• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Blessing or Curse?

TracyTan866

Tourist very few % less than 10%.
How many of them/% not Pink IC/PR/WP/hold related pass working/student/social pass) gamble in casino?
Less than 10 %.

MBS and RWS need the critical mass to do well in gambling. this critical mass is singaporeans. so the two casinos benefit from Singaporeans' patronage

TracyTan866

haha.... u certaintly right. even bookie at turflcub refuse bet that payout $60 or more per bet. the bookis will tell the punter to bet at the STC counter. Spools cannot attract big time punter because they are so limited in their products. even hongkong jockey club has a water down version of the asian handicap for football bet wheras Spools only offer the 1.5 goal handicap. the only way Spools good was the high payout exotic bet which illegal bookies dont offer. but exotic bet are mainly bet with a tenner by those type of uncles that hang around Spools branches whole day.

as much as casinos are harmful, they also jump started the economy when lhl ran out of ideas to boast the economy. property price was at its lowest ard 04/05, but with the announcement of casinos, property prices had double, i cannot even pay for a 30yo 3rm flat now with what i paid for the 4rm in 2004. There are people who benefited due to the casinos but the social costs of it will be bear by all. As much as i had never step into the casinos, but they do have an impact on my life. ,more ppl in singapore, prices of all products goes up due to increase in demand etc etc....

gambling inflicts huge social costs in the future

as long there chinese around, there sure to be gambling. it had been stereotype that chinese have gambling problems. TV show always show keling have drink problem, mat have drug problem and chinese have gambling problem. It in the genes.... so live with it, as much as govt allow casino to operate but they didnt promote it. families of gambling addicts shd use apply for a explusion order on their family members who are known to be gambling addict then no longer can blame on the casinos. if spouse of gambling addict claimed no knowledge of their spouse gambling habit, then he/she had been a lousy spouse in the first place, then he/she deserved the fate of having ah long splash paint on their flat.

TracyTan866

as long there chinese around, there sure to be gambling. it had been stereotype that chinese have gambling problems. TV show always show keling have drink problem, mat have drug problem and chinese have gambling problem. It in the genes.... so live with it, as much as govt allow casino to operate but they didnt promote it. families of gambling addicts shd use apply for a explusion order on their family members who are known to be gambling addict then no longer can blame on the casinos. if spouse of gambling addict claimed no knowledge of their spouse gambling habit, then he/she had been a lousy spouse in the first place, then he/she deserved the fate of having ah long splash paint on their flat.

the individuals can be weak and vulnerable. But shd a wise govt introduce and make such vices easily accessible to the people?

vices are neccessities. without vices, then the place no better than a monk temple. all vices had been around even before pap got in power. In Mao china, no vices were allow, u want to live in such a society?

i repeat again, just fill a explusion application form then no addict can go into the casino liao. It the most simple solution to be prevent family & friends from losing their lives in the casino.

as much as i dont like pap, i believe in free choice. if a person weak in mind, then his family can decide for him. do ppl who live inside geylang area have a sex addict problem? at the very least, gamblers still can count on casino explusion orders, what can the sex addict have to help him or her?

soIsee

You want to gamble and die your own biz what, what has that got to do with who to blame?

I beginning to sound like Kinana! LOL

soIsee

vices are neccessities. without vices, then the place no better than a monk temple. all vices had been around even before pap got in power. In Mao china, no vices were allow, u want to live in such a society?

i repeat again, just fill a explusion application form then no addict can go into the casino liao. It the most simple solution to be prevent family & friends from losing their lives in the casino.

as much as i dont like pap, i believe in free choice. if a person weak in mind, then his family can decide for him. do ppl who live inside geylang area have a sex addict problem? at the very least, gamblers still can count on casino explusion orders, what can the sex addict have to help him or her?

No vices , can die meh?

Or is it you making excuse for yourself?

TracyTan866

You want to gamble and die your own biz what, what has that got to do with who to blame?

Yes, anyone can choose his own destiny. But does a wise govt want to encourage gambling ? likewise, does a govt want to make prostitution easily available?

TracyTan866

No vices , can die meh?

Or is it you making excuse for yourself?

A good society allows the individual to make his own choices. But a good society will also not encourage vices. that's the difference between a wise govt and the pap. the pap only goes for money

soIsee

A good society allows the individual to make his own choices. But a good society will also not encourage vices. that's the difference between a wise govt and the pap. the pap only goes for money

That's your OWN definition of a GOOD society lah!

Just like Sinkie who can make up their mind to stay or quit!

Boss Sam would rightfully agree with me on this! LOL

soIsee

Yes, anyone can choose his own destiny. But does a wise govt want to encourage gambling ? likewise, does a govt want to make prostitution easily available?

Who's 'encouraging' with you?

They already want you to pay $100 for entry while FTs do not.

That is already DISENCOURAGING you!

TracyTan866

Who's 'encouraging' with you?

They already want you to pay $100 for entry while FTs do not.

That is already DISENCOURAGING you!

building casinos in SG is encouraging singaporeans to gamble. charging $100 levy is placating the anti casinos singaporeans.

allow to build casino = encourage gambling.

so govt allow cigerettes sales = encourage smoking?
govt issue alcohol license = encourage drinking?
issue brothel license = encourage prostitution?