Do you find that many of us actuaLLy under-utiLised our vehicLe ?

Fishypie

Short of driving from home each morning, to the designated Park & Ride car park; where one wouLd
hop on to a MRT to hs pLace of work; and return via the same means each evening..
Isn't that a waste of resources ?..just too bad that many Sinkies' want to outdo each other, rather
than seeing things from the practicaL point of view..:cool:

I concur man. we should be racing our vehicles and driving all over singapore which is so small anyway. Should be driving our cars 24/7. A car is just something to help me get from pt A to B more easily and quickly and more comfortably.

Less than 2000km/month is under utilize.
Worst there are people use car less than 1000km/month.

Short of driving from home each morning, to the designated Park & Ride car park; where one wouLd
hop on to a MRT to hs pLace of work; and return via the same means each evening..
Isn't that a waste of resources ?..just too bad that many Sinkies' want to outdo each other, rather
than seeing things from the practicaL point of view..:cool:

I feel if need to park and ride then rather dun drive.
The whole point of a car besides getting from A to B is so you dun need to take public transport

ProbLem is that catching part; of a cab in the rush hours of the morning to the train station.Otherwise, the car
wouLd be Left idLing from 9am-6pm daiLy.How nice if one can find some drivers to hire for that idLing period..

Agree. SG is small no need to park and ride. Unless road block.
Others country is big park at train station take high speed train to cut travel time. Is like park in Changi fly to Penang/Bangkok. If not need to drive all the way to Penang/Bangkok.
In Singapore park and ride is ridiculous. Dont understand why minister promote park and ride. Want to get more money from COE/insurance/tax and then ask then to ride on public transport then charge more on parking and fare.

I concur man. we should be racing our vehicles and driving all over singapore which is so small anyway. Should be driving our cars 24/7. A car is just something to help me get from pt A to B more easily and quickly and more comfortably.

ProbabLy it depends on your Line of work.If you are confined to working in the office, then owning a vehicLe couLd
be a burden in the Long run; but that again, it's the 'doing better than your neighbour' attitude ..:cool:

ProbabLy it depends on your Line of work.If you are confined to working in the office, then owning a vehicLe couLd
be a burden in the Long run; but that again, it's the 'doing better than your neighbour' attitude ..:cool:

Sinkieland is more keeping up with the joneses.
Here car is a status symbol more than anything else.

Yes i agree with you're someone that needs to meet clients all over sinkieland for eg or you need to travel to ulu places like chua chu kang or tuas for eg that's also a bonus.

Oh top of the usual status symbol and of course not needing to take public transport which although isn't that bad isn't that good either.

If can afford car why not. Average cost oft owning car now cost $2000/month included fuel,tax,installment,maintenance,parking.
After deduct public transport maybe consider mix taxi/bus/MRT only extra $1000/month.

If can afford car why not. Average cost oft owning car now cost $2000/month included fuel,tax,installment,maintenance,parking.
After deduct public transport maybe consider mix taxi/bus/MRT only extra $1000/month.

Not necessary. Some people travel by bicycle, company transports and so on. $1000 too high lah, some only earn $850 per month leh.

I travel a lot average 2500km/month or 30,000km/year.

Me too. At least 2500km per month. I was considering selling my car but looking at the MRT, I think drive better.

Braddell Rd quite OK only that too many vehicle try to exit to CTE and Serangoon road.
Another block point is Lornie Road exit to PIE toward Tuas.

Me too. At least 2500km per month. I was considering selling my car but looking at the MRT, I think drive better.

depending on your lifestyle, if you travel exclusively by taxis (including calling cab everytime) and maybe have a pre-arranged arrangement with taxi driver to send and fetch from office everyday.....for some its cheaper than owning a car.
I had a friend who did that and he actually saved money.......upside no need worry about drink driving