy the condo, it must meet the local quota and the land it is built on is never freehold although the building itself could well be.

Yes, back then i explored Phuket and Bangkok,etc for the longest time and then came back. Parents said no to US and then no
to Thailand and even Taiwan when i brought them there to these countries to "test water" so i will only go where
they are willing to go. Others parents may be different though as different people prefer different things. Thailand
is still a viable place to retire IMHO especially Chiangmai or Chiangrai.

Yes, Buta means pig in Japanese. However, I'm not fat. But I sort of like pig when others find it dumb and ugly. haha.
Wow, bro Wuqi, you explored so many places. U really really want to get out of Singapore heh?
Just a few years ago, I also have that intention of moving out of Singapore. Was looking at Japan (cos my wife is Japanese). But I couldn't find a decent job there (maybe I did not try hard enough or maybe I wasn't good enough). In the end I stayed on in Singapore.... And I missed the time to buy car when COE was lowest....haizz... But I guess that is life.
Given a choice to find a place to retire, I think Aust or Newzealand are countries which I would really want to move to.

tutucake

Today happened to drop by at Airport. Had a conversation with one of certis security guard (Msian Aneh). He told me he was a SPR and working in Spore yrs back. Decided to rope in his sis fm JB. Both got SPRs status and bought a 4Room flat for investment. Yrs later, Aneh was retrenched. He was offered an AM post at JB. After spending many yrs in JB and his CPF ran out of funds, his sis end up servicing HDB loans herself. Aneh PR status also expired and he forgot to renew. Last year he resigned fm the JB firm and opened up a joint partnership firm with his friend. Things turned sour and subsequently closed shop. He came back to Spore to look for job and wish to renew his PR status. But ICA rejected cos he didnt meet certain conditions now. At the same time he was called up by HDB. It seems that latter was aware that ANEH OSO HAS A PTE PROPERTY AT JB. So now, HDB instructed Aneh to dispose either Spore of JB property. Guess we also know which property he decided to dispose off ya. Two things i learnt fm the conversation with Aneh:

1. I know its old news. PRs can purchase HDB flats (those days). No minimum threshold. Can rent out. Earn rental income. If now he dispose off, hes making more than double of the purchase price! Sinkies sinkies, why is it we always end up as losers??

2. Any one of u who own Msian (especially JB) and Spore properties, take note ya. HDB can track down on u. No joke. So come clean on ur declaration. U wouldnt want to be hauled to court and ur pigeion hole lelong ya.

I tot if the aneh has fulfilled the MOP for the hdb, he is allowed to have a landed in Malaysia

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes, Buta means pig in Japanese. However, I'm not fat. But I sort of like pig when others find it dumb and ugly. haha.
Wow, bro Wuqi, you explored so many places. U really really want to get out of Singapore heh?
Just a few years ago, I also have that intention of moving out of Singapore. Was looking at Japan (cos my wife is Japanese). But I couldn't find a decent job there (maybe I did not try hard enough or maybe I wasn't good enough). In the end I stayed on in Singapore.... And I missed the time to buy car when COE was lowest....haizz... But I guess that is life.
Given a choice to find a place to retire, I think Aust or Newzealand are countries which I would really want to move to.

I see, pigs are actually very intelligent creatures
Even back then, really very much so, was very stifling. I think its not just you but as a gaijin/Singapore jin, you probably come last as you are not nihonjin. It is life indeed, i sold one of my spare SG cars back then just before the COE rise but then i later bought some properties before their rise.

Yes NZ is still a good place too and i never discounted it just that for my folks it will be difficult, i thought about it long and hard, being the only son, i cannot leave them behind no matter what.

butadesu

I see, pigs are actually very intelligent creatures
Even back then, really very much so, was very stifling. I think its not just you but as a gaijin/Singapore jin, you probably come last as you are not nihonjin. It is life indeed, i sold one of my spare SG cars back then just before the COE rise but then i later bought some properties before their rise.

Yes NZ is still a good place too and i never discounted it just that for my folks it will be difficult, i thought about it long and hard, being the only son, i cannot leave them behind no matter what.

Yes, Asian will typically be the look down on in Japan. Thats their culture. Furthermore Japan is a good place to tour not a good place to work... I worked there over a year and frankly speaking its tiring.

Seems like you have lots of options to move. You must have a terrific skill sets that allows you to have such mobility.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes, Asian will typically be the look down on in Japan. Thats their culture. Furthermore Japan is a good place to tour not a good place to work... I worked there over a year and frankly speaking its tiring.

Seems like you have lots of options to move. You must have a terrific skill sets that allows you to have such mobility.

Agree, definitely not to work. Maybe some business but its better if even if you want to work, that you continue being a gaijin there as one can get away with not conforming if one is openly a foreigner. Such as speaking in other languages even when one knows the basics. Other than the normal hajimeh mashite, rest of the conversation, strictly in English. The nail that sticks out will be struck down but exception is given to gaijin like us.

I was there for a shorter time than you and i am still amazed at their work culture, it certainly is very different and some of it is somewhat pretentious at least in working culture. I am just forced to learn as i had to depend pretty much on myself since young. I also worked multiple jobs years ago without most colleagues knowing even after NS so had to learn a lot as i was the main breadwinner (still am) for the family.

butadesu

Agree, definitely not to work. Maybe some business but its better if even if you want to work, that you continue being a gaijin there as one can get away with not conforming if one is openly a foreigner. Such as speaking in other languages even when one knows the basics. Other than the normal hajimeh mashite, rest of the conversation, strictly in English. The nail that sticks out will be struck down but exception is given to gaijin like us.

I was there for a shorter time than you and i am still amazed at their work culture, it certainly is very different and some of it is somewhat pretentious at least in working culture. I am just forced to learn as i had to depend pretty much on myself since young. I also worked multiple jobs years ago without most colleagues knowing even after NS so had to learn a lot as i was the main breadwinner (still am) for the family.

Oh, so you also know the Japanese "pattern" haha.
Ah moh will have no problem there. Japanese love ah moh.
Nowadays Japanese culture are out of favor, and Japanese way of business has been associated with rigid and inflexible.
Admire your hard working attitude. I am not as ganbatte as you are.

Status
Not open for further replies.