• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This is the kind of admiration PAP Singapore attracts across the world

RonRon

http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/what-singapore-can-teach-us/2012/05/02/gIQAlQEGwT_story.html

By Matt Miller, Updated: Wednesday, May 2, 8:38 PM

If you’ve spent much time enduring the hassles, filth and indignities of LAX, Dulles and JFK, Singapore’s Changi airport is a revelation. As former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew decreed, you get from the gate to a taxi in 15 minutes. The men’s room is sleek and immaculate, and even asks you to rate your experience (and thus the attendant) via a handy touchscreen ranking as you leave.

As close readers of this column will have noticed, I’ve been a gushing fan of Singapore’s public policy achievements since I began looking at them a few years back. Singapore spends 4 percent of gross domestic product on health care vs. America’s 17 percent, yet it delivers equal or better health outcomes. It’s at the top of global school rankings because (unlike us) it routinely recruits exemplary students into the teaching profession. Yes, I know, Singapore still denies press and assembly freedoms we take for granted, and has awful anti-gay laws on the books (which I’m told go unenforced). But a few days spent talking with officials, businesspeople, students and government critics in the city-state that now boasts one of the world’s highest per capita incomes have deepened my admiration for Singapore’s accomplishments. I also came away convinced that last year’s watershed elections — in which the ruling People’s Action Party won just 60 percent of the popular vote and lost a group constituency (and three cabinet ministers) for the first time since independence in 1965 — mean a more democratic political era is unfolding.

Start with what Singapore has delivered for its 5 million people. The place is a policy wonk’s paradise. Thanks to what may be a historically unique blend of dedicated, highly educated technocrats and the “luxury” of decades of one-party rule, the government has always taken the long view. Pragmatic problem-solving is its creed. Benevolent dictatorship never looked so good.

Beyond world-beating health care and education systems, some highlights:

* Development. Back when most developing countries shunned multinationals as evil exploiters, Singapore smartly embraced global firms as indispensable sources of training, technology and jobs. As a result, Singapore grew in real terms by a stunning 8 percent a year on average between 1965 and 2010, and has become a site of choice for top firms serving Asian markets. Even Uncle Sam now tries to emulate Singapore’s savvy in courting foreign direct investment. The state’s latest economic strategy document, crafted with input from stakeholders across the island, reads more like a strategy consultant’s analysis than the usual blue-ribbon mush. “We’re like a company,” says Philip Yeo, who ran the globally admired Economic Development Board for years before launching a new agency that’s an innovative cross between the National Science Foundation and a venture capital firm. “We have a plan.”

* Clean talent. Singapore’s government has always been clean and exceptional. The tone was set early on by Lee, who flew commercial to international meetings and was repulsed by African leaders who came in on private jets while their people starved. Lee ruthlessly punished officials who tried to use their post to line their pockets, insisting that the rule of law meant just that. Top students are offered full rides to places such as Oxford, MIT and Stanford, and then “bonded” to do, say, six years of government service thereafter. Twenty years ago this culture was bolstered by the introduction of the world’s highest public-sector salaries, so that government could compete for the best and brightest. I’m talking roughly $2.5 million for the prime minister and $1.3 million for cabinet ministers (with bonuses tied to GDP growth). Pay became an issue in the last election and was recently scaled back for top officials by roughly a third in response. But whatever the right balance, pause and think how smart it is to pay for the talent a country needs to govern — and how differently we’d view, say, Treasury Secretary Tim Geithner’s approach to Wall Street reform if everyone wasn’t expecting him to cash in when he leaves.

*Transport. Singapore runs the world’s best airline (despite being based in a nation the size of New York City, with no internal flights). The subways are gorgeous. The city uses electronic road pricing — every wonk’s dream — to ease traffic at peak hours. Digital signs advising where ample parking places can be found dot the main thoroughfares.

*Housing. In America, “public housing” means “ghetto.” In Singapore, 80 percent of people live in public housing and virtually all of them own their homes, having received mortgage assistance from the government. It’s part of the national strategy to build assets and foster the positive social behavior that comes with ownership.

*Urban planning/climate change. A big chunk of the downtown bay area is now a reservoir via a feat of engineering I don’t pretend to understand but which experts tell me is remarkable. Meanwhile, Singaporean officials don’t debate whether climate change is real but instead are taking such impressive steps to cope that one U.S. guru told me “it’s actually embarrassing as an American to look at what they have done.”

*Fiscal stewardship. This may be the founding generation’s most distinctive legacy. The giants of Singapore’s independence — Lee, economic architect Goh Keng Swee, and others — were educated in the United Kingdom and started out as Fabian socialists. But they concluded early on that Britain’s post- Beveridge commission welfare state would become unsustainable as the population aged and risked undermining incentives to work, which they saw as the foundation of a strong society. The path they chose for social security was thus a different form of nanny state — high forced savings, under which workers typically must contribute 20 percent of earnings to their account in the Central Provident Fund, with employers adding 15 percent more. The aim is to build up assets that can be tapped to buy homes, cover medical expenses and prepare for retirement. To be sure, there are serious questions today as to whether middle- and low-income people have adequate savings for these purposes now that Singaporeans live to 80, not 60, and new health treatments are pricey. But the culture of self-reliance this approach has imbued is strong.

What’s more, the fiscal strength it has given the government to address emerging challenges is arguably unique at a time when Western democracies groan under the weight of trillions in unfunded entitlement liabilities. Singapore, if you’ve followed how this works, has exactly zero unfunded liabilities. Since the forced savings accounts are done by the individual for the individual and are not legislated entitlements, there’s no redistribution involved. While critics and reformers tell me the years ahead will almost certainly see Singapore redistribute more amply to elderly and poor citizens at risk of falling through the cracks, no government is in a stronger fiscal position to update its social compact to cope with the age wave. In part that’s also due to conservative budget rules and endowment-ethic investment practices that have left Singapore with more surpluses and reserves than virtually any other nation.

Singapore is hardly perfect. Critics make a good case that the long rule of the People’s Action Party has left it complacent and out of touch. In some ways the government’s decades of exceptional performance have also created expectations that are impossible to sustain. What’s more, the great fruit of government’s success, Singapore’s educated middle class, naturally seeks a greater voice now in politics (and is ushering in a fascinating new era I’ll discuss next week).

But the big thing to take away from the Singapore story thus far is this: While Americans fight endlessly about “big government” vs. “small government” yet do nothing to meet our biggest challenges, Singapore has ignored ideological claptrap and focused relentlessly on what works. Its low-tax, business-friendly environment is matched with major government activism in education, health care, infrastructure and housing.

Singapore thus stands as the leading modern example of how government as pragmatic problem-solver can dramatically improve people’s lives. This ethos has virtually disappeared from U.S. governance at the national level. Liberals are wrong to ignore Singapore’s progressive achievements because of its (rightly criticized) shortcomings on civil liberties. Conservatives are wrong to miss the lessons of Singapore’s activist, hyper-competent government.

It was roll-up-your-sleeves pragmatism that catapulted Singapore from third world to first in a few scant decades, and it is pragmatism, not ideological power games, that will be needed for American renewal. When it comes to effective governance, to paraphrase that famous scene in “When Harry Met Sally,” we could do a lot worse than to have some of what Singapore’s been having.

Matt Miller, a co-host of public radio’s “Left, Right & Center,” writes a weekly online column for The Post. His e-mail address is [email protected].

ironic and idiotic for sinkies on sbf that it takes an american on public radio dough to write up a concise, accurate, relevant and realistic comparison between a tiny sg that works and the mighty u.s. which do not.

This guy hasn't lived in Singapore. If he loves Singapore, he should move here and take up citizenship.

it doesn't require relocation to see the obvious. it's better for someone who lives in america and knows the chronic incompetence among u.s. politicians and the ideological paralysis in the u.s. political system to identify pain points, problems, issues, suggest alternative workable solutions from other countries, and recommend drastic, courageous and often unpopular policies and actions to remove root causes and chart long term directions.

i travel to sg regularly, have longer stays and will invest in sg for the long term. i am an extremely pragmatic person. :D

Don't invest in SMRT because of the "problems" they have been having :D

Maybe it's better to wait to see what else is broken in Spore:confused:
Can always invest in Temasek for the "long term" :p

Don't invest in SMRT because of the "problems" they have been having :D

Maybe it's better to wait to see what else is broken in Spore:confused:
Can always invest in Temasek for the "long term" :p

new condos facing bedok reservoir are great "entertainment" lookouts. :p

It's good to see an accurate description of Singapore from someone that does not have an axe to grind.

The country is truly a remarkable place. The problem with Singaporeans is they take the good life for granted and expect more of the same without any effort.

The PAP, being the pragmatic organisation that it is, has obviously decided that it is pretty much impossible for find hardworking, industrious and dedicated singaporeans anymore and has therefore taken concrete measures to import these traits from lands far and wide.

Remember how the local Chinese have always proclaimed that the Malays were too laid back and it was the first wave of Chinese immigrants that made Singapore what it is today? Well guess what, events have turned full cycle and it the new wave of immigrants that will make Singapore an even greater city tomorrow.

The locals should show the newcomers the same tolerance that the Malays displayed when their forefathers first landed on Singapore's shores. It is now time to let the new boys move Singapore forward towards the next wave of prosperity while they sit back and enjoy the ride.

MRT keeps breaking down. Country is getting crowded and running out of space.

Stress of living is sky high with so many suicides and altercations between people.

When will it finally collapse? I mean the pseudo disneyland with death penalties!

On a side note do you think old man is dying?

This article looks like a eulogy to me.

Last edited by a moderator:
MRT keeps breaking down. Country is getting crowded and running out of space..

Everyone keeps harping over this but the MRT is but one small building block of Singapore's infrastructure. It isn't the foundation.

I've worked in companies where one department has gone off the rails because of bad management by the dept head concerned. Heads roll and a new broom comes in and sweeps the place clean and life goes on. It isn't a cancer. It's just a boil. Lance it and move on.

As for being crowded, I've said this before and I'll say it again... having such a huge crowd in such a confined space is the dream of any budding entrepreneur. Stop moaning about it and take advantage of the situation instead.

I do agree with the TS that Singapore is a fantastic city and most everything works well. The only think bad are the down-trodden and oppressed residents living within. So many stressed and unhappy people living in this wonderful city all hoping to either make it or migrate out. It is not a place for everyone and many have not even the funds to visit some of the attractions nor venture to enter any of the fine dining places much less do any shopping in the city.

The plight of the ordinary citizens have been overlooked by those who found Singapore as a great place to visit. There is no strong foundation and what you see are all dross but not gold.

eatshitndie said:

Act where your mouth is. Move right back. Park some money in CPF, your own money, and let the Govt regulate that for you. Singapore needs people especially those who already have some ties with Singapore.

Leongsam said:
It's good to see an accurate description of Singapore from someone that does not have an axe to grind.

Accurate? From someone who has not touched ground in Singapore and who has an axe to grind in his own country, the United States of America?

The plight of the ordinary citizens have been overlooked by those who found Singapore as a great place to visit. There is no strong foundation and what you see are all dross but not gold.

Most of my friends and relatives in Singapore come under the category of "ordinary citizens". They're all a contented lot. Most earn an average salary.. live in an HDB apartment and take the MRT despite its breakdowns.

Being stressed and unhappy has nothing to do with the Singapore economy. It's caused by a mismatch between reality and expectations.

Most of my friends and relatives in Singapore come under the category of "ordinary citizens". They're all a contented lot. Most earn an average salary.. live in an HDB apartment and take the MRT despite its breakdowns.

Being stressed and unhappy has nothing to do with the Singapore economy. It's caused by a mismatch between reality and expectations.

http://www.sgfunds.com/index/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2953#p76691

Posted: 13 Jul 2006, 10:09

Happiness doesn't have to cost the earth
S'pore scores low on ecological efficiency index

By ANNA TEO

(SINGAPORE) The Republic has emerged near the bottom quarter of a new unofficial global ranking - 131st out of 178 countries, and the lowest ranked in Asia - that measures people's well-being against how much this is seen as costing the earth.

Then again, none of the major advanced economies fared well in the new Happy Planet Index, or HPI, created by British think-tank New Economics Foundation (NEF), and published in association with lobby group Friends of the Earth.

The HPI combines three indicators: life expectancy, life satisfaction, and the country's 'ecological footprint', or consumption of natural resources.

Many tiny island nations (except Singapore) scored well above average in the index, led by the Pacific archipelago of Vanuatu in overall pole position.

A good number of Asian countries rank well in the top 50 - for instance, Vietnam (12th); Bhutan (13th); Sri Lanka (15th); Philippines (17th); Indonesia (23rd); China (31st); Thailand (32nd); Bangladesh (41st); Malaysia (43rd). Taiwan is 84th, Hong Kong 88th, Japan 95th, and Korea 102nd.

On the other hand, the top-ranked G-8 country is Italy at 66th, ahead of Germany (81st), Britain (108th), Canada (111th), France (129th), the United States (150th) - and Russia near the bottom in 172nd spot.

The results do not reveal the 'happiest' countries or the best places to live; rather, they show that well being is not based on high levels of consumption, and that people can live long, happy lives without using more than their fair share of the earth's resources, says the NEF.

The body, created in 1986 by the leaders of 'The Other Economic Summit', says its new index is intended to show the ecological efficiency with which human well-being is delivered around the world.

NEF's policy director Andrew Simms describes the Happy Planet Index as 'a measure of something more fundamental', compared with the raft of global economic wealth rankings on issues such as competitiveness.

He says: 'It addresses the relative success or failure of countries in supporting the good life for their citizens, whilst respecting the environmental resource limits upon which our lives depend.'

The index reflects the average years of happy life produced by a society or nation, per unit of planetary resources consumed. Put another way, it represents the efficiency with which countries convert natural resources into well-being for their citizens.

So, while Singaporeans can expect to live until they are nearly 80 - comparable to people in the advanced nations - and are fairly satisfied with their lives, the country's resource consumption is relatively excessive.

Overall, the findings show that 'the world as a whole has a long way to go', says NEF.

'In terms of delivering long and meaningful lives within the earth's environmental limits, all nations could do better. No country achieves an overall 'high' score on the index, and no country does well on all three indicators.'

On a scale of 0 to 100 for the HPI, the NEF set an 'ideal' target of 83.5 based on attainable levels of life expectancy and well-being and a 'reasonably sized' ecological footprint.

But the highest HPI - Vanuatu's - is only 68.2. The lowest is Zimbabwe's at 16.6. Singapore's is 36.1.

Central America emerged as the region with the highest average score in the index, combining relatively good life expectancy (averaging 70 years) and high life satisfaction with an ecological footprint below its 'globally equitable' share, NEF notes.

The results also show that there are different routes to achieving comparable levels of well-being, it adds.

'The model followed by the West can provide widespread longevity and variable life satisfaction, but it does so only at a vast and ultimately counter-productive cost in terms of resource consumption.'

I rest my case.

The country is truly a remarkable place. The problem with Singaporeans is they take the good life for granted and expect more of the same without any effort.

The PAP, being the pragmatic organisation that it is, has obviously decided that it is pretty much impossible for find hardworking, industrious and dedicated singaporeans anymore and has therefore taken concrete measures to import these traits from lands far and wide.

Remember how the local Chinese have always proclaimed that the Malays were too laid back and it was the first wave of Chinese immigrants that made Singapore what it is today? Well guess what, events have turned full cycle and it the new wave of immigrants that will make Singapore an even greater city tomorrow.

The locals should show the newcomers the same tolerance that the Malays displayed when their forefathers first landed on Singapore's shores. It is now time to let the new boys move Singapore forward towards the next wave of prosperity while they sit back and enjoy the ride.

I beg to differ but the m&ds didn't show any tolerance to the new chinese immigrants.

A load of codswallop. I'll dismantle this abomination of an article later. :mad:

changing your tune again? i thought a few days ago you were bragging all if not most of your friends belong to the elite? why now become 'ordinary and earning average salary' only?

That wasn't me there was a different admin on duty that day. :rolleyes:

migrant said:
changing your tune again? i thought a few days ago you were bragging all if not most of your friends belong to the elite? why now become 'ordinary and earning average salary' only?

Elites won't make the same point as "ordinary" and "average".