• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Blessing or Curse?

TracyTan866

I just returned from Genting Highlands. The place was quite empty as most gamblers have come to RWS and Sands in SG to gamble. $2B revenue has been collected from casino gambling

Gambling has come to SG. Vices have come to SG. Prostitution has proliferated in SG. Despite what the pap has reported, more crimes have been committed. Suicide has increased.

The pap sees the $2B as a blessing. But is that truly a blessing or a curse?

Genting crowd drop when the 2 casino open. Old story.
Even cruise ship suffer.
Those go Genting are mostly retired/small gambler/family trip.
Most hardcore gambler/big gambler will not want to waste time traveling. They will go to MBS/RWS casino.
$100/24 hr entry still cheaper than going to Genting.

TracyTan866

Genting crowd drop when the 2 casino open. Old story.
Even cruise ship suffer.
Those go Genting are mostly retired/small gambler/family trip.
Most hardcore gambler/big gambler will not want to waste time traveling. They will go to MBS/RWS casino.
$100/24 hr entry still cheaper than going to Genting.

Agree.

so is the increase in gambling activities a blessing or a curse to SG?

Ash007

Gambling is the most unproductive industry in the world. It does not make anything, improve anything, or even give people that much of a joy in their life. Gambling essentially transfer money from one group of people to another and guess who gets the money in the end. The $2B that they earn, where you think it comes from? If its not from the locals, its from some other countries at best.

TracyTan866

Gambling is the most unproductive industry in the world. It does not make anything, improve anything, or even give people that much of a joy in their life. Gambling essentially transfer money from one group of people to another and guess who gets the money in the end. The $2B that they earn, where you think it comes from? If its not from the locals, its from some other countries at best.

I agree with you.

Besides not being a productive activity, gambling is very addictive and caused much harm. That's why, I disagree with the pap. I consider gambling and its consequences a curse to SG.

Agree.

Is a curse to SG.
Gov may get few hundred million/year on entry levy and another few hundred million on taxes.
But total gambler lost on table per year will be more than $10b.
SG citizen contribute more than half. The other like FT/tourist/high roller from others country only about 30~40%.
How many sell house/bankrupt/family breakup/business bust because of gambling debt in that 2 casino?
I estimate about 20% of total gambler sell house due to gambling debt. They may not be bankrupt. But many cash out money change to smaller home/some just move next door/next block just to cash money from HDB out for gambling debt. They refinance at higher loan.

More than 70% total job in 2 casino when to FT not Citizen/PR
If citizen less than 15%. So job creation is very small.
My verdict not worth it to have casino in SG.
PM LHL really fuck up the policy.
Before no football gambling is good. After implement thing become bad.
And now casino is totally hell.

TracyTan866

Is a curse to SG.
Gov may get few hundred million/year on entry levy and another few hundred million on taxes.
But total gambler lost on table per year will be more than $10b.
SG citizen contribute more than half. The other like FT/tourist/high roller from others country only about 30~40%.
How many sell house/bankrupt/family breakup/business bust because of gambling debt in that 2 casino?
I estimate about 20% of total gambler sell house due to gambling debt. They may not be bankrupt. But many cash out money change to smaller home/some just move next door/next block just to cash money from HDB out for gambling debt. They refinance at higher loan.

More than 70% total job in 2 casino when to FT not Citizen/PR
If citizen less than 15%. So job creation is very small.
My verdict not worth it to have casino in SG.
PM LHL really fuck up the policy.
Before no football gambling is good. After implement thing become bad.
And now casino is totally hell.

I fully agree with you.

We have bad and weak leaders who look at short term monetary gains...at the expense of great social prolems in the future

Ash007

Most country have gambling legalised to solve the underground/blackmarket activity and also to raise revenue. They have tight regulations in place and include safety nets. Singapore is going this route namely for the revenue raising nothing else. Genting was a good outlet for Singaporean to go before then.

I agree with you.

Besides not being a productive activity, gambling is very addictive and caused much harm. That's why, I disagree with the pap. I consider gambling and its consequences a curse to SG.

ionzu

I just returned from Genting Highlands. The place was quite empty as most gamblers have come to RWS and Sands in SG to gamble. $2B revenue has been collected from casino gambling

The pap sees the $2B as a blessing. But is that truly a blessing or a curse?

all blessings turn into curses, and curses into blessings.
for now, the casino is a blessing for the economy, but a curse for the people.
in time, it will be a curse for the economy and a blessing for the people.
this is unhelpful to your immediate question.
but the answer always changes with time.

TracyTan866

Most country have gambling legalised to solve the underground/blackmarket activity and also to raise revenue. They have tight regulations in place and include safety nets. Singapore is going this route namely for the revenue raising nothing else. Genting was a good outlet for Singaporean to go before then.

The casinos have caused much unexpected and unplanned for social effects.

suicide rate has increased. money laundering has increased, loan sharking has reared its ungly head.

family problems have increased

slohand2

Agree.

It is a curse, no doubt. I have come across many of my friends who actually argues that they can make a living out of gambling. Their theories are too many to discuss, but short of stopping them, there is nothing one can do but argue. It always end up bad, matter of time. One in particular is a retired gentleman, very discipline, very kiasu. He is there everyday to kill time and by his admission he is losing 30 to 40k a year, but since he can afford it, he continues with his "hobby".

TracyTan866

It is a curse, no doubt. I have come across many of my friends who actually argues that they can make a living out of gambling. Their theories are too many to discuss, but short of stopping them, there is nothing one can do but argue. It always end up bad, matter of time. One in particular is a retired gentleman, very discipline, very kiasu. He is there everyday to kill time and by his admission he is losing 30 to 40k a year, but since he can afford it, he continues with his "hobby".

agree...gambling addiction is prevalent

I just returned from Genting Highlands. The place was quite empty as most gamblers have come to RWS and Sands in SG to gamble ...
ur own cuntry's gambling dens oso dun patronise ... go 2 other ppl's cuntry 2 donate ur moni 4 wat? ...

ppl oso all flock 2 world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1 gambling dens ... n u? do opposite! go 2 lousy casino in a crime-infested cuntry! ... :rolleyes:

Leegalize gambling like football/4D not solve blackmarket problem actually help to promote.
B4 legalize football gambling how many % gamble football?
Now many still by under from bookie because
1. Pay out better 4D at least 20% higher for football average 5~10% higher
2. More convenient

If want to cut illegal out just up the payment par with bookie. Then that the end of illegal betting.
Those gamble big in football 99% will buy from bookie. Only small fish buy $10/$50 buy from Sgpool. Because bookie not accepting bet less than $100.
Gov talk cock said want to cut illegal. If want up the payment prize money
eg.
4D for small
1st $4k
2nd $3k
3rd $1k

Kuailan

To visit Sand & MBS and pay $100.00 24hrs levy most retirees prefer to go Genting cost $88.00
including FW hotel stay, take a bus ride enjoy the scenery at a slow pace, only thing food at
Genting is ridiculousl expensive compered to the real world, KL. Imagine one day I ordered Indian rice with
a pc of fish, it cost me RM25.00 most ridiculous price! that was my last time I patronised that cofffeshop!

TracyTan866

ur own cuntry's gambling dens oso dun patronise ... go 2 other ppl's cuntry 2 donate ur moni 4 wat? ...

ppl oso all flock 2 world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1 gambling dens ... n u? do opposite! go 2 lousy casino in a crime-infested cuntry! ... :rolleyes:

shd we patronise gambling?

TracyTan866

Leegalize gambling like football/4D not solve blackmarket problem actually help to promote.
B4 legalize football gambling how many % gamble football?
Now many still by under from bookie because
1. Pay out better 4D at least 20% higher for football average 5~10% higher
2. More convenient

If want to cut illegal out just up the payment par with bookie. Then that the end of illegal betting.
Those gamble big in football 99% will buy from bookie. Only small fish buy $10/$50 buy from Sgpool. Because bookie not accepting bet less than $100.
Gov talk cock said want to cut illegal. If want up the payment prize money
eg.
4D for small
1st $4k
2nd $3k
3rd $1k

Is the pap's promotion of gambling good for SG?

TracyTan866

To visit Sand & MBS and pay $100.00 24hrs levy most retirees prefer to go Genting cost $88.00
including FW hotel stay, take a bus ride enjoy the scenery at a slow pace, only thing food at
Genting is ridiculousl expensive compered to the real world, KL. Imagine one day I ordered Indian rice with
a pc of fish, it cost me RM25.00 most ridiculous price! that was my last time I patronised that cofffeshop!

do you go to genting often?