• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Need sincere advice on part time jobs

Hi, I am tired of working my regular jobs for 20 yrs. I plan to quit my job soon and do some part time job just to make a simple living for myself. I have already paid up my pigeon hole and not into any forms of loan . Can someone advise what are the currently available jobs I can do ? I realised whenever I send resume to any jobs (other than the job I have been doing for the past 20 yrs) I will not get any replies, as I believe employer will think I am crazy.
Any sincere advise is greatly appreciated.

I_Hate_Pappies

Hi, I am tired of working my regular jobs for 20 yrs. I plan to quit my job soon and do some part time job just to make a simple living for myself. I have already paid up my pigeon hole and not into any forms of loan . Can someone advise what are the currently available jobs I can do ? I realised whenever I send resume to any jobs (other than the job I have been doing for the past 20 yrs) I will not get any replies, as I believe employer will think I am crazy.
Any sincere advise is greatly appreciated.

Bro, you post at this hours? Try to push it up tomorrow morning. People who are still awake in this forum now, unlikely to be very "WORK" people. :biggrin:

Why not try some freelance job, sales positions, start up some online biz or some small biz? Or ask Raiders if he got any vacancy in his newly set up company?

What are you working as currently? Your interests and so on.:biggrin:

no_faith

allow me to relate. I was once out of job.
i send my resume. the wages might put them off although it is not much lah.

then no reply.
i push down 200 no reply.
i push down 500, some replies.
i push down 800, many replies.
i push down 1000, got a job.:oIo:

lan lan accept and wait for opportunities lor. if you have the luxury of time to wait, wait.:biggrin:

i dunno about your age but u wish to, can apply for waiter in clubs. now so many clubs around, work and see char bor, not bad tho.

Bro, you post at this hours? Try to push it up tomorrow morning. People who are still awake in this forum now, unlikely to be very "WORK" people. :biggrin:

Why not try some freelance job, sales positions, start up some online biz or some small biz? Or ask Raiders if he got any vacancy in his newly set up company?

What are you working as currently? Your interests and so on.:biggrin:

So you are also a not "Work" person ? :smile: Firstly thanks for your quick suggestions. I am waiting for Englad match to kickoff so just do a quick post.

I am been in the IT industry for my whole working life of 20 yrs, and almost had taken up all the positions in this industry. This year I contemplating to retire from this FT infested industry.
My hobbies are music related e.g. guitars , drums, etc I have tried to apply as musical instruments sales person but the boss say I am crazy as well. :(
I am also a casual gambler which occasionally I will visit the turf club, soccer betting and casinos. I have attempted to apply for part time jobs to these 3 gaming industry but was rejected as well. I also submitted resume to areas like Zoo, Science park. In short employers seem to think that a person has to work their area of expertise for life.
Really run out of ideas thats why thought of getting some inspiration from here.

I_Hate_Pappies

So you are also a not "Work" person ? :smile: Firstly thanks for your quick suggestions. I am waiting for Englad match to kickoff so just do a quick post.

I am been in the IT industry for my whole working life of 20 yrs, and almost had taken up all the positions in this industry. This year I contemplating to retire from this FT infested industry.
My hobbies are music related e.g. guitars , drums, etc I have tried to apply as musical instruments sales person but the boss say I am crazy as well. :(
I am also a casual gambler which occasionally I will visit the turf club, soccer betting and casinos. I have attempted to apply for part time jobs to these 3 gaming industry but was rejected as well. I also submitted resume to areas like Zoo, Science park. In short employers seem to think that a person has to work their area of expertise for life.
Really run out of ideas thats why thought of getting some inspiration from here.

Actually, i fucking tired liao. :biggrin: Saw your thread, sound serious, thinking why not. :biggrin:
Do you know how to compose song? Do some demo and send them to some record company.
Won't advise you to be a full time gambler. :p
Zoo and Science Park? You really want very simple life.
How about doing some franchise biz? 7-11 or some famous spa.

allow me to relate. I was once out of job.
i send my resume. the wages might put them off although it is not much lah.

then no reply.
i push down 200 no reply.
i push down 500, some replies.
i push down 800, many replies.
i push down 1000, got a job.:oIo:

lan lan accept and wait for opportunities lor. if you have the luxury of time to wait, wait.:biggrin:

i dunno about your age but u wish to, can apply for waiter in clubs. now so many clubs around, work and see char bor, not bad tho.

Yes I am looking at jobs that are not so boring kind, preferably can see char bor to pass time kind, low pay is ok just need some $ for meals and basic home bills. Working in clubs is not a bad idea but usually they hire young adults.

When someone intend to apply for jobs not related to paper qualification, is it better not to state their highest quali ?

Can I ask what job you applied when u push down and down ?

B

Baluku

You should become an mp and sleep in Parliament.

Is that part time enough for you? :biggrin:

Last edited by a moderator:

no_faith

Can I ask what job you applied when u push down and down ?
i would confess my industry is not an attractive industry which is freight forwarding/logistics.
this industry you need not high qualification to join. people say this industry depend on experience than qualification but you need not believe it all.:biggrin:

im applying the same industry at that point of time but this industry has been infested by FT.

Television

My friend works in freight forwarding(he does documentation for import/export) Highest qualification is N-Level, 5 years experience, 27years old.. 4K basic + up to 2 to 3 k a month whenever he goes on-board for a few-minutes to a few hours.

Delivery Jobs
Security Guard
Taxi-Driver
Sell or Send newspaper
Buy/Sell things on Ebay *****

I hold a taxi vocational lic as well but I cannot make it as I am very very lousy with road directions. therefore delivery is also out. I have attempted to learn sg roads but I simply find it very tough to learn the roads. The main challenge I face is I may know how to go from pt A to B, but when comes to pt E to pt A I am totally lost !
I do find taxi driving a very ideal job for simple earnings, not to pia mia kind of attitude.
Yeah Selling newspaper is worth considering need to find out more. Selling things on ebay isn;t it too competitive nowadays.

i would confess my industry is not an attractive industry which is freight forwarding/logistics.
this industry you need not high qualification to join. people say this industry depend on experience than qualification but you need not believe it all.:biggrin:

im applying the same industry at that point of time but this industry has been infested by FT.

Oic, FF and shipping I heard is a very stressfulo environment. Are you now still doing this ?

I_Hate_Pappies

I hold a taxi vocational lic as well but I cannot make it as I am very very lousy with road directions. therefore delivery is also out. I have attempted to learn sg roads but I simply find it very tough to learn the roads. The main challenge I face is I may know how to go from pt A to B, but when comes to pt E to pt A I am totally lost !
I do find taxi driving a very ideal job for simple earnings, not to pia mia kind of attitude.
Yeah Selling newspaper is worth considering need to find out more. Selling things on ebay isn;t it too competitive nowadays.

Use GPS lor. And since you don't mind simple life and not striving for something hard.
Sell newspaper? Unlikely to get much business here. :biggrin:

Television

I Honestly suggest Security Guard, Taxi driving is tiring and you have to be ready to be abused.

Security guard is a far more better retirement job then driving a Taxi, But be smart where you choose to be a security guard. I would choose a non-residential Place and a Place that is not 24 hours in Operations etc... an 8-5 warehouse. Just walk around, Watch t.v, listen to music, buy an Internet dongle and serve the WWW etc... Talk with mistress on phone.

no_faith

Oic, FF and shipping I heard is a very stressfulo environment. Are you now still doing this ?
i have quit my job 5 weeks ago.

yes, it is fast pace, stressful, irregular hours, 5.5 days, demanding, competitive. i still can cope in these 10 years.

my suggestion is get part time waiter job for leisure, can see char bor, got young gals working as co staff too.
why not?:biggrin:

Use GPS lor. And since you don't mind simple life and not striving for something hard.
Sell newspaper? Unlikely to get much business here. :biggrin:

That time when I tested taxi driving still does not have GPS...but each time passenger board will need to key in source and destination sure kena butter by them . Also GPS usually will give wrong direction and re-calculate.

BTW I saw a WDA program like need to pay $300 course fee to leanr the skill of bartending. I not sure after learning it people want to emply or not .

I also thought of working in lar sap bar as waiter , any idea how much they pay ?

i have quit my job 5 weeks ago.

yes, it is fast pace, stressful, irregular hours, 5.5 days, demanding, competitive. i still can cope in these 10 years.

my suggestion is get part time waiter job for leisure, can see char bor, got young gals working as co staff too.
why not?:biggrin:

Oh...then what are you doing now ?
Do you have any idea how much a waiter get paid in those lar sap bar in geylang ?