Get ready to pay more for medical treatment, says Minister Gun

Why buy insurance?

Why not? Death is a certainty. You are bound to fall ill. Just a matter of when.

Want to increase coverage and increase premiums woh. Now that they want to raise the lifetime claims limit, all the hospitals are salivating thinking about how much they can increase their charges to "max out" the patient. Fucking Gun talk like MOH doing everyone a big fat favour. Hospitals are build by taxpayers, doctors and nurses trained in universities build by taxpayers, and still want to charge and charge. I am in favour of increasing coverage, BUT WHY MUST INCREASE PREMUIMS OR ANY OTHER COSTS?

Familiar with PAP style, read in reverse. They want to increase Medishield premiums revenue. They say it's because the medical costs are rising. Because of they worry that people may not have enough coverage, they should increase coverage. That means higher premiums. That's because they care for you. Sounds like who? Has any insurance agent spoken to you lately? ;)

Govt trying to help us and these people want to twist it around and attack govt.

I already have MediShield AND have more than enough money in my CPF. Why then do I need more insurance:confused:

1. bro, honest i really doubt that the so-called medishield thing can do much!
2. medical & hospitalization insurance is some safer bet for old age.

Govt trying to help us and these people want to twist it around and attack govt.

If govt. really want to help us, let us pay our medical bills out of Medishield, with no deductibles. If we exceed, than they cover for us. That's really helping, you fucking moron. Not this bullshit they are trying to do now.

Familiar with PAP style, read in reverse. They want to increase Medishield premiums revenue. They say it's because the medical costs are rising. Because of they worry that people may not have enough coverage, they should increase coverage. That means higher premiums. That's because they care for you. Sounds like who? Has any insurance agent spoken to you lately? ;)

1. bro, bingo!
2. 5 thumbs up.
3. spot on!

I already have MediShield AND have more than enough money in my CPF. Why then do I need more insurance:confused:

This is 100% correct, I don't know why oppo don't sieze this and run. The whole point of medishield is to cover your healthcare cost. If that is so, than why do I need extra private insurance? If I need extra private insurance, than medishield is useless or inadequate. Better to eliminate medishield completely, and switch over to private insurance altogether. at least u don't have to pay 2 premuims every month.

you may have enough for medishield, but what about the poor?
If medishield is adequate, why are there private insurance out there in the first place? You know how dumb you are sir?

In the name of providing you with world class whatever medical care...words like "upgrading", "up sizing" "subsidizing" will be thrown around soon! your sickness is their income...

Yes, these are always the same word they use in the PAP lexicon. Its so boringly predictable. They use it for HDB flats, MRT increase, etc. The only word missing is "affordable"

1. hahaha!
2. it always takes one to be dafter to know who is dumb leh.

you may have enough for medishield, but what about the poor?
If medishield is adequate, why are there private insurance out there in the first place? You know how dumb you are sir?

So, what u are saying is that medishield is inadequate hence the need for private insurance? Isn't that what I said, moron? Are u the village idiot or what?

Why buy insurance?

Why not? Death is a certainty. You are bound to fall ill. Just a matter of when.

I don't disputethis, and buying insurance is a good idea. But why must I be forced to particpate in Medishield when the coverage is so limited. Why can't I opt out and just buy my own insurance? This is the question.

The part about deductibles going up is mentioned so far behind the article that many readers would have missed it.
EVERY person insured by medishield checking into hospital will now pay $500 more per stay. The amount is doubled if you are above 80.
Whereas the extended limits affect very limited numbers of cases. Wtf... how many people above 85 years old will opt for medishield coverage? The old cost (before increase) for 85 year old man is already $1123 and that is provided you are not already sick, otherwise even medishield will not insure you.

The much trumpeted benefits is theoretical whereas the costs increase is across the board.

Fucking liars!