• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Healthy Couscous for SBF forummers

The rich suburbs of the sunshine coast is one of the few places in OZ where you seldom see an Asian face. Even the supermarket checkout staff are white.

Attaboy Sam. You just conceded my point that Australia is too racially and culturally white, with nary a non-white face living in their richest and most exclusive real estate. Not so LA, where it is racially mixed in Beverly Hills and Brentwood. Similarly NY's park avenue and upper east and west side.

In America, if you can afford it, you're in the club. In Australia, you would still have to be white.

Attaboy Sam. You just conceded my point that Australia is too racially and culturally white, with nary a non-white face living in their richest and most exclusive real estate. Not so LA, where it is racially mixed in Beverly Hills and Brentwood. Similarly NY's park avenue and upper east and west side.

In America, if you can afford it, you're in the club. In Australia, you would still have to be white.

LA is so close to mexico. That area used to belong to the mexicans but after the mexican US war they gave up that piece of land.

You obviously haven't seen much of America either. :rolleyes: Try the Midwest for a year like I did.

Avoid teflon cookware:eek: The fumes from teflon are toxic. The teflon coating will eventually wears out & you end up eating the stuff. Also avoid aluminum cookware.

Thanks for the info. Actually the Tefal brand of steamer is only for steaming and nothing else. It is mostly plastic, so it is not like their frying pans which has teflon coating. Your steamer is very expensive for steaming purposes only. As mine is plastic and last for 5 years I was looking perhaps at a metal type but 5 years is worth the money I guess. At 100 degrees C, I don't think it is bad for the health.

You obviously haven't seen much of America either. :rolleyes: Try the Midwest for a year like I did.

You are full of it Leong.

Look here! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_states_and_blue_states

Much of the Midwest are Dems, ie: they also voted for a black guy in the presidential elections.

The hardcore red states are actually the Mountain States, like Montana and the Dakotas, where there are more bison than men and where fringe lunatic militias make their homes. NOT the Midwest.

Btw, where in the Midwest did you live? I lived in Michigan and Ohio for 2 years, am very familiar with Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa and Minnesota, and never once was i made to feel that i didn't belong, even in the small cities and college towns where there were high populations of international students. Everybody assumed i was Asian-American and i was given the same kind of respect they would give to any human being.

Australia??? It was "gook go home"! Yes, even in Sydney, self-proclaimed most tolerant gay city in australia and the most liberal and multicultural. My ass. Sydney cannot even hold a candle to Minneapolis or Detroit when it came to tolerance and respect for different cultures. Much less LA, SF, NY and Boston.

Bro, you must have tried the fried rice version. Use it like plain rice or pasta as the base. No spice, no other ingredients.

Tried once, dun like the texture, and they put too many spices in it, never try again.

Some people can't stand the Aussies and top pf the heap are the British. Australians have the habit of taking the piss out of everyone and that puts people off. America is a virtual melting pot so water level reflects the composition.

The comment was about quality of western life compared to Singapore and elsewhere in the third world. This includes US, OZ! NZ, UK, Canada etc which are the main emigration destination countries. The picture was taken in NZ. The Kiwis and the Canadians are the most hospitable people in the world.

I tell people in mid life not to go to the States unless they have money to cover medical and other welfare needs. The rest have safety nets and are more compassionate in approach but they will never have the buzz that the US has. Its always a give an take.

You are relatively new and therefore have little idea what we have done and where we have been. You remind me of guys who will go to a watering hole in Singapore and ask for special beer which they drank during their Uni days or while working for a short stint in a 1st world country. The intention is to make s statement that they have been there and know the culture inside out and want to be part of them. Until you mover there permanently, you will be no different to any other short term visitor.

I have a friend who was posted to a particular country for 2 years. The wife behaves as thought she was born there, speaks with a fake accent, insists on cooking dishes she picked up there and will give a speech about the country until you can puke. The ultimate is her shopping journeys to Jason's. It is the talk of the office. People are prepared to pay money to see her shop in that supermarket.

Staying in Michigan and. Sydney does not make you an expert in anything except maybe how to board an aircraft and how to work with relocation companies.

You are full of it Leong.
Btw, where in the Midwest did you live? I lived in Michigan and Ohio for 2 years, am very familiar with Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa and Minnesota, and never once was i made to feel that i didn't belong, even in the small cities and college towns where there were high populations of international students. Everybody assumed i was Asian-American and i was given the same kind of respect they would give to any human being.

Australia??? It was "gook go home"! Yes, even in Sydney, self-proclaimed most tolerant gay city in australia and the most liberal and multicultural. My ass. Sydney cannot even hold a candle to Minneapolis or Detroit when it came to tolerance and respect for different cultures. Much less LA, SF, NY and Boston.

Some people can't stand the Aussies and top pf the heap are the British. Australians have the habit of taking the piss out of everyone and that puts people off. America is a virtual melting pot so water level reflects the composition.

The comment was about quality of western life compared to Singapore and elsewhere in the third world. This includes US, OZ! NZ, UK, Canada etc which are the main emigration destination countries. The picture was taken in NZ. The Kiwis and the Canadians are the most hospitable people in the world.

I tell people in mid life not to go to the States unless they have money to cover medical and other welfare needs. The rest have safety nets and are more compassionate in approach but they will never have the buzz that the US has. Its always a give an take.

You are relatively new and therefore have little idea what we have done and where we have been. You remind me of guys who will go to a watering hole in Singapore and ask for special beer which they drank during their Uni days or while working for a short stint in a 1st world country. The intention is to make s statement that they have been there and know the culture inside out and want to be part of them. Until you mover there permanently, you will be no different to any other short term visitor.

I have a friend who was posted to a particular country for 2 years. The wife behaves as thought she was born there, speaks with a fake accent, insists on cooking dishes she picked up there and will give a speech about the country until you can puke. The ultimate is her shopping journeys to Jason's. It is the talk of the office. People are prepared to pay money to see her shop in that supermarket.

Staying in Michigan and. Sydney does not make you an expert in anything except maybe how to board an aircraft and how to work with relocation companies.

Oh and Leongsam staying in the Midwest for a year would make him an expert in your book? See his stupid comment above. What is this selective cock sucking? Be fair bro.

Midwest 2 years, west coast 2 years, NY 1 year.

Sydney 1 year, melbourne a few months, perth 2 years when young teenager.

I don't claim to be a native of those two countries but i know what i have seen and have experienced through the years.

Are you taking the PAP approach to this argument: that if you are not the real thing, then you are not qualified to comment?

So all of you are not qualified to comment on Govt policies because all of you are not Ministers and don't know the hardships and problems Ministers face on a daily basis?

Where is the logic bro? Don't be a hypocrite lah.

I 'm using a De Dietrich steamer I bought it about 10 years ago for $1,500. Back then few companies carried steaming ovens. Nowadays even the Japanese brands have a steamer functions.

Hi, steaming oven seems quite popular now..yours need to top up water before using? Actually what is the advantage to use steaming oven vs the normal steaming over stove?

Bro I have lived in sydney and Melbourne. The coloreds ( asians, lebs, african nigs) are all huddled in slummy districts while the whites sit in nice cafes like these.

In LA and NY, things are more equal. There are more rich blacks, Hispanics and Asians than monocultural Oz. Take beverly hills and park avenue or the upper west/east side for example. You could find rich coloreds living there and mingling freely with the rich whites, jews, etc. And Asians are actually respected in the American big cities. But you wouldn't know that, you gook in a white trash land. And you could actually get away with not speaking English in LA and NY, the Americans are much more forgiving than Aussies are.

But you cannot blame the Aussies for that as Australia is the white western equivalent of a global backwater. Ang moh kampong, I call it.

I have studied in both countries and travelled extensively so I have the right to compare and contrast. Do you, Leong?

Hehe angmoh kampong...I agree with you for Perth, like a kampong indeed...houses also dont look as nice as American ones...but Australia not kampong and very advance in protecting workers, my ex company had a branch there, I remember they even got detailed policy on how much cleaners should be paid for cleaning how many toilet cubicles...

Hi, steaming oven seems quite popular now..yours need to top up water before using? Actually what is the advantage to use steaming oven vs the normal steaming over stove?

The only other steamer I've used is a normal pot & a stand I got from Ikea.:)

My Steamer oven has 2 settings: steaming frozen foods & steaming unfrozen foods.
It has a large water reservoir able to steam for at least 1+ hour. There is an indicator to show water level.
It has a timer & can be left unattended
5 minutes before the end of a steaming session, the system will gradually shut down. So that when the session ends the steam is minimised avoiding the possibility of scalding

After each use, I empty the water reservoir because I prefer to use fresh water each time I use the oven & I do not use the oven every day.
Filling the reservor is an easy task. Just slide it off & fill it up at the tap. Takes only 2 to 3 minutes.

The advantage of a steamer oven is that it gives more consistent results. I was talking to someone & they tell be that it is great for steaming herbal chicken:eek:
I don't take full advantage of it, just for vegetables but you can steam all kinds of things e.g. fish, turkeys, etc which you will find difficult to do on a ordinary oven.

Thanks for the info. Actually the Tefal brand of steamer is only for steaming and nothing else. It is mostly plastic, so it is not like their frying pans which has teflon coating. Your steamer is very expensive for steaming purposes only. As mine is plastic and last for 5 years I was looking perhaps at a metal type but 5 years is worth the money I guess. At 100 degrees C, I don't think it is bad for the health.

I haven't seen these plastic steamers. The only ones that I'm familiar with are those metal fan like things you get from ikea. They have holes to allow the steam to circulate. You put it into a normal pot filled with water.

I'm surprise it's made of plastic because steaming creates temperatures of 100 degrees.

I think I was ahead of the times. I got an induction & steamer when I moved to my new place. Back then both types of ovens were rare. In fact I had difficulty finding induction friendly cookware. Nowadays it's very common. I've seen some Japanese/Korean combi ovens that can steam, cook & microwave :eek: However the steaming oven is still going strong even after 10+ years:)

Midwest 2 years, west coast 2 years, NY 1 year.

Sydney 1 year, melbourne a few months, perth 2 years when young teenager.

Had you commented on specific areas you'd lived in, I would have appreciated your inputs. When you start generalising when referring to countries as large as Australia and the USA when you've seen less than 0.00001% of what goes on there, it just shows what a twit you are.

The only other steamer I've used is a normal pot & a stand I got from Ikea.:)

My Steamer oven has 2 settings: steaming frozen foods & steaming unfrozen foods.
It has a large water reservoir able to steam for at least 1+ hour. There is an indicator to show water level.
It has a timer & can be left unattended
5 minutes before the end of a steaming session, the system will gradually shut down. So that when the session ends the steam is minimised avoiding the possibility of scalding

After each use, I empty the water reservoir because I prefer to use fresh water each time I use the oven & I do not use the oven every day.
Filling the reservor is an easy task. Just slide it off & fill it up at the tap. Takes only 2 to 3 minutes.

The advantage of a steamer oven is that it gives more consistent results. I was talking to someone & they tell be that it is great for steaming herbal chicken:eek:
I don't take full advantage of it, just for vegetables but you can steam all kinds of things e.g. fish, turkeys, etc which you will find difficult to do on a ordinary oven.

Thanks for sharing. Think you got a good price for De Dietrich, recently I saw a normal brand steam oven in Malaysia is selling for Rm3700 and it is purchase with purchase price.

Anyone who is looking for steam ovens, induction ovens, etc should take a look at Rina at Shaw centre. Their show room has a nice range of mostly european & US appliances.

will try to do this weekend. Thanks bro.

Anyone who is looking for steam ovens, induction ovens, etc should take a look at Rina at Shaw centre. Their show room has a nice range of mostly european & US appliances.

I was browsing another two catalogues today and saw one Teka steam oven with price of Rm6400 while another Elba one only Rm1600. Looks like price range very wide for steam oven..

You have to be careful when comparing between brands. For example the german made induction ovens are more expensive than the italian made ones. Brands like the german Miele command a premium and are very expensive. You're paying for the German reputation:)

I had an AEG induction hob which was more versatile than anything in the market, it had 2 induction hobs & 2 ceramic hobs. Today the models in Spore are either all induction or all ceramic hobs & AEG has left the Spore market :(

The De Dietrich is a french brand that commands premium pricing. Back when I was in the market looking for a steam oven there was no other options. In 10 years I've never had any problems with the Die Dietrich product . I don't know about the quality of the other steamers?

I notice that Rina at Shaw carries reputable brands that you are unlikely to find in any one place in Spore: De Dietrich, Viking, Bosch, etc She's been in the business for years & can give you feedback on the pros & cons between the brands.