• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WHAT is Higgs Boson Particle??

RWSSLOTS

they also call it God particle?

kanina...i read and read oso dun understand what the shit is this?

all over news...but what is the impact???

To put it simply, this is the last piece of the puzzle that will allow scientist to validate the Standard Model after more than 40+ years of research

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_Model

This will explain why the tiniest of matter observable have mass and from there those with PhDs and an IQ of 3 digits can move on to understand nature beyond what we can see

the 'God' particle was invented by the press to make it interesting to the public, finding it won't explain how and where we came from but it sure will solve another layer of nature's mystery

To put it simply, this is the last piece of the puzzle that will allow scientist to validate the Standard Model after more than 40+ years of research

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_Model

This will explain why the tiniest of matter observable have mass and from there those with PhDs and an IQ of 3 digits can move on to understand nature beyond what we can see

the 'God' particle was invented by the press to make it interesting to the public, finding it won't explain how and where we came from but it sure will solve another layer of nature's mystery

Spend billion and billion $$$ at least well spend solve the clue. Now physic can confirm with the model.

Too bad no Faster than light propulsion technology or opening another door to unseen dimensions yet

e=mc2

energy to matter, and vice versa. theory goes when energy pass thru' a higgs field, some can pass thru' easily whereas some slowed down. the slow down converted to matter. well, something like that ... google it up.

you might find it financially wasteful but look at it this way; the bail out for the 2007 financial crisis can fund NASA for 50 years.

the pinnacle of a civilization is usually determined by the advancement of knowledge that the society possess.

im not surprised that some of the forumers here belittled this great scientific achievement. would you want to achieve greater knowledge about nature and appreciate them through your conscious mind for this bried moment, or would you want to be like those religious nutjobs that keep believing in a tribal religion that talked about a global flood, talking snake, man born of virgin birth and walked on water?

e=mc2

energy to matter, and vice versa. theory goes when energy pass thru' a higgs field, some can pass thru' easily whereas some slowed down. the slow down converted to matter. well, something like that ... google it up.

you might find it financially wasteful but look at it this way; the bail out for the 2007 financial crisis can fund NASA for 50 years.

the pinnacle of a civilization is usually determined by the advancement of knowledge that the society possess.

im not surprised that some of the forumers here belittled this great scientific achievement. would you want to achieve greater knowledge about nature and appreciate them through your conscious mind for this bried moment, or would you want to be like those religious nutjobs that keep believing in a tribal religion that talked about a global flood, talking snake, man born of virgin birth and walked on water?

u speaking english? wah lao...so tsim ah...

[video=youtube;RIg1Vh7uPyw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIg1Vh7uPyw[/video]

what a bloody waste of money

For u waste of money.
But to solve the problem is worth it.
Manufacturing process maybe change will be more efficient. New material will be create. Even lighter by 5% will save a lot of energy eg. car/aircraft.

waste of money?

if there were more idiots like you, i believe our life in the future will never be improved. This is an very important part of the puzzle, it could possibly solve a lot of current pressing problem like energy issue and better materials (esp for semi con industry). forget it, i am betting you are another uneducated christians.

For u waste of money.
But to solve the problem is worth it.
Manufacturing process maybe change will be more efficient. New material will be create. Even lighter by 5% will save a lot of energy eg. car/aircraft.
wow. a great discovery indeed...and ? can it save the earth or just merely lengthen its existence by another few years???

Goodness, is the general public in singapore really that stupid? Such discovery could impact many areas of our life. we know the particle exist now, once we finished characterising the particle property we could make use of what we know. For example in area of bioimaging in the medical field, once we are able to understand what kind of interaction this new particle made we another, such interaction gives of energy - light. A good example is PET scan. if everyone has idiotic thinking like you, such life saving technology will have never existed.

wow...u machiam so clever hor...then why u fuck around in sammyboy forum...u should be a nobel prize winner!

u speaking english? wah lao...so tsim ah...

People like you lack intellectual curiosity for things that are not directly relevant to your life.

You'll never amount to anything much with this frog-in-the-well mentality.

wow...u machiam so clever hor...then why u fuck around in sammyboy forum...u should be a nobel prize winner!

all i can say is my education level is most likely higher than majority of the population on this planet. and to people of my league and the impact of this discovery is exciting as we can foresee its possible impact in human life in the future. judging from silly comments from your retarded mind as if nobel prize can be easily won, you have not pass your O level right kid? or still struggling in poly? useless idiot.

wow. a great discovery indeed...and ? can it save the earth or just merely lengthen its existence by another few years???

if the discovery leads to new theories of the universe and solving of some old mysteries, it may help sentient beings reach "godness", where intelligent beings can outfox or work with the laws of nature or the universe to keep a habitable planet alive for another million years, for example, in order for future generations to solve the next big puzzle - eternal life or perpetual continuation of one's consciousness (information and software) in new bodies without severe disruption due to death of the body (hardware).

for now, the most important twin puzzle or mission for mankind is to find another habitable planet and overcome constraints on space travel. what's the point of finding another habitable planet if one cannot get there alive? hopefully, the discovery of the higgs boson will help us solve the travel faster than light puzzle. why this twin mission? because everything is meaningless if this planet known as earth goes thru' another mass extinction event.

it took hundreds of miilions of years for life to evolve on this planet to this stage, so that we the highest sentient beings on this planet can figure out what killed off over 99% of species before us, what massive matter are regularly circling in multi-million year orbits ready to kill life again, and what ways and prevention we can have to survive planet-level catastrophe. once we achieve basic survival at a single node planetary level, the future beckons for multiple planetary survival, and faster than light space travel is key in reaching there.

can it make sinkies find their balls back?

Please dont blast RWSSLOTS.
He may not understand how important.
If he study and pay attention in Chemical and Physic. Then will be different.
Just like Periodic table. If some element missing that will be different. Is a long process slow slow one by one discover.